Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.
Theme - Winter Guard Kommand
The site is in the process of being cloned to a new server. IF you make an edit in the next few weeks, there is a chance it won't get duplicated to the new server.
Khador Theme Force
The ranks of the Winter Guard are the patriotic backbone of the Khadoran Army. Hardened by a rigorous training regimen and driven by their love for the Motherland, these soldiers march against the enemies of the empire. They make every effort to see the will of the empress done, whether pushing deep into hostile territory under the cover of withering artillery fire or giving their lives to defend Khador from those who would threaten its sovereignty.
Theme Force Restrictions
A Winter Guard Kommand army can only include models from the following list:
Theme Force Bonuses
- This army can include one Mercenary non-character solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Khador.
- These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Khador] rule.
- Mercenary units can have attachments.
- For every full 20 points of Winter Guard models/units in this army, you can add one Winter Guard weapon crew unit, Winter Guard CA, or Winter Guard Artillery Kapitan solo to the army free of cost.
- These free models/units do not count toward the total point value of Winter Guard models/units when calculating this bonus.
- One warjack gains Advance Move for each Winter Guard unit. (Advance Move - Before the start of the game but after both players have deployed, a model with Advance Move can make a full advance.)
- Warcasters gain Sacrificial Pawn [Winter Guard trooper model]. (Sacrificial Pawn [Winter Guard trooper] - When this model is directly hit by an enemy ranged attack, you can have one friendly, non-incorporeal Winter Guard trooper model within 3" of it hit instead. That model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects. )
- Note that solos are not trooper models.
- The Advance Move changed to be 'one warjack per unit', to stop players abusing the "I'll take nothing but Karchev and warjacks in my 'Winter Guard' theme list, and thank you for the free move."
- The Sacrificial Pawn was changed to just trooper models, because Sac-Pawning to the Gun Carriage was unintended.
- Gained access to Assault Kommandos, and Mercs.
Thoughts on this Theme Force
WGK in a Nutshell
This Khador theme force is used, as the name would indicate, to play the Winter Guard.
The Winter Guard theme is versatile due to the wide verity of Winter Guard models available. It is quite easy to form the core of your army around a few Warjacks with fire support provided by the Winter Guard Rifle Corps and Rocketeers or Field Guns, while still gaining a number of advanced moves for your Jacks due to each artillery piece included counting as a "Winter Guard Unit". Keep in Mind while building your lists that the artillery pieces can be selected as theme bonuses and while their points do not count towards more free models they do count towards you unit count providing more advanced moves.
Tim Banky, Professional Tournament Winner
To my way of thinking, there are about 4 archetypes of list types:
- Winter Guard Kommand (Gunline, combined arms capacity)
- Jaws of the Wolf (Heavy warjacks, supporting variable threat ranges)
- Legion of Steel (Melee-centric, high-damage infantry & board denial based pieces)
- Vlad2 (Multiple combined arms vectors, threat saturation)
At it's most pure, WGK is a gunline supported by a closing array of heavies. It's main weaknesses are a lack of anti-stealth and anti-incorporeal tools, a lack of sustained damage multiplication, and a certain amount of difficulty in claiming scenario zones. To a lesser extent, the lack of flexibility in the heavy layout is also a point of criticism. Finally, simply moving all the models and making all the attacks can be clock-intensive.
- Vlad1 is a popular caster for WGK, because he addresses damage multiplication.
- Aiyana & Holt solve some of the damage and magical weapon weaknesses but often cost the list a heavy.
- Old Witch2 offers damage multiplication in Curse of Shadows, and wins the gunline-vs-gunline matchup.
- Butcher1 offers damage multiplication in the form of his feat, and access to magic weapons in the form of his character jack.
In most ways this list is the single most powerful archetype in the game, stifled somewhat by the SR2017 need to project diversely into zones. My personal efforts to beat Khador locally are part of what drew me to The Ghost Fleet, a Cryx list teched specifically to attack the weaknesses of this theme (that's a little meta-evolution talk for you. After the Ghost Fleet CID goes through you'll see this list return to popularity).
Theme weaknesses & mitigating them
There are two ways of playing this list;
- Lots of Winter Guard for Sacrificial Pawn targets, with jacks to do the heavy lifting;
- As Few Winter Guard As Possible, aiming to get the Advance Move bonus as often as possible.
The second method is good for casters that love warjacks (e.g. Karchev the Terrible); by buying cheap artillery units or min-size infantry you gain Advance Move and extra warcaster survivability without sacrificing too many options in comparison to a jack-only list - really just the character jacks.
Currently, Assault Kommandos don't contribute towards free points, advance move and can't be used for sacrificial pawn. There is no real incentive to ever take them.
Casters of Note
Rules Clarification : Advance Move - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Sacrificial Pawn and/or Sucker! and/or Grim Salvation (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
- Sacrificial Pawn & Grim Salvation are optional, but Sucker! is not
- Grim Salvation only works vs basic attacks, not special attacks, power attacks, chain attacks.
- Spells are not basic attacks, because they are not "made with a weapon". (Infernal Ruling)
- CRA and CMA are basic attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- If a Special Attack generates an additional attack (such as Multi-Fire), the second attack will be basic and as such can have Grim Salvation used vs it. (Infernal Ruling)
- Sacrificial Pawn & Sucker! don't work against melee attacks.
- None of them work vs magic attacks (spells). All of them work against Magical Ranged attacks, though.
- The model the attack is transferred to is always hit, even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed (such as Stealth).
Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than when the attack is moved. (Infernal Ruling)
From here down, the terms Sacrificial Pawn, Grim Salvation, and Sucker! are interchangeable
- Using Sac Pawn moves all damage and effects onto the other model.
- The new model hit may use any abilities that trigger on being hit/damaged by an enemy attack (such as Vengeance and Shock Field).
- Sprays and AOEs
- A model hit by a spray attack can use Sacrificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The placement of the template does not change.
- Note that this may cause the Pawn to be hit twice by the same spray. So you then resolve two damage rolls against it.
- A model directly hit by a AOE may use Sacificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The AOE template is moved (because Sac Pawn is resolved at Step 6 of the Attack Sequence in Apdx A, but AOE placement occurs at Step 7).
- Depending on how far apart the original target and Pawn are, the first guy might get clipped by the AOE anyway.
- A model indirectly hit by an AOE cannot use Sac Pawn.
- Sacrificial Pawn multiple times
- If a model with the Sacrificial Pawn ability passes it to another model that also has Sacrificial Pawn ability, that second model may pass it along to a third model.
- Models can only use Sac Pawn once each, you cannot set up an infinite loop!
- Quick Draw vs Sacrificial Pawn
- If enemy "Model A" shoots you, and then you use Quick Draw against "Model A", but they use Sac Pawn to move your Quick Draw attack to "Model B" then ... Quick Draw has no effect (or rather, it affects "Model B" who isn't currently shooting you so is irrelevant). Point is, "Model A" can continue shooting you.
- This won't happen with Shield Guard though (outside of a very low-probability scenario) because Shield Guard can only be triggered during an enemy turn.
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
| Mercenaries and Partisans
- When you take a Partisan Mercenary, it counts as your Faction. However this doesn't increase the number of total mercenaries allowed. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If the Partisan Mercenary is explicitedly listed as one of the models you can take in the theme (such as Cephalyx in Cryx's Black Industries theme), then you can take the full FA plus your "up to one Merc" allotment. (Infernal Ruling)
- Sometimes a specific Mercenary/Minion model/unit will gain a theme benefit of "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model" (such as Greygore in Kriel Company). In this case, the model/unit might or might not count against your "up to one merc" limit:
- If that Merc is in the list of models explicitly allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- Partisans will count towards any relevant free points. For instance, Nyss will count twoards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- Partisans can be eligible to be taken as free choices. For instance, Erysis1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary Warjacks, Warbeasts, & Companions
- As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
Bonus - One [X] gains [Y]
- If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
- An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
- In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
- You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
- ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Theme Forces, free models, and Specialists/ADR in Steamroller
- You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points
- If a unit counts towards your free points, then all attachments count too; regardless of whether the attachment is the same model type. For instance:
Theme - The Bones of Orboros
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Call of the Wild
- When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
- Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - The Faithful Masses
- A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Theme - The Ghost Fleet
- The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Theme - Kriel Company
- Greygore/Dannon count against your "up to one Minion unit" allowance. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Llaelese Resistance
- It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Theme - Slaughter Fleet Raiders
- The Devil's Shadows Mutineers count against your "up to one Mercenary unit" allowance. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Clockwork Legions
- If you attach a small-based model to a medium-based unit, it is no longer a medium-based unit and won't benefit from Vengeance.
- However, it will regain Vengeance when the small base dies. Furthermore, the small base dying will trigger Vengeance.
- (Infernal Ruling)
Models in this Theme Force
Refer to Category:Winter Guard Kommand