User:Juckto

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

I'm one of the admins here. I do most of the help documentation and creating new template types.

I play Cryx.

You can PM me via the forums by clicking this link: http://privateerpressforums.com/private.php?do=newpm&u=62689



I'm saving some code below for my own purposes:

Hi. Welcome to Battle College. My 3 top tips for new editors are:
# Use the Preview button before saving. It'll save you headaches in the long run.
# Square brackets [ insert links. Curvy brackets { insert templates. See example difference.
# Check out the [[Wikicode for Beginners]] page.

{| class="wikitable"
!
! Square brackets
! Curvy brackets
|-
! Text you enter
|width=40%| The combination of [[Flight]] and [[Cavalry]] makes her a very powerful model.
|width=40%| The combination of {{Flight}} and {{Cavalry}} makes her a very powerful model.
|- valign="top"
! Text that appears
| The combination of [[Flight]] and [[Cavalry]] makes her a very powerful model.
| The combination of {{Flight|Hide_Cat=}} and {{Cavalry|Hide_Cat=}} makes her a very powerful model.
|}
juckto ~~~~~

Mini RCs[edit]

{{RC Damage Type}} 
  • Damage Type (Edit)
    • This spell does elemental damage in addition to magical damage, not instead of magical damage. (Infernal Ruling)
{{RC Soul Proximity}} 
  • "Regardless of proximity" soul takers (Edit)
    • The model which ignores distance doesn't always get the soul. Abilities which say you "can't" collect souls (such as Soul Ward) trump it, due to the general rule that "can't trumps can".
    • If there are multiple models that all have the "regardless of proximity" clause, then you randomise who the soul goes to. (Infernal Ruling)
{{RC Not an attack}} 
  • Not considered an attack (Edit)
    • The original attack and damage is definitely an attack, and triggers stuff normally. But the "secondary" damage works quite differently.
    • The secondary damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
    • The secondary damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
    • The secondary damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
    1. It's not an attack from a weapon so:
      • it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
      • it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
    2. It is a damage roll from a model so:
{{RC Spell Arc}} 
  • Spells that "arc" (Edit)
    • For spells that cause damage to "leap" or "arc" to adjacent models (Chain Lightning, Eruption of Spines, Ashes to Ashes, etc) ...
    • The damage is from a spell, so it is magical damage. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Steamroller flags are models, and so are eligible to be leaped to/from (although they won't be damaged by the spell). (Infernal Ruling)
      • Check whether your spell specifies "enemy model" or just "model", because as of Steamroller 2017 flags are not enemy or friendly.
{{RC Battlegroup}} 
  • Battlegroup members (Edit)
    • Spells that target/affect "models in the battlegroup" can also target/will also affect the caster, the caster's unit (if they have one), and the caster's Companion (if they have one).
    • It won't target/affect models which are Attached, though.
{{RC Push}} 
Push     (Edit)      
  • Pushed models do not change their facing.
  • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
  • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
  • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
  • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
  • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
    • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
{{RC Knockdown small}} 
  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.
{{RC Pathfinder small}} 
{{RC Hazard Cloud}} 
  • Hazardous Clouds (Edit)
    • A hazard, by definition, is a terrain effect. As such, if a template is both a cloud and a hazard it will block sprays as per the normal terrain rules for terrain blocking LOS. (Infernal Ruling)
{{RC Spell Wording}} 
  • Not blast damage (Edit)
    • Due to the way it is worded, this spell/weapon does full POW to all models in the AOE. It is not blast damage and it is not halved.
    • For the same reason, it doesn't do "two damage rolls to the model directly hit". (Infernal Ruling)
{{RC Anytime}} 
Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities     (Edit)      
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    3. In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    4. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    5. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    6. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units with "Any Time" abilities
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
{{RC Enters}} 
  • Hazard templates and "non-hazard damage" templates (Edit)
    • Some templates are defined as 'Hazards' but some, like Creeping Barrage, are not.
    • Damage templates from spells:
      • Spells which leave a template and are not described as a hazard will do magical damage to models that walk around in them. (Example: Razor Wall)
      • Spells which leave a template and are hazards will not do magical damage to models that walk around in them. Instead, they do whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
      • (Infernal Ruling)
    • A model which is "placed" also counts as "entering" an area, so the hazard will damage any one who teleports/spawns into it, too.
    • If two hazard templates are overlapping, a model that enters them will take two points of damage.
    • Damage from a hazard is not from an attack (so won't trigger stuff like Vengeance).
    • Damage from a hazard is not considered to be from the weapon/spell that originally put it into play (so it doesn't gain the Damage Type or any other special rules of the weapon/spell).
{{RC Through}} 
  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.
{{RC Ignore LOS}} 
  • Ignore LOS (Edit)
    • Since you ignore LOS, you can target models in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
{{RC Take Control}} 
Taking Control of an Enemy Model       (Edit)    

General

  • Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
    • This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
    • If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
  • The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
  • Buffs and effects:
    • The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
    • If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
    • If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.
  • Theme abilities:
    • If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, whether it keeps that ability is ... being checked

Movement

  • You can advance a model into an acid cloud and force them to take damage, but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of an acid cloud to inflict infinite damage.
  • The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
  • If you enter into an area, the controlled model can suffer the effect of entering into the area only once per advance. It means you cannot yo-yo a Devastator in and out of a Razor Wall 36 times to deplete all its damage boxes.

Melee Attacks

  • Models with the Gunfighter advantage can make attacks as they normally would if the ability controlling them allows for basic attacks (e.g., Influence). Note that other "take control" abilities only allow for melee attacks, such as Seduction and Bone Shaker (Gunfighter attacks are ranged attacks).
  • Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
  • Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
  • With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
    • As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".

Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:

  1. It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
    • Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
    • Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
    • You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
  2. It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
    • Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
    • Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).

Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)

  • A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
    • Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
    • If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!
{{RC Units Buying Attacks}} 
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).

Misc Code[edit]

([{{FULLURL:Template: AAA|action=edit}} Edit]) 
{{Edbox|To edit the CA's tagged abilities, [{{FULLURL: AAA : BBB (CA)|action=edit}} Click here]}}


#redirect [[AAA]]


{{Edbox|This page is a redirect page, plus some junk to put the model  in the right category. Formatting is not an issue cause no one will ever read it.}}
{|
|- 
| {{AAAA|Hide_Cat=<!--- YES --->}} 
| [{{FULLURL:Template: AAAA|action=edit}} Edit description]
|- 
| {{BBBB|Hide_Cat=<!--- YES --->}} 
| [{{FULLURL:Template: BBBB|action=edit}} Edit description]
|}

{{RC AAAA}}
http://battlecollege.org/index.php/Special:WhatLinksHere/


{|
|- 
| {{Granted|_|Hide_ability=<!---YES--->}} 
| [{{FULLURL:Template: Granted|action=edit}} Edit description]
|}

{{RC Granted}}

{{Edbox|To use this template you need to add the ability that is granted. Example
<pre>{{Granted|Tough}} OOOOOOO/pre>
: {{Granted|Tough|Hide_Cat=<!---YES--->}}
----
You can also choose to "suppress" the ability description using a 'Hide_ability' command. This is recommended when the granted ability is a "simple" ability that is described in the core rulebook (like Tough, Pathfinder, etc).  Example:
<pre>{{Granted|[[Tough]]|Hide_ability=<!---YES--->}} OOOOOOOO/pre>
: {{Granted|[[Tough]]|Hide_ability=<!---YES--->|Hide_Cat=<!---YES--->}}
}}

juckto's useful links[edit]