Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Mercenary Minion Gatorman Character Lesser Warlock Solo & Heavy Warbeast

The bokor Wrong Eye emerges from the swamp like a shrewd, reptilian oracle. All who live in the bayous know the legend of the gatorman and hope to avoid his capricious wrath and his guardian Snapjaw. The oversized alligator is never far, lingering just submerged beneath the water's surface until goaded to battle. Unimaginably fierce when driven to a killing frenzy, Snapjaw will continue to devour until it drowns its primordial hunger in a tide of meat and blood.

Basic Info[edit]

Wrong Eye[edit]

Wrong Eye
Wrongeye.jpg
SPD 5
MAT 6
DEF 12
ARM 17
FURY 4
HP 8
Cost 17

Weapons[edit]

  • Bite - 0.5" reach, P+S 13 melee weapon
    • Life Drinker - When this weapon destroys a living target the wielder heals a little damage.
  • Swamp Hook - 2" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon

Abilities[edit]

Spells[edit]

  • Influence - Cost 2, 10" range, zero POW offensive spell
Take control of target enemy non-warcaster, non-warlock warrior model. The model immediately makes one basic attack, then Influence expires. A model can be affected by Influence only once per turn.
For one round, enemy models in the caster's CTRL range must roll an additional die on attack rolls and remove the highest.

Snapjaw[edit]

Snapjaw
Snapjaw.jpg
SPD 5
STR 12
MAT 6
DEF 12
ARM 18
FURY 4
HP 27

Weapons[edit]

  • Bite - 1" reach, P+S 18 melee weapon
  • Tail - 1" reach, P+S 15 melee weapon

Abilities[edit]

  • Companion: (Wrong Eye) - This model only comes with Wrong Eye, is part of their battlegroup, and when Wrong Eye dies it leaves play.
  • Amphibious - This model treats shallow water as open terrain while advancing. While completely in shallow water, this model gains concealment and does not block line of sight.
  • Bloodthirst - This models gains a movement bonus when it charges a living model.
  • Man Eater - This model can charge living warrior models without being forced.
  • Bond: (Wrong Eye) - If this model begins the game in Wrong Eye's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Wrong Eye and in their CTRL range, to heal either himself or Wrong Eye when he kills an enemy. Also causes RFP.

Animus[edit]

The caster cannot be targeted by ranged or magic attacks and doesn't block LOS. Lasts for one round.

Thoughts on Wrong Eye & Snapjaw[edit]

Wrong Eye & Snapjaw in a nutshell[edit]

Snapjaw is a good brawler warbeast who usually gets there thanks to Submerge, while Wrong Eye provides defense against melee attacks with Star Crossed. They're a solid package for their points and need little help to do what they do.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Within a Minion list

  • Buff Snapjaw up with Fury from Rask and Rage from a Blackhide Wrastler and he'll kill pretty much anything. Even more so if the target was living.
  • Combine Star Crossed with feats and spells that improve DEF.

As Mercenary

  • If you ever happen to play Ashlynn outside the Llaelese Resistance theme, bring her and Wrong Eye in The Irregulars . Combining Star Crossed with her feat will make attacks extremely hard to land. Also, melee assassination attempts will likely be stopped thanks to Riposte.

As Minion

  • If you have above average DEF warbeasts and/or units in abundance (especially in the Circle and Legion), you can keep them pretty safe from melee attacks in your Star Crossed bubble. Add in defensive feats, like Fyanna2's tricks, or Riposte on [Saeryn]], and things get ugly pretty soon for your opponent's melee units.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • Snapjaw's normal threat range is a bit low.
  • Wrongeye often goes naked on Fury when casting Star Crossed and Submerge, which could get him killed if you're not extra careful.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • Snapjaw can charge a living warrior model to get extra movement, and end up next to a non-living model which would normally be out of reach such as a Warjack.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released in Hordes: Metamorphosis (2009)

Theme Forces[edit]

Mercenary Minion
Cryx (Edit)
Circle Orboros (Edit) Legion of Everblight (Edit)
  • Placeholder
Skorne (Edit) Trollbloods (Edit)

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Life Drinker - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Lesser Warlock      (Edit)

  • This model has a completely separate battlegroup to your main warlock.
    • Your main warlock cannot force warbeasts under this model's control (and vice versa).
    • Any spells/effects that apply to your main warlock's battlegroup (such as Warpath) do not apply to warbeasts under this model's control (and vice versa).
  • This model is a solo, and is not a warlock
    • It is affected by stuff which specifies "non-warlock models" (such as Seduction).
    • It is not affected by stuff which specifies "warlock" (such as Black Arts).
  • When this solo dies, any warbeasts they are controlling go wild exactly as if it was a warlock. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Gatorman Warlock - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Influence      (Edit)

Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit)

General

  • Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
    • This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
    • If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
  • Buffs and effects:
    • The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
    • If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
    • If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.

Movement

  • You can advance a model into an acid cloud and force them to take damage, but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of an acid cloud to inflict infinite damage.
  • The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
  • If you enter into an area, the controlled model can suffer the effect of entering into the area only once per advance. It means you cannot yo-yo a Devastator in and out of a Razor Wall 36 times to deplete all its damage boxes.

Melee Attacks (Influence, Seduction, Bone Shaker, etc)

  • Normally the controlled model can't make Gunfighter attacks (because that would be a ranged attack, and most "take control" abilities only allow melee attacks).
  • Nor does it allow Point Blank attacks (Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation').
  • Controlled models can't get backstrike bonusses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
  • With reference to the attack sequence (apdx A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
    • As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".

Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:

  1. It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
    • Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
    • Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
    • You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
  2. It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
    • Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
    • Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).

Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)

  • A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
    • Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
    • If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!

Rules Clarification : Star-Crossed - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Knockdown      (Edit)

  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.

Rules Clarification : Companion - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Bloodthirst - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Man Eater - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • Exception: Battlegroup Controllers and Lesser Warlocks cannot take their bonded warjacks/warbeasts in theme forces (eg Kharybdis with Aiakos1) because BC & LW are specifically not warcasters/warlocks. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Submerge - None yet. (Edit)


Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
To edit Snapjaw's tagged abilities, Click here