Minion Theme Force
The Gatormen of Blindwater lake are the core of a vast reptilian cult dedicated to its self-made deity, Bloody Barnabas
Theme Force Restrictions
A Blindwater Congregation army can only include Minions models from the following list:
Theme Force Bonuses
- This army can include one non-character Mercenary warjack, if it's controlled by Raluk.
- For every 20 points of units and battle engines, you get either a free Bull Snapper, a Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron, or a solo that isn't a Lesser Warlock.
- Gatorman Posse becomes FA:U, their hitpoints are increased to 8 (from 5) and gain Snacking. (Snacking - When this model boxes a living model with a melee attack, it can choose to remove the boxed model from play. When it does this, this model can remove d3 damage points.)
- You gain +2" deployment.
2017.12 Blindwater Dynamic Update
- A bunch of brand new models were released for the theme, and several existing models had their rules revised and updated.
- The second benefit was changed to allowing the Boil Master to be a free choice.
- Lynus Wesselbaum & Edrea Lloryrr were added to the allowed models.
Thoughts on this Theme Force
This model/theme's rules have recently changed dramtically, and the "Thoughts On" section has not (yet) been updated to reflect its new capabilities.
Please feel free to update the article and remove this warning.
Blindwater in a nutshell
This theme force is the Gatorman and allies subset of minions - the Blindwater army led by Barnabas, and essentially it's the infantry theme for the currently functional half of Minions. (If you want a beast theme use Will Work for Food). It has some excellent heavy infantry in the Gatorman Posse, some good skirmishy shooting from the Croak Raiders, and a nice range of utility.
Theme weaknesses & Mitigating them
- You don't hit that hard without your wrastlers and this is an infantry theme. Warlocks can fix that, of course. And most do from Dark Shroud (Barnabas2) to Signs & Portents (Jaga-Jaga) to Fury (Rask) to Mortality (Maelok) to Parasite (Calaban).
List Building Tips
The most expensive free model you can get is the Totem Hunter at 6 points - with the Bull Snapper, the Thrullg, the Gatorman Soul Slave, Longchops, and the Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron all tying at 5.
There are two common basic starts to a Blindwater list - the "Brick List" of four maximum units of Gatorman Posse (64 points) and the "Shooty List" of two maximum units of Croak Raiders and Lynus & Edrea to deal with obnoxious cloud walls at 37 points. (A Sacral Vault and unit of Swamp Shamblers brings you to 64 points). As far as I'm aware although a unit of Bog Trog Ambushers can be useful no one has made a list based on them work.
Remember that Lynus Wesselbaum & Edrea Lloryrr, the Swamp Gobber Bellows Crew and the Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron all count towards Free Stuff. Lynus & Edrea of course are excellent utility for dealing with those pesky cloud walls.
- Bloody Barnabas is the only warlock without a damage buff. Everyone else works.
- Maelok the Dreadbound is almost always seen in this theme, and his current list of choice starts off with four full units of Gatorman Posse - which he makes ARM 20 vs melee, or 22 on feat turn for one of the grindiest lists in the game. He also brings a Gatorman Witch Doctor or two to speed everyone up.
- Jaga-Jaga, the Death Charmer and Calaban the Gravewalker are the two warlocks likely to play the croak raiders ranged game thanks to Signs & Portents and Parasite respectively.
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
| Mercenaries and Partisans
- When you take a Partisan Mercenary, it counts as your Faction. However this doesn't increase the number of total mercenaries allowed. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If the Partisan Mercenary is explicitedly listed as one of the models you can take in the theme (such as Cephalyx in Cryx's Black Industries theme), then you can take the full FA plus your "up to one Merc" allotment. (Infernal Ruling)
- Sometimes a specific Mercenary/Minion model/unit will gain a theme benefit of "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model" (such as Greygore in Kriel Company). In this case, the model/unit might or might not count against your "up to one merc" limit:
- If that Merc is in the list of models explicitly allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- Partisans will count towards any relevant free points. For instance, Nyss will count twoards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- Partisans can be eligible to be taken as free choices. For instance, Erysis1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary Warjacks, Warbeasts, & Companions
- As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
Bonus - One [X] gains [Y]
- If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
- An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
- In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
- You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
- ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Theme Forces, free models, and Specialists/ADR in Steamroller
- You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points
- If a unit counts towards your free points, then all attachments count too; regardless of whether the attachment is the same model type. For instance:
Theme - The Bones of Orboros
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Call of the Wild
- When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
- Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - The Faithful Masses
- A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Theme - The Ghost Fleet
- The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Theme - Kriel Company
- Greygore/Dannon count against your "up to one Minion unit" allowance. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Llaelese Resistance
- It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Theme - Slaughter Fleet Raiders
- The Devil's Shadows Mutineers count against your "up to one Mercenary unit" allowance. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Clockwork Legions
- If you attach a small-based model to a medium-based unit, it is no longer a medium-based unit and won't benefit from Vengeance.
- However, it will regain Vengeance when the small base dies. Furthermore, the small base dying will trigger Vengeance.
- (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Snacking (Edit)
- Snacking occurs at boxed, and thus:
- Doesn't prevent abilities that trigger at disabled (such as Tough, Self-Sacrifice, etc).
- Might prevent abilities that trigger at boxed, depending on who the active player is and whose model the ability triggered on. Refer the 'Triggers' section (pg 10 of the pdf)
- Does prevent abilties that trigger at destroyed (such as collecting soul tokens, etc)
- You can snack friendly models.
- You may choose where each individual point of healing goes.
- If you kill multiple models with a single attack (such as trampling over them) then you get to heal once for each model killed.
Models in this Theme
Refer to Category:The Blindwater Congregation