Vladimir Tzepesci, the Dark Prince

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Khador Warcaster

Vladimir is history walking. He is a relic from a time long forgotten when men ruled with iron fists and displays of pure power. The Dark Prince refuses to let this legacy die, and will spill his blood to defend it.

Basic Info[edit]

Vladimir1
Vladimer1.jpg
SPD 6
MAT 7
DEF 15
ARM 16
FOCUS 7
HP 18
WJP +28
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

  • Skirmisher - 1" reach, P+S 13 melee weapon.
    • Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
    • Blood Boon - If this weapon kills an enemy, this model can cast an average cost or less spell for free. Blood Boon can only trigger once per activation.
  • Ruin - 0.5" reach, P+S 10 melee weapon.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Warcaster - This model comes with a bunch of special rules, most notably being really awesome at everything.
  • Parry - This model cannot be targeted by free strikes.

Feat : Forced March[edit]

Warjacks in Vladimir's battlegroup beginning their activations in his control range double their base SPD and can run, charge and make power attacks without spending focus. Forced March lasts for one turn.

Spells[edit]

Target friendly Faction model can charge for free and gains +2" movement and Pathfinder when it charges for one turn.
This spell has no special effects.
While in Vladimir's CTRL area all friendly Faciton models roll an extra die on all attack and damage rolls, then discard the lowest.
For one round, the caster and models within 3" of the caster cannot make ranged attacks and are automatically missed by non-magical ranged attacks.


Thoughts on Vladimir Tzepesci, the Dark Prince[edit]

Comparison to Mk2[edit]

Vlad didn't really change a whole lot in the conversion, though the increase in warjack points and the advent of power-up allows him to more flexibly run more than one warjack effectively. On any given turn, if planning to use one of his signature spells, Vlad only has a small handful of focus (less than half) to allocate to his jacks. Power-up helps ease that burden tremendously.

Vladimir Tzepesci, the Dark Prince in a nutshell[edit]

Vlad is a powerhouse caster who doesn't quite fit any real niche in the Khador world; he's a monster support 'caster for the first few turns, situationally utilizing an awesome feat to get his jacks up the table at breakneck speed (SIXTEEN INCHES in one turn is practically breaking the sound barrier for a several-ton piece of machinery.) Or, using that same feat and Boundless Charge to ensure his 'jacks get the alpha on the enemy, while using Wind Wall to keep himself and a few key support models safe from most enemy shooting.

Once the fight is in full force, Signs & Portents turns even mediocre RAT/MAT troops into accurate hitters, and makes moderate damage rolls become reliable killers, which typically helps with the attrition game by ensuring your models don't miss what they're aiming/swinging at, and they reliably kill what they hit.

If things do start to go south, and the fight looks lost, Vlad can turn on a dime, going from a support 'caster to a melee monster, invoking his ancient lineage with Blood of Kings, boosting his stats to levels that make him nigh-unhittable, and utilizing his incredibly-buffed speed and *double-digit* MAT to start removing threats.

He's not going to wreck a heavy or a gargossal in a single swing, nor leap tall buildings in a single bound. But, man it's fun to try sometimes!

Thoughts on when & how to use his feat and spells[edit]

As a general rule, if you're planning to support the army via Signs & Portents, Vlad will be the first or one of the very first models you activate. With his above-average CTRL RNG, he doesn't need to be extremely forward and expose himself to too much danger.

If your intention is to use Blood of Kings for the turn, your order of activation won't matter as much.

As for his feat, it can be used early to get your models up the table towards an objective, or be used later to spring a trap on a model who thinks you're too far away, by charging your warjacks an incredible distance. It's uses are endless, limited only by your imagination. A Khador Heavy Warjack capable of moving sixteen inches on the run, or charging eleven(or thirteen with boundless charge as well), ought to scare your opponents just a little bit.

Typical Army & Strategy[edit]

Strategy[edit]

His main method of winning is ...Placeholder.
For example: "using her feat turn to get a melee/ranged/spell assassination" "attrition then win on scenario" "board control then win on scenario" "sending a jack in, to beat the enemy warcaster's face into pulp" "etc"  

Army[edit]

Things you take in his army to help him with this strategy is Placeholder.

Drawbacks, Downsides, & Bad Match-Ups[edit]

Vlad is an absolute monster in melee when using Blood of Kings, bringing his defense to a level that nearly nothing can hit him, and his ARM becomes high enough that anything that can hit him likely won't hurt him much....until you knock him down. And with enough auto-knockdown feats, spells, and abilities, this can become a major concern.

A knocked-down Vlad is a dead Vlad.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

For reference, Signs and Portents roughly improves the average of rolls by 1.5 so that normal rolls would be about 8.5 and boosted rolls would be about 12, rather than 7 and 10.5 respectively.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

Themes for generic casters (Edit)

Other faction models[edit]

KhadorLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Butcher1 - Butcher2 - Butcher3 - Harkevich - Irusk1 - Irusk2 - Karchev - Kozlov - Malakov2 - Old Witch1 - Old Witch2 - Sorscha1 - Sorscha2 - Strakhov1 - Strakhov2 - Vlad1 - Vlad2 - Vlad3 - Zerkova1 - Zerkova2
K
H
A
D
O
R
Warcaster attachments War Dog (Khador) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary) - Reinholdt (Mercenary) - Wyshnalyrr (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Malakov1 (BGC) - Man-o-War Kovnik (Marshal) - Greylord Forge Seer (Marshal)
Heavy warjacks Berserker - Decimator - Demolisher - Destroyer - Devastator - Grolar - Juggernaut - Kodiak - Mad Dog - Marauder - Rager - Spriggan
Beast-09 - Behemoth - Black Ivan - Drago - Ruin - Torch
Colossal Conquest - Victor
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Assault Kommandos - Battle Mechaniks - Black Dragons - Doom Reaver Swordsmen - Greylord Outriders - Greylord Ternion - Iron Fang Pikemen - Iron Fang Uhlans - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Kossite Woodsmen - MOW Bombardiers - MOW Demolition Corps - MOW Shocktroopers - Widowmaker Scouts - WG Field Gun - WG Infantry - WG Mortar Crew - WG Rifle Corps
Great Bears of the Gallowswood
Ranking Officer CA : Koldun Kapitan Valachev
Solos Greylord Forge Seer - Iron Fang Kovnik - Koldun Lord - MOW Drakhun - MOW Kovnik - Manhunter - War Dog - Widowmaker Marksman - WG Artillery Kapitan
Fenris - Jozef - Malakov1 - Markov - Sofya - Yuri
Battle Engines Gun Carriage
 
Theme Forces
Armored Korps - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter
Merc khador.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten - Magnus1 - Magnus2

Requires a 2+ caster game

K
H
A
D
O
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Brun Cragback & Lug - Rorsh & Brine
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Khador army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Mercenary Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps
Alexia1 - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Bradigan - Eilish Garrity - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gorman - Gudran - Harlan - Hutchuk - Bailoch - Rockbottom - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Saxon - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Thor
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification : Blood Boon      (Edit)

  • Blood Boon doesn't interact with abilities that change the COST of a spell. This is based on the similar ruling between Geomancy and Scaverous (Link to related Infernal Ruling)
    • For instance, if you trigger Blood Boon while being affected by Lamentation then you can still cast a COST 3 spell (even though if you spent focus to do the same thing it would cost you 6 focus).

Rules Clarification:  : Warcaster      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

 
  • General
    • FOCUS (uppercase) is the stat printed on the warcaster's card. Focus (lowercase) refers to focus points a model currently has.
    • Your CTRL area is double your FOCUS stat, not double your focus points. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Casting spells or using feats is an anytime ability with the added restriction that you can't use them on the same turn you run even before you run.
      • See also the clarifications on Any Time abilities (below).
    • Some warcasters are also Battle Engines and thus follow all the Battle Engine special rules.
      • There is no particular interaction between the Battle Engine rules and the Warcaster rules.
Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    3. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    4. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • Units
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.


Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcasters & Warlocks page for the 'regular' rules clarifications.

  • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argii can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • Only the warcaster/warlock model can dominate a Steam Roller scenario. They can do that regardless of where the grunts are.
  • The grunt models can contest Steam Roller scenarios, but not control them.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).

Rules Clarification : Unit of Warcasters or Warlocks     (Edit)

  • Even though they're warcasters, if they're out of formation they suffer the normal penalties (can't make attacks, actions, spells, etc).
  • They can't upkeep each other's spells.
  • They can only dominate one SteamRoller scenario element at a time.
  • Each warlock/warcaster can have different upkeeps on them if those upkeeps are "target SELF" or "target model". If you cast an upkeep that is "target model/unit", that is the only upkeep any of them can have.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
  • The Legion Twins
    • Rhyas cannot dominate a zone while out of formation.
    • Rhyas can use the feat while out of formation.
  • Haley3
    • Only Haley Prime is an 'actual' warcaster model, and as such she is the only one that can dominate a scenario element.
    • The echoes can Control/Contest scenarios like a normal unit.
    • Haley Prime can dominate an element even if the echoes are out of formation.

Rules Clarification : Parry - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Blood of Kings - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Boundless Charge      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Razor Wind      (Edit)

  • The text description has no in-game effect. It's just for flavour.

Rules Clarification : Hand of Fate and/or Manifest Destiny and/or Signs & Portents     (Edit)

  • The lowest dice must be discarded - you can't keep it even if you want it for a critical hit.
    • For instance, if you need 6+ to hit and roll a 3, 3, and a 4 then you must discard one of the 3s, and you'll end up with a non-critical hit with the 3 + 4.

Rules Clarification : Wind Wall - None yet. (Edit)