Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.
Dire Troll Blitzer
The site is in the process of being cloned to a new server. IF you make an edit in the next few weeks, there is a chance it won't get duplicated to the new server.
Trollblood Dire Troll Heavy Warbeast
Although dangerous and unpredictable, the powerful dire trolls serve their trollkin allies in a variety of battlefield roles. The dire troll blitzer totes a rapid-fire slugger cannon and its pyg gunner into combat on its back, adding a lethal spray of lead to the crushing blows of its mighty fists.
- Slugger - 10" range, ROF d3, POW 13 gun.
- Claw (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 15 melee weapons.
- Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good.
- Dual Attack - This model can make both melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
- Regeneration [d3] - This model may be forced to heal d3 damage boxes, once per activation. It can't run in the same activation.
- Snacking - When this model boxes a living model with a melee attack, it can choose to remove the boxed model from play. When it does this, this model can remove d3 damage points.
- The caster gains Bulldoze for one turn. (Bulldoze - When this model is B2B with an enemy model during its Normal Movement, it can push that model up to 2" directly away from it. A model can be pushed by Bulldoze only once per activation. Bulldoze has no effect when this model makes a trample power attack.)
Thoughts on Dire Troll Blitzer
Dire Troll Blitzer in a nutshell
The Dire Troll Blitzer is the cheaper of the Troll ranged heavies because it carries a rapid fire gun rather than two big bombs.
Combos & Synergies
- Captain Gunnbjorn with Guided Fire makes it pretty accurate.
- The Hunters Grim give it Snipe and a to-hit buff for a turn - exactly what it needs.
- Horgle, the Anvil's feat can fully boost all the gun's shots
- Borka Kegslayer & Keg Carrier provide knocked down targets for its gun via the mosh pit, and give it free power attacks with boosted damage and extra distance on feat
- Pyg Lookouts Marksman gives it a much needed accuracy buff to let it hit more targets without boosting
- Troll Basher can also debuff targets' defense though this can be more difficult to use
- Calandra Truthsayer, Oracle of the Glimmerwood provides enough dice fixing to let it hit without boosting, and befuddle combos nicely with bulldoze to bring enemies way out of position.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- if you want a ranged heavy in Trollbloods get a Dire Troll Bomber: it has a bigger threat range, hits harder, has medium AOEs. The only advantage the Blitzer gets is its Dual Attack and that it's cheaper.
- With its low RAT you need to boost to hit at range other than against hard targets.
Tricks & Tips
- Charge in and use the guns to strafe the enemy support.
- Dual attack is an incredibly flexible ability, especially when power attacks like trample are added to the mix.
- Trampling for extra threat range and ideal positioning before shooting
- You aren't limited to shooting things you're in melee with; charging a target you can't kill to get in range of something else
- Power attack throw a target into its friends, then shoot everything that gets knocked down
Released in Primal Mk1 (2006)
Other Trollblood models
Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw) (Edit)
- See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
- When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
- If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
- A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.
Rules Clarification: : Warbeast (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.
- If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)
- A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
- If a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
- An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and spell. (Infernal Ruling)
- If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)
- Step 4 of Frenzy was errata'd in 2016. Make sure you're using the latest version of the rules.
- You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
- You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
- If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Confirmation)
Rules Clarification : Dual Attack (Edit)
- Dual Attack only grants either:
- Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
- Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
- A model with Dual Attack can make the attacks in any order.
If they charge, they can do either melee or ranged first. If you charge and do ranged first, it doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with, however if you miss it must still be re-rolled vs a new random target.
- If the new random target is a friendly it will get the DEF bonus, since you can't be in melee with friendlies.
- You can target a model they are not in melee with with a ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
- This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
Rules Clarification : Regeneration - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Snacking (Edit)
- Snacking occurs at boxed, and thus:
- Doesn't prevent abilities that trigger at disabled (such as Tough, Self-Sacrifice, etc).
- Might prevent abilities that trigger at boxed, depending on who the active player is and whose model the ability triggered on. Refer the 'Triggers' section (pg 10 of the pdf)
- Does prevent abilties that trigger at destroyed (such as collecting soul tokens, etc)
- You can snack friendly models.
- You may choose where each individual point of healing goes.
- If you kill multiple models with a single attack (such as trampling over them) then you get to heal once for each model killed.
Rules Clarification : Irresistible Force (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Bulldoze (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
People think Bulldoze works like a bowling ball hitting tenpins.
But this is wrong because the models haven't been moved DIRECTLY away.
Whereas if you move models DIRECTLY away, you bulldoze the first guy okay, but then the next one's path is blocked (shown in red), and you get stuck.
Bulldoze - General
- Models are pushed directly away from you at the point of contact. Some players do this incorrectly - refer to the section on moving bulldoze models, below.
- You cannot cast spells or use any other "any time" abilities when you 'stop' to resolve the Bulldoze movement. It's just a pause, not a stop.
- If you attempt to Bulldoze a model out of your charge lane, and it does not move far enough, it will block you and potentially cause a failed charge.
- The size of the Bulldozer vs the Bulldozed does not matter. A small model pushes a large model just fine. (Just don't expect to move a Colossal etc.)
- Bulldoze only works during your Normal Movement. This includes runs, charges, and slams; not just full advances.
- You can't make free strikes against models you bulldoze (because for them it is involuntary movement).
- You can use Bulldoze to get the charge bonus against models between 1 and 3" away. Simply move into B2B, bulldoze them 2" to make some more room, then you can move 2" further forward to get to the "moved at least 3 inches" requirement.
- Similarly for Slams vs models within 1-3".
- Enemy models with 2" melee range will still engage you after being bulldozed. Because they will be exactly 2" away and thus still within 2".
- An enemy model can only be pushed once by the Bulldozer, but if you have multiple Bulldozer models then you could push the same enemy multiple times.
Moving Bulldozers and Bulldozed models
A lot of people think they can bulldoze straight through the enemy lines, like shown on Image A (below). But what actually happens is more like Image B. This is due to 3 important factors you need to apply:
- Bulldoze pushes models directly away from your base. Not at an angle. Directly. Away.
- If there is a model behind the bulldozed model, the model will STOP.
- A model can be pushed only one time via Bulldoze.
| Push (Edit)
- Pushed models do not change their facing.
- Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
- Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
- You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
- Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
- If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
- However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)