Warjack

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search
Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy. Edit description

Standard Special Rules[edit]

All warjacks share the following special rules:

  • "Controlled" - This model must start the game either in a warcaster's battlegroup or marshalled by a Jack Marshal. (This rule isn't listed under the "Warjack" section of the rulebook, but instead under the "Building Your Army" section)
    • If its warcaster dies, it suffers severe penalties.
    • If its marshal dies, it suffers moderate penalties.
  • Cortex - Warjacks can gain focus. They can never have more than 3 focus. They can only spend it during their own activation.
  • Power Up - During the Control Phase, if the warjack is in its controller's CTRL range and its Cortex isn't crippled, it gains 1 focus (for free).
  • Damage Grid - This model has a damage grid with 6 columns, and damage is randomly assigned to a column using a d6. The damage gird includes the armoured hull (blank boxes) and various systems (marked with a letter). When a system becomes crippled, the warjack suffers negative effect(s) related to that system.
    • (A) Crippled Arc Node - Warjack loses the Arc Node advantage.
    • (C) Crippled Cortex - Loses all focus it currently has, can't regain focus, and can't spend focus.
    • (M) Crippled Movement - Warjack can't run, charge, slam, or trample; and its base DEF is severely reduced.
    • (L) Crippled Left Arm, (R) Right Arm, or (H) Head - Weapons mounted in the according position roll one less die for attack and damage. Also, shields & bucklers mounted there don't work and you can't make power-, combo, or chain attacks with the crippled system
    • (G) Crippled Generator - Warjack cannot spend focus to heal its forcefield. Also, most of the time its special abilities/weapons will stop working.
    • (S) Crippled [Special] - Some Warjacks have special systems. The effects of being crippled will be detailed on their card.
  • Focus: Additional Attack - This model can spend a focus to make an extra basic melee attack.
  • Focus: Boost - This model can spend a focus to gain a die on an attack roll or a damage roll.
  • Focus: Shake - This model can spend a focus to shake Knockdown and/or Stationary during the maintenance phase.
  • Focus: Run / Charge - This model must spend a focus before it can run or charge during its normal movement.
    • This doesn't apply to non-normal movement (such as Countercharge) though.
  • Focus: Power Attack - This model can spend a focus to make a Power Attack on turns it didn't charge.
    • Slam - Kind of like a charge, but if the attack hits then the target gets slammed away, takes damage, and is knocked down. It can also strike other models and cause collateral damage to them and knock them down.
    • Head-butt - If the attack hits, it knocks the target down and does a bit of damage.
    • Trample (Heavy warjacks & colossals only) - Warjack can move over small based models, and gets to make an attack against each model it moves over.
    • Throw (Requires an Open Fist) - If the attack hits, and you beat their strength check, then throw them directly away + scatter.
    • Power Strike (Colossals only) - Like a slam, but there is need for a run up first.
    • Sweep (Colossals only) - Makes a melee attack vs every model in one of its firing arcs. Useful vs swarms of infantry, useless otherwise.

See also[edit]

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

See also:

Things which are sort of like Warjacks[edit]

  • Warbeast - The Hordes equivalent to a Warjack, a Warbeast is controlled by a Warlock.
  • Monstrosity - Available to Cephalyx Warcasters, a Monstrosity uses a lot of the same rules as a Warjack, but it's not one. Not really at all.
  • Vector - Available to Convergence Warcasters, a Vector is officially a warjack and uses a lot of the same rules as a Warjack, but it's slightly different.

Old warjack names[edit]

Mk3 no longer has faction-specific names for warjacks, but prior to that certain factions "renamed" their warjack types:

  • Retribution Warjacks were referred to as Myrmidions.
  • Cryx Light Warjacks were referred to as Bonejacks.
  • Cryx Heavy Warjacks were referred to as Helljacks.