Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

From Battle College
(Redirected from Wrongeye & Snapjaw)
Jump to: navigation, search

Info icon.png

Information
Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.

Ambox warning orange.png

Important
The site is in the process of being cloned to a new server. IF you make an edit in the next few weeks, there is a chance it won't get duplicated to the new server.


Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Mercenary Minion Gatorman Character Lesser Warlock Solo & Heavy Warbeast

The bokor Wrong Eye emerges from the swamp like a shrewd, reptilian oracle. All who live in the bayous know the legend of the gatorman and hope to avoid his capricious wrath and his guardian Snapjaw. The oversized alligator is never far, lingering just submerged beneath the water's surface until goaded to battle. Unimaginably fierce when driven to a killing frenzy, Snapjaw will continue to devour until it drowns its primordial hunger in a tide of meat and blood.

Basic Info[edit]

Wrong Eye[edit]

Wrong Eye
Wrongeye.jpg
SPD 5
MAT 6
DEF 12
ARM 17
FURY 4
HP 8
Cost 17

Weapons[edit]

  • Bite - 0.5" reach, P+S 13 melee weapon
    • Life Drinker - When it destroys a living enemy model with this weapon, immediately after the attack is resolved this model can remove d3 damage points.
  • Swamp Hook - 2" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon

Abilities[edit]

Spells[edit]

  • Influence - Cost 2, 10" range, zero POW offensive spell
Take control of target enemy non-warcaster, non-warlock warrior model. The model immediately makes one basic attack, then Influence expires. A model can be affected by Influence only once per turn.
For one round, enemy models in the caster's control range must roll an additional die on attack rolls and remove the highest.

Snapjaw[edit]

Snapjaw
Snapjaw.jpg
SPD 5
STR 12
MAT 6
DEF 12
ARM 18
FURY 4
HP 27

Weapons[edit]

  • Bite - 1" reach, P+S 18 melee weapon
  • Tail - 1" reach, P+S 15 melee weapon

Abilities[edit]

  • Companion [Wrong Eye] - This model only comes with Wrong Eye, is part of their battlegroup, and if Wrong Eye dies this model is RFP'd.
  • Amphibious - This model treats shallow water as open terrain while advancing. While completely in shallow water, this model gains concealment and does not block line of sight.
  • Bloodthirst - When it charges a living model, this model gains 2" movement.
  • Man Eater - This model can charge living warrior models without being forced.
  • Bond [Wrong Eye] - If this model begins the game in Wrong Eye's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Wrong Eye and in their CTRL range, to heal either himself or Wrong Eye when he kills an enemy. Also causes RFP.

Animus[edit]

The caster cannot be targeted by ranged or magic attacks and doesn't block LOS. Lasts for one round.

Thoughts on Wrong Eye & Snapjaw[edit]

Wrong Eye & Snapjaw in a nutshell[edit]

Snapjaw is a good brawler warbeast who usually gets there thanks to Submerge, while Wrong Eye provides defense against melee attacks with Star Crossed. They're a solid package for their points and need little help to do what they do.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

You want to double-down on the Star Crossed buff, whether that is with feats and spells that increase DEF, or with models that have a high base DEF. Both, if possible. That way, Star Crossed pushes the odds from "hard to hit" to "hair tearingly frustrating to hit".

Even better, couple them with models that have abilities which punish enemies for missing - like Dodge or Whiplash.

Within a Minion army

Within a Mercenary army

  • If you ever happen to play Ashlynn outside the Llaelese Resistance theme, bring her and Wrong Eye in The Irregulars. Combining Star Crossed with her feat will make attacks extremely hard to land. Also, melee assassination attempts will likely be stopped thanks to Riposte.
  • Fiona the Black's feat also has great synergy with Star Crossed and she has Whiplash. Furthermore she like a heavy on the board she does no need to fuel.

Working for a Faction

  • They are a very popular choice as your "up to one merc/minion solo" option, because everyone loves Star Crossed.
  • Defensive feats like Fyanna2's tricks, or Riposte on Saeryn, and things get ugly pretty soon for your opponent's melee units.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • Snapjaw's normal threat range is a bit low.
  • Wrongeye often goes naked on Fury when casting Star Crossed and Submerge, which could get him killed if you're not extra careful.
  • Anything that can remove animi without targeting models,such as Purification, make a mockery of Submerge.
  • Similarly, any damage sources that don't target models, such as Electro Leap, can still affect them while submerged.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Snapjaw can charge a living warrior model to get extra movement, and end up next to a non-living model which would normally be out of reach such as a Warjack.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released in Hordes: Metamorphosis (2009)

Theme Forces[edit]

Mercenary Minion
Cryx (Edit)
Circle Orboros (Edit) Legion of Everblight (Edit)
Skorne (Edit) Trollbloods (Edit)

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Life Drinker - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Lesser Warlock      (Edit)

  • This model has a completely separate battlegroup to your main warlock.
    • Your main warlock cannot force warbeasts under this model's control (and vice versa).
    • Any spells/effects that apply to your main warlock's battlegroup (such as Warpath) do not apply to warbeasts under this model's control (and vice versa).
  • This model is a solo, and is not a warlock
    • It is affected by stuff which specifies "non-warlock models" (such as Seduction).
    • It is not affected by stuff which specifies "warlock" (such as Black Arts).
  • When this solo dies, any warbeasts they are controlling go wild exactly as if it was a warlock. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Gatorman Warlock - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Influence      (Edit)

Taking Control of an Enemy Model       (Edit)    

General

  • Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
    • This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
    • If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
  • The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
  • Buffs and effects:
    • The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
    • If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
    • If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.
  • Theme abilities:
    • If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, whether it keeps that ability is ... being checked

Movement

  • You can advance a model into an acid cloud and force them to take damage, but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of an acid cloud to inflict infinite damage.
  • The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
  • If you enter into an area, the controlled model can suffer the effect of entering into the area only once per advance. It means you cannot yo-yo a Devastator in and out of a Razor Wall 36 times to deplete all its damage boxes.

Melee Attacks

  • Models with the Gunfighter advantage can make attacks as they normally would if the ability controlling them allows for basic attacks (e.g., Influence). Note that other "take control" abilities only allow for melee attacks, such as Seduction and Bone Shaker (Gunfighter attacks are ranged attacks).
  • Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
  • Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
  • With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
    • As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".

Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:

  1. It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
    • Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
    • Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
    • You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
  2. It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
    • Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
    • Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).

Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)

  • A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
    • Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
    • If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!

Rules Clarification : Star-Crossed - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Knockdown      (Edit)

  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.

Rules Clarification : Companion - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Bloodthirst - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Man Eater - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • Exception: Battlegroup Controllers and Lesser Warlocks cannot take their bonded warjacks/warbeasts in theme forces (eg Kharybdis with Aiakos1) because BC & LW are specifically not warcasters/warlocks. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Submerge - None yet. (Edit)


Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
To edit Snapjaw's tagged abilities, Click here