| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North
Trollblood Northkin Trollkin Character Solo
Few warchiefs command so black a reputation as the acrimonious Valka Curseborn. Noted for a foul temper, he has become bitter and ruthless with the passing of the years. At each battle’s end, he looks around himself with bloodied axes, taking in the carnage he has unleashed, disgruntled that he still draws breath. He seeks a hero’s death but is too stubborn to die easily. The foe worthy to claim his life has yet to stand before him.
- Rune Axe (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon
- Immunity: Cold - This model does not suffer cold damage.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
- Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
- Countercharge - When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within 6" of this model and in its LOS, this model can immediately charge it. This model can use Countercharge only once per round and not while engaged.
- Feign Death - While knocked down this model can't be targetted by shooting or spells.
- Retaliatory Strike - Once per turn when an enemy hits this model in melee, it can hit back. Once.
- Righteous Vengeance - If a friendly Faction model dies within 5" model, next turn this model gets a free 3" move and melee attack during the maintenance phase.
- Rise - If this model is knocked down, at the beginning of your next Maintenance Phase it stands up for free.
- Take Down - Models disabled in melee by this model cannot use Tough. Models boxed in melee by this model are RFP'd.
- Unyielding - This model gains +2 ARM against melee damage rolls.
This rule changed in 2018.01
Thoughts on Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North
This model/theme has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.
Feel free to remove this warning if you, personally, have a good level of gameplay experience with the model, have reviewed this article, and either you A) agree with the content 100% or B) for the parts you disagree with, you don't strongly disagree; and it's more a case of differing opinions between you and previous editors rather than incorrect content / bad advice.
Valka Curseborn, Chieftain of the North in a nutshell
Valka is the chieftan of his Kriel. As an expert fighter and one seen to survive anything, Valka has a myriad of defensive rules that also embody aggression and retaliation. Valka is an attractive option to any Northkin force - a fairly effective wrecking ball with a potential of five weapon master attacks per round (two basic, a counter-charge, a retaliatory strike, and a righteous vengeance).
Combos & Synergies
- Valka is normally seen in Storm of the North because free is an excellent price for this model and he's the most expensive free option in that theme.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Like most 6 point solos he's easy to kill for the cost.
- Counter-Charge can be tricky to use on a model without reach.
Tricks & Tips
- Righteous vengeance can be used for movement to line up a charge as well as simply for attacking.
- Countercharge and retalliatory strike can work well together.
Originally released in the Northkin CID (2017.07)
Storm of the North (Article) (Category)
Other Trollblood models
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Cold - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Countercharge (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| Triggering Countercharge
- You can trigger Countercharge if you're engaging, but not engaged.
- What does trigger Countercharge
- Countercharge triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff.
- You can trigger Countercharge during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
- Standing still but changing facing is an advance.
- What doesn't trigger Countercharge
- Aiming, or forfeiting your movement, is not advancing.
- If a model doesn't move, doesn't change facing, doesn't aim ... does nothing but skips straight ahead to its Combat Action, this is not an advance. (Infernal Ruling)
- Being placed (such as Teleport) is not an advance.
- Involuntary movement (being slammed, thrown, or pushed) is not an advance.
- Even when an entire unit is moving, countercharge is triggered per model. So you can countercharge after any models of the unit had finished his move within range, but you can only countercharge the model who finished its movement. You can't "save it" until the unit finishes moving and then say "I'm going to Countercharge the first guy you moved."
What can your opponent do?
- Once you trigger countercharge, your opponent cannot use a "Any Time" ability until the countercharge is fully resolved. Even though it's their turn.
- They can trigger their own abilities from your movement (such as Admonition) and/or your attack (such as Shock Field).
Attacks & Boosting
- You only get one attack when making a countercharge, regardless of how many initials you normally have.
- You can't spend fury/focus to boost it, or buy additional attacks afterwards. Because you're only allowed to do spend fury/focus during your own activation.
- The charge attack damage is only boosted if the Countercharger moved 3" or more, as with a regular charge.
After the Countercharge
- You cannot use any abilities that trigger on "during activation" or "during combat action" (such as Sprint) after a Countercharge, as Counter Charge is not an activation. (Locked thread)
Enemy "Skipping" their movement
- If your opponent 'forgets' to move their model and didn't declare they're forfeiting movement (they just said "I'm activating this model and making an attack") then do they count as moving or not?
- Technically the rules don't have a default condition for this, and it becomes a Sportsmanship issue for you to sort out with your opponent.
- However, the Judges document (which is used to run all official PP events) states that the model officially counts as "Advancing 0 inches" and thus will trigger Counter Charge. Most players follow the Judges document for casual play as well.
Unit with countercharge
- This applies to Zaadesh2 with Scarab Packs
- Each model in the unit has its own individual countercharge. They don't have to all countercharge at the same time, and only the specific model within 6" of the trigger will be able to countercharge.
- If a model is out of formation, it won't be able to countercharge (since it is unable to move out of his normal movement).
- If a model starts in formation but the countercharge movement takes it out of formation, it won't be able to make the charge attack (but will engage).
- If several models in the same unit want to countercharge the same model, you fully resolve the counter charge of the first, including the attack, before starting the counter charge of the other(s).
- If the unit commander countercharges such that the other models become out of formation, they immediately lose the ability to trigger countercharge (because out-of-formation models can't move).
- Since Countercharge isn't an actual activation, you can't trigger in-activation stuff like Sprint or Quick Work.
- Exception: Very rarely you can trigger Countercharge during your own activation. For instance your opponent triggers Admonition to try and move away.
- Countercharge vs. Admonition (etc) ( Edit )
- You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation - if a model with Admonition (or similar) uses it to (try to) move away.
- You move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge off their admonition-move.
- In this scenario you may boost Countercharge attacks and trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack) exactly as if you were in your activation (because you are).
- Also, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge).
- Countercharge plus Admonition
- If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
- Countercharge vs Slipstream ( Edit )
- Both these abilities trigger at the same time (end of movement). The active player then resolved his first.
- This can let the Slipstream model place something to block the Countercharge model.
- Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
- With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
- So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
- If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
- But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
- Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
Rules Clarification : Feign Death (Edit)
- "Cannot be targeted" is not the same as "cannot be hit". You can still be hit by AOEs, Sprays, etc that target someone else.
- You cannot use Gunfighter vs models Feigning Death, because Gunfighter is still a ranged attack.
- However, you can use Point Blank, because that lets the attacker make a melee attack with a ranged weapon.
Rules Clarification : Retaliatory Strike (Edit)
- "Basic melee attack" also includes Mount Attacks. Refer to the definition of 'Basic Attack' in the rulebook.
- You can't make Retaliatory Strikes vs free strikes, because the free striker is defined to be in your back arc (regardless of the actual model's facings) and thus you don't have LOS to it. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Vengeance and/or Righteous Vengeance and/or Retaliation and/or Swift Vengeance and/or Tantrum (Edit)
- Vengeance moves do not have to be towards an enemy model.
- You can choose to not move, but still get the attack. One is not conditional on the other.
- When resolving Vengeance, move all models in the unit before making any attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you have more than one unit with Vengeance, move all of unit A then complete all of unit A's attacks, before starting to move unit B.
- Vengeance is not an activation. It does not prevent the unit from activating and acting normally later in the turn.
- Stationary and knocked down models may not perform Vengeance moves nor attacks.
- Only enemy attacks trigger Vengeance. There are plenty of ways enemies can damage you without attacking you (such as Electro Leap) and these will not trigger Vengeance.
- Due to the way it is worded Vengeance can be "inherited" by unit attachments that do not actually have the Vengeance ability themselves. For instance, a Soulless Escort attached to the Spears of Scyrah.
- If anyone is damaged, including the attachment, everyone in the unit gets to trigger Vengeance.
- But if everyone is killed except the attachment, then he doesn't get to trigger Vengeance because the rule is "no longer on the table".
Rules Clarification : Take Down - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Unyielding - None yet. (Edit)