Void Leech

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

This server will go offline in September 2018. Please migrate to our new server, Warmachine University
For more info on why we're moving to a new server, check out the Brief History section on the new main page, and/or listen to episode 45 of the LOS podcast
If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot.
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.


Void Leech
Minion Bog Trog Weapon Attachment

Fluff

Basic Info[edit]

Void Leech
Void Leech.jpg
SPD 5
MAT 5
DEF 10
ARM 13
HP 1
Cost 1
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

Abilities[edit]

  • Attachment: [Minion unit with Amphibious] - This model can be attached to a Minion unit with Amphibious unit.
  • Amphibious - This model treats shallow water as open terrain while advancing. While completely in shallow water, this model gains concealment and does not block line of sight.
  • Attachment Deployment - If the unit this model is attached to has Advance Deployment or Ambush, this model gains that ability.
  • Mage Static - While this model is in formation, enemy magic attacks targeting a model in its unit suffer -5 RNG.
  • Wasting Power - The Void Leech can use Wasting Power at any time during its unit's activation. When it does so, enemy animi & upkeep spells on the unit expire, then the Leech is RFP'd.


Thoughts on Void Leech[edit]

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Release
This model/theme has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.

Feel free to remove this warning if you, personally, have a good level of gameplay experience with the model, have reviewed this article, and either you A) agree with the content 100% or B) for the parts you disagree with, you don't strongly disagree; and it's more a case of differing opinions between you and previous editors rather than incorrect content / bad advice.

Void Leech in a nutshell[edit]

The Void Leech is a very cheap unit attachment to convince the enemy not to cast spells on your unit; both a 5 point range debuff and the ability to cancel a debilitating upkeep like Crippling Grasp. They also stop bullets.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

There are only a few units to date they can attach to. All of which have their advantages.

  • Gatorman Bokor & Bog Trog Swamp Shamblers get to double dip out of the Void Leech, with the Bokor getting the corpse out of the Leech when it dies and bringing it back as a Shambler.
  • Croak Raiders are advance deploying, making them a spell magnet. They also have Gang - which the leech can trigger even if it can't benefit from.
  • Bog Trog Ambushers ambush or advance deploy so they get nearer to the enemy caster than most units do most games.
  • Gatorman Posse are as big spell magnets as anything you field.
  • Croak Trappers only ever take them as the cheapest multiple sacrificial pawn option for Rask. And if cost is your main worry to get any targets a single Bog Trog Mist Speaker hanging back with Rask will save you from the dice-spike assassination and does a lot more for Rask.

There are also some other good choices for making use of their abilities as a bog trog and living model.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • There's little point attaching more than one to a unit.
  • The Swamp Gobber Bellows Crew costs as little per model and is normally more useful.
  • Entire games will go by without getting an offensive spell they'd have stopped, and minions have other options (like the Thrullg, Orin Midwinter, Rogue Inquisitor, or Eilish Garrity, the Occultist) to deal with offensive upkeeps and you can get them free in theme forces. This means that the Void Leech is mostly a point filler.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • The Gatorman Bokor can shunt a point of damage to a void leech, then gain its corpse token.
  • If you're ever 1-2 points short of enough units in The Blindwater Congregation (or Disciples of Agony) for a free solo the Void Leech is worth looking at.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released in Blindwater CID (2017.09)

Theme Forces[edit]

Minion
Circle Orboros (Edit) Legion of Everblight (Edit)
Skorne (Edit) Trollbloods (Edit)

Other Minion models[edit]

MinionsLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Farrow Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Arkadius1 - Carver1 - Helga1 - Midas1 - Sturm & Drang1
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh
Farrow Warbeasts (Edit)
Lessers Razor Boars
Lights Battle Boar - Gun Boar - Splatter Boar
Dr Arkadius only: Gorax Rager
Heavies Road Hog - War Hog
Gatorman Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Barnabas1 - Barnabas2 - Calaban1 - Jaga-Jaga1 - Maelok1 - Rask1
Lesser Warlocks Wrong Eye
Gatorman Warbeasts (Edit)
Lights Boneswarm - Bull Snapper
Heavies Blackhide Wrastler - Blind Walker - Ironback Spitter - Swamp Horror
Gargantuans Dracodile
  M  
I
N
I
O
N
S
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warlock attachments Targ - Gatorman Soul Slave
Units Farrow Farrow Bone Grinders - Farrow Brigands - Farrow Commandos - Farrow Razorback Crew - Farrow Slaughterhousers - Farrow Valkyries
Gatorman Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Gatorman Bokor & Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows
Special WA: Void Leech
Unaligned
Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Farrow
Agata, Queen of Carnage - Maximus - Rorsh & Brine - Targ
Gatorman Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron - Bog Trog Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Croak Hunter - Gatorman Husk - Gatorman Soul Slave - Gatorman Witch Doctor
Kwaak Slickspine & Gub - Longchops - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Unaligned Efaarit Scout - Feralgeist -Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Ogrun Bokur - Gobber Chef - Gobber Raiders - Thrullg - Totem Hunter
Alten Ashley - Brun Cragback & Lug - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Eilish Garrity - Gudrun the Wanderer - Hutchuck - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Orin - Raluk - Saxon Orrik - Viktor Pendrake
Battle Engines Meat Thresher (Farrow) - Sacral Vault (Gatorman)
 
Minion - Theme Forces (Edit)
The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Void Leech

  • There is a bug in Warroom that allows the Leech to attach to a Boil Master unit, even though that's not an Amphibious unit. (Infernal Ruling)


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Magical Damage      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

* The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
  • If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
    • if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
    • if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
    • (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attachment      (Edit)

  • You cannot field this model "just by itself".
  • Adding an Attachment doesn't change the unit type for targeting purposes. For instance, if you add a Soulless Escort to a Houseguard unit, it is still a Houseguard unit and can still be targeted by stuff that only works on "Target Houseguard unit" (like the Houseguard Thane's abilities). (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Attachment Deployment - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Mage Static - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Wasting Power      (Edit)

Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)      
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    3. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    5. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    6. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)