Trollkin Runebearer

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Info icon.png

Information
Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.

Ambox warning orange.png

Important
The site is in the process of being cloned to a new server. IF you make an edit in the next few weeks, there is a chance it won't get duplicated to the new server.


Trollkin Runebearer

Trollblood Trollkin Solo (Attached)

Some of the most learned trollkin runescribes choose to accompany their leaders into battle. Carrying the sacred tablets of their kriel, runebearers are capable of amplifying the Dhunian gifts of trollkin warlocks. The glyphs glow as the runebearer speaks them aloud, easing their warlock’s use of their fury-driven prayers and sorcery.

Basic Info[edit]

Trollkin Runebearer
Runebearerp.png
Base Size Medium
Cost 4
SPD 6
M.A. 6
DEF 12
ARM 14
Hitpoints 5
Cost 5
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.

Abilities[edit]

  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Arcane Repeater - While this model's warcaster/warlock is within 5" of it, that caster's CTRL range is extended 2".
  • Attached - Before the start of the game, attach this model to a friendly Faction warcaster for the rest of the game. Each Faction warcaster can only have one model/unit attached to it.
  • Magic Ability [ 6 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).
    • Harmonious Exaltation (★ Action) - Target this model's warcaster/warlock. If the warcaster/warlock is in CMD range, the first spell they cast this turn costs 1 less to cast.
    • Spell Slave (★ Action) or (★ Attack) - While in its controlling warcaster/warlock's control area, this model may cast a single spell from their boss's spell card. There are several limits on what type of spells can be cast.

Recent Changes[edit]

2017.07 Northkin CID

Cost increased to 5 (from 4), but gained Arcane Repeater.

Thoughts on Trollkin Runebearer[edit]

Trollkin Runebearer in a nutshell[edit]

The Trollkin Runebearer basically gives any warlock a free Fury - always nice especially when it means you can load the Krielstone that much better.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Every troll warlock wants him. Although only a few want him to actually cast spells like Boundless Charge, Magic Bullet, or Guided Hand, as most buffs are upkeeps.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • In most cases, don't bother casting offensive spells. The Runebearer will only die. There are certain warlocks, like Grim, that might want a Runebearer to cast something like Mortality, but that's a rare case.
  • How much support bloat do you want? Whether to include depends on this.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Keep him safe.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released in Forces of Hordes: Trollbloods (2010)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Trollblood models[edit]

TrollbloodLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Battlegroups
Warlocks Borka1 - Borka2 - Calandra - Gunnbjorn - Grim1 - Grim2 - Grissel1 - Grissel2 - Doomshaper1 - Doomshaper2 - Doomshaper3 - Horgle2 - Jarl - Kolgrima - Madrak1 - Madrak2 - Madrak3 - Ragnor
T
R
O
L
L
B
L
O
O
D
S
Warlock attachments Trollkin Runebearer
Lesser Warlock Horgle1
Light warbeasts Ice Troll - Night Troll - Pyre Troll - Slag Troll - Storm Troll - Swamp Troll - Troll Axer - Troll Basher - Troll Bouncer - Troll Impaler - Winter Troll
Heavy warbeasts Dire Troll Blitzer - Dire Troll Bomber - Dire Troll Brawler - Dire Troll Mauler - Earthborn Dire Troll
Dozer & Smigg - Mulg the Ancient - Rök
Gargantuan Glacier King - Mountain King - Sea King
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Dhunian Knot - Kriel Warriors - Stone Bearer - NK Bears - NK Fire Eaters - NK Raiders - Pummeler Crew - Pyg Burrowers - Pyg Bushwhackers - Pyg Lookouts - Scattergunners - Thumper Crew - Champions - Fennblades - Highwaymen - Long Riders - Runeshapers - Scouts - Sluggers - Warders
Special WA: Trollkin Sorcerer
Sons of Bragg
Solos Fell Caller Hero - Fennblade Kithkar - Northkin Shaman - Stone Scribe Chronicler - Troll Whelps - Trollkin Champion Hero - Trollkin Skinner
Braylen Wanderheart - Horgle1 - Horthol - Janissa Stonetide - Valka Curseborn
Battle Engines Hearthgut Hooch Hauler - War Wagon
 
Theme Forces
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North
Minion Trollblood.jpg

(Edit)

Minion Battlegroups
Warlocks Bloody Barnabas - Calaban - Helga - Jaga-Jaga - Lord Carver - Maelok - Midas - Rask - Sturm & Drang

Requires a 2+ warlock game

T
R
O
L
L
B
L
O
O
D
M
I
N
I
O
N
S
Other Controllers Lesser Warlocks: Brun & Lug - Dahlia & Skarath - Rorsh & Brine - Wrongeye & Snapjaw


'Jack Marshals: Raluk Moorclaw

Warjacks & Warbeasts The minion battlegroup members you can include in a Trollblood army depends entirely on what type of model is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what minions it can control.
 
Minion Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Bone Grinders - Brigands - Commandos - Razorback Crew - Slaughterhousers - Bokur & Swamp Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows


Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea -

Solos Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Croak Hunter - Efaarit Scouts - Feralgeist - Witch Doctor - Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Ogrun Bokur - Gobber Chef - Thrullg - Totem Hunter


Agata, Queen of Carnage - Alten Ashley - Brun & Lug - Dahlia & Skarath - Eilish Garrity - Gudrun - Hutchuk - Lanyssa - Maximus - Raluk - Rorsh & Brine - Saxon - Victor Pendrake - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines Meat Thresher


Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Unarmed      (Edit)

  • Since this model has no weapons it does not have a melee range.
    • This means it can't engage other models, declare charges, or make free strikes
    • Also it can't gain abilities that require a melee range (such as Ragman granting this model Dark Shroud).
  • However, other models that do have melee weapons can engage this model. So this model can still gain the "target in melee" shooting bonus.

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Arcane Repeater - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attached      (Edit)

  • Attached models are not (normally) part of the warcaster's/warlock's battlegroup. (Infernal Ruling)
(You need the Companion rule to become part of the battlegroup).
  • Thus, attachments are not affected by battlegroup-only effects such as Energizer (unless they're a Companion).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
  • Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
    • (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
  • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Harmonious Exaltation      (Edit)

  • If the warcaster/warlock is affected by multiple COST-altering abilities (such as Lamentation which doubles cost) then follow the math rules: double/halve before adding/subtracting. (Infernal Ruling)
    • For example, a warcaster with Harmonious Exaltation and Lamentation casting a COST 3 spell would pay [3x2] - 1 = 5 focus.
  • Harmonious Exaltation can, in fact, lower the COST to zero. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Spell Slave      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Explanatory Note

This Rules Clarification is very similar to the ones for Necromancy and Geomancy (since all 3 are very similar abilities). Where Spell Slave is unique, the text has been coloured blue.

Who does the casting

  • It is the model with Spell Slave that does the casting, not the warcaster. (Infernal Ruling)
    • It's not anything simple like "the warcaster gets an extra spell" during the warcaster's activation.
    • Nor is it the "Spell Slave acts like an arc node". (On that note, Spell Slaves can't use arc nodes).
    • Any buffs/debuffs currently on your warcaster/warlock are completely irrelevant to the Spell Slave's casting.
  • For stuff that interacts with spellcasters (such as Witch Hunter) it is the location of the Spell Slave that matters, not the location of the warcaster.
    • If the Spell Slave is within an area of "models cannot cast spells within this area" effect, it cannot cast spells. Regardless of where your warcaster is.
    • If the warcaster is within an area of "models cannot cast spells within this area" effect, that has no effect on what the Spell Slave can do.

When/how does a Spell Slave cast

  • Spell Slaves use their Magic Ability to perform either a (★ Attack) or (★ Action).
    • Because you use your Combat Action to do (★ Attack) or (★ Action) you must complete your movement before casting a spell (unlike warcasters).
    • Typically, you cannot cast a spell after charging, because instead you must use your Combat Action to make a melee attack.
    • If you forfeit your action, or are affected by a enemy abilities that prevents you using your action, you will be unable to cast spells.
    • After casting a spell, a Spell Slave's activation ends (unlike what happens when your warcaster casts spells) because it has now completed both its move and its action.
  • Spell Slaves do not pay the full cost of a spell, so are unaffected by stuff which changes the COST of a spell; such as Lamentation. (Infernal Ruling) or Scaverous's feat (Infernal Ruling)

What spells can they choose to cast

  • A Spell Slave cannot cast spells with a range of SELF or CTRL or with a COST more than 3, or that are an UPKEEP.
    • In addition to this, a Spell Slave is heavily limited by the definition of 'Spellcaster'. Specifically:
      1. Spell Slaves can't cast spells that use the phrase "Spellcaster's battlegroup" because (most) spell slaves aren't in the battlegroup.
      2. Spell Slaves cannot benefit from anything that occurs in the 'Spellcaster's CTRL area' because they don't have one. (Infernal Ruling)
        For instance, a Spell Slave that casts Excarnate will not be able to summon a new grunt.
      3. Spell Slaves cannot benefit from spells that give the caster Focus. Such benefits are limited to models with the 'Focus Manipulation' rule, which only warcasters have.
        For instance, a Spell Slave that casts Siphon Bolt would still take focus from the enemy, but won't gain any focus itself.
      4. Sometimes a Spell Slave can cast a cast a spell, but they will miss out on some of the benefits of the spell (as described above)
    • A Hordes Spell Slave cannot cast animi, because they're not "spells on the warlock's spell card".

How can they boost the spell

  • You can not use focus that is on the warcaster to boost spells that the Spell Slave casts. (refer rulebook section on using focus to boost: only the model with focus on it can spend it, and only during its own activation)
  • Spell Slaves can only boost if they have a special rule allowing them do so - for instance, the Skarlock Thrall can spend soul tokens on spells via its 'Strength of Death' ability.

Other

  • The Spell Slave doesn't gain any buffs/abilities that are on your warlock/warcaster (such as True Sight).
  • The Spell Slave cannot channel spells through arc nodes. You can only channel through nodes in your CTRL area, and none of the three models have a CTRL area.
  • The Spell Slave can use spells like Annihilation to gain enemy souls. But generally they will be unable to use the soul tokens so they will stay on the Spell Slave for the rest of the game (doing nothing). (Infernal Ruling)