War Dog

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Khador Solo (Attached)

Some Khador warcasters are accompanied by vicious war dogs that act as bodyguards in combat. These hounds are fierce in their dedication to their masters and will throw themselves at enemy models when they dare approach.

Basic Info[edit]

War Dog
WarDog.jpg
SPD 7
MAT 6
DEF 13
ARM 14
HP 5
PC 3
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

  • Bite - 0.5" range, P+S 11 melee weapon.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Attached - Before the start of the game, attach this model to a friendly Faction warcaster for the rest of the game. Each Faction warcaster can only have one model/unit attached to it.
  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Countercharge - When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within 6" of this model and in its LOS, this model can immediately charge it. This model can use Countercharge only once per round and not while engaged.
  • Guard Dog - While this model is within 3" of its warlock/warcaster and isn't knocked down or stationary, its warlock/warcaster gains Parry and +2 DEF against melee attack rolls, and models attacking the warcaster do not gain back strike bonuses.
  • Return - Immediately after resolving a charge attack, this model can make a full advance towards its warcaster/warlock. This model cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement.

Recent Changes[edit]

The War Dog is essentially unchanged from its Mk2 incarnation. It's relative cost increased slightly.


Thoughts on War Dog[edit]

War Dog in a nutshell[edit]

The War Dog is a great way to make your warcaster that much trickier to line up for a melee assassination, potentially killing charging solos with Countercharge, and bringing Casters like Sorscha1 up to ludicrously high DEF, or pushing Karchev to the point enemy jacks/beasts will likely need to boost to hit, mitigating the volume or severity of incoming attacks.

Giving Parry to any melee-centric warcaster (such as Butcher1, Butcher2, or Butcher3) is nothing to frown about either, as they can now easily un-jam themselves from free strikes. Meaning they can waltz across the board targeting anything important in your opponents army.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

The War Dog is such a great model at a bargain price that it's actually easier to think of when you don't want it!

  • When Sylys Wyshnalyrr is the better choice for an attachment. Typically this will be for support warcasters that use a lot of spells, such as Zerkova1.
  • When you absolutely, positively, won't be getting your warcaster anywhere near melee, and you really need those extra points.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

The War Dog itself becomes your warcaster's weakness, if it dies that can leave your warcaster in a vulnerable position, so watch out. Protect your lovable mutt.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • If you need your warcaster to charge past someone but don't want to eat a free strike, activate the War Dog first and run it into a position. The position you want the dog is one where, when your warcaster charges, you'll be within the Guard Dog aura at the same time you'll be leaving the enemy's melee range.
  • You can put the War Dog out front of your warcaster, to block charges and/or Counter Charge enemies.
    • But putting yourself too far forward runs the risk of getting shot off the board or being charged yourself (remember you can't trigger Counter Charge versus someone that charged you).
    • Sometimes it is more useful to keep it behind your warcaster. Either to keep it alive this turn for the DEF bonus, keep it alive next turn for the free strike bonus, or simply to be in position to Counter Charge models that charge your warcaster (and hopefully kill them before they even attack).
  • Alternatively you may want it to guard your warjacks. You can use Counter Charge to chomp an enemy Weapon Master infantry (one less Weapon Master attack can make all the difference!) and/or block any more infantry getting into melee with the jack.
  • Sometimes you don't need to Return, most models cannot shoot if they are engaged by the dog.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

Other faction models[edit]

KhadorLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Butcher1 - Butcher2 - Butcher3 - Harkevich - Irusk1 - Irusk2 - Karchev - Kozlov - Malakov2 - Old Witch1 - Old Witch2 - Sorscha1 - Sorscha2 - Strakhov1 - Strakhov2 - Vlad1 - Vlad2 - Vlad3 - Zerkova1 - Zerkova2
K
H
A
D
O
R
Warcaster attachments War Dog (Khador) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary) - Reinholdt (Mercenary) - Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Malakov1 (BGC) - Man-o-War Kovnik (Marshal) - Greylord Forge Seer (Marshal)
Heavy warjacks Berserker - Decimator - Demolisher - Destroyer - Devastator - Grolar - Juggernaut - Kodiak - Mad Dog - Marauder - Rager - Spriggan
Beast-09 - Behemoth - Black Ivan - Drago - Ruin - Torch
Colossal Conquest - Victor
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Assault Kommandos - Battle Mechaniks - Black Dragons - Doom Reaver Swordsmen - Greylord Outriders - Greylord Ternion - Iron Fang Pikemen - Iron Fang Uhlans - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Kossite Woodsmen - MOW Bombardiers - MOW Demolition Corps - MOW Shocktroopers - Widowmaker Scouts - WG Field Gun - WG Infantry - WG Mortar Crew - WG Rifle Corps
Great Bears of the Gallowswood
Ranking Officer CA : Koldun Kapitan Valachev
Solos Greylord Forge Seer - Iron Fang Kovnik - Koldun Lord - MOW Drakhun - MOW Kovnik - Manhunter - War Dog - Widowmaker Marksman - WG Artillery Kapitan
Fenris - Jozef - Malakov1 - Markov - Yuri
Battle Engines Gun Carriage
 
Theme Forces
Winter Guard Kommand - Legion of Steel - Jaws of the Wolf
Merc khador.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten - Magnus1 - Magnus2

Requires a 2+ caster game

K
H
A
D
O
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Brun Cragback & Lug - Rorsh & Brine
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Khador army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Mercenary Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps
Alexia1 - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Bradigan - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gorman - Gudran - Harlan - Hutchuk - Bailoch - Rockbottom - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Saxon - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Thor
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Attached      (Edit)

  • Attached models are not (normally) part of the warcaster's/warlock's battlegroup. (Infernal Ruling)
(You need the Companion rule to become part of the battlegroup).
  • Thus, attachments are not affected by battlegroup-only effects such as Energizer (unless they're a Companion).

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification:  : Countercharge      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

Triggering Countercharge
  • Countercharge does not trigger off an enemy model being placed or pushed.
  • Changing facing does count as advancing and will trigger Countercharge.
  • You can trigger Countercharge during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
  • Even when an entire unit is moving, counter-charge is triggered per model. So you can counter charge after any models of the unit had finished his move within range, but you can only counter charge the model who finished its movement. You can't "save it" until the unit finishes moving and then say "I'm going to Countercharge the first guy you moved."

What can your opponent do?

  • Once you trigger countercharge, your opponent cannot use a "Any Time" ability until the countercharge is fully resolved. Even though it's their turn.
  • They can trigger their own abilities from your movement (such as Admonition) and/or your attack (such as Shock Field).

Attacks & Boosting

  • You only get one attack when making a countercharge, regardless of how many initials you normally have.
  • You can't spend fury/focus to boost it, or buy additional attacks afterwards. Because you're only allowed to do spend fury/focus during your own activation.
  • The charge attack damage is only boosted if the Countercharger moved 3" or more, as with a regular charge.

After the Countercharge

  • You cannot use any abilities that trigger on "during activation" or "during combat action" (such as Sprint) after a Countercharge, as Counter Charge is not an activation. Closed thread

Enemy "Skipping" their movement

  • If your opponent 'forgets' to move their model and didn't declare they're forfeiting movement (they just said "I'm activating this model and making an attack") then do they count as moving or not?
  • Technically the rules don't have a default condition for this, and it becomes a Sportsmanship issue for you to sort out with your opponent.
  • However, the Judges document (which is used to run all official PP events) states that the model officially counts as "Advancing 0 inches" and thus will trigger Counter Charge. Most players follow the Judges document for casual play as well.

Unit with countercharge

  • This applies to Zaadesh2 with Scarab Packs
  • Each model in the unit has its own individual countercharge. They don't have to all countercharge at the same time, and only the specific model within 6" of the trigger will be able to countercharge.
  • If a model is out of formation, it won't be able to countercharge (since it is unable to move out of his normal movement).
  • If a model starts in formation but the countercharge movement takes it out of formation, it won't be able to make the charge attack (but will engage).
  • If several models in the same unit want to countercharge the same model, you fully resolve the counter charge of the first, including the attack, before starting the counter charge of the other(s).
  • If the unit commander countercharges such that the other models become out of formation, they immediately lose the ability to trigger countercharge (because out-of-formation models can't move).

Other interactions

  • Countercharge vs. Admonition (etc) ( Edit )
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation - if a model with Admonition (or similar) uses it to (try to) move away.
      • You move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge off their admonition-move.
    • In this scenario you may boost Countercharge attacks and trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack) exactly as if you were in your activation (because you are).
    • Also, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge).
  • Countercharge plus Admonition
    • If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
  • Countercharge vs Slipstream ( Edit )
    • Both these abilities trigger at the same time (end of movement). The active player then resolved his first.
    • This can let the Slipstream model place something to block the Countercharge model.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
    • With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
    • So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
      • If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
      • But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).

Rules Clarification : Guard Dog      (Edit)

  • If Rocinante is put under the control of a Jack Marshal then he effectively loses his Guard Dog ability because he does not have a controlling warcaster.
    • Simarily, he loses it while under Gastone1's control because Gastone1 is not a warcaster, he's a solo.

Rules Clarification : Return      (Edit)

  • This ability resolves after your charge attack, not after your Combat Action. Thus, if you have more than one initial attack (ie Lug) then you'll essentially lose your second initial attack.
  • If your charge movement is less than 3", then your attack is not a "charge attack" and so you can't trigger return.
  • You can trigger return with a Countercharge.