Trollkin Long Riders

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Trollblood Trollkin Cavalry Unit

Long riders gallop into battle as inexorably as the tide, riding thick-framed and powerfully muscled bison that pound the earth beneath thundering hooves as they charge to shatter enemy lines. The impact of these great steeds can send even titans tumbling back into the mud, all while the riders lay down deadly blows with their long-handled axes.

Basic Info[edit]

Trollkin Long Riders
DEF 12
ARM 18
HP 8
Unit Size 3/5
Cost 12/20
4 each
See also How to Read the statblock


  • Cavalry Axe - 2" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon
    • Brutal Charge - This model gains +2 damage on charge attacks with this weapon.
  • Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 14 mount


  • Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks.
  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Bull Rush (Order) - All the Long Riders must run, charge, or make a slam power attack this activation. When resolving a slam, use the Mount's POW instead of the rider's STR for the slam damage roll. After resolving the slam and the Follow Up, you can make a basic melee attack.
  • Follow Up - When this model slams an enemy model, immediately after the slam is resolved this model can advance directly toward the slammed model, up to the distance the slammed model was moved.
  • Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.

Recent Changes[edit]

2017.07 Northkin CID

ARM increased to 18 (from 17) and reach to 2" (from 1")

Thoughts on Trollkin Long Riders[edit]

Trollkin Long Riders in a nutshell[edit]

Long Riders are the heaviest cavalry unit in the game - and are slam-machines with their Bull Rush. Do you like slams? Then these are awesomely fun - and pretty effective in the right army.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Expensive and big targets, just asking for a debuff to be put on them.
  • Generally not worth it if you only get a single charge out of them. If you can get two they are extremely worth it.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • They are also nice in scenario games, to clear zones or pretend that enemy models are allowed into your zone.



Released in Hordes: Evolution (2007)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Trollblood models[edit]



Warlocks Borka1 - Borka2 - Calandra - Gunnbjorn - Grim1 - Grim2 - Grissel1 - Grissel2 - Doomshaper1 - Doomshaper2 - Doomshaper3 - Horgle2 - Jarl - Kolgrima - Madrak1 - Madrak2 - Madrak3 - Ragnor
Warlock attachments Trollkin Runebearer
Lesser Warlock Horgle1
Light warbeasts Ice Troll - Night Troll - Pyre Troll - Slag Troll - Storm Troll - Swamp Troll - Troll Axer - Troll Basher - Troll Bouncer - Troll Impaler - Winter Troll
Heavy warbeasts Dire Troll Blitzer - Dire Troll Bomber - Dire Troll Brawler - Dire Troll Mauler - Earthborn Dire Troll
Dozer & Smigg - Mulg the Ancient - Rök
Gargantuan Glacier King - Mountain King - Sea King
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Dhunian Knot - Kriel Warriors - Stone Bearer - NK Bears - NK Fire Eaters - NK Raiders - Pummeler Crew - Pyg Burrowers - Pyg Bushwhackers - Pyg Lookouts - Scattergunners - Thumper Crew - Champions - Fennblades - Highwaymen - Long Riders - Runeshapers - Scouts - Sluggers - Warders
Special WA: Trollkin Sorcerer
Sons of Bragg
Solos Fell Caller Hero - Fennblade Kithkar - Northkin Shaman - Stone Scribe Chronicler - Troll Whelps - Trollkin Champion Hero - Trollkin Skinner
Braylen Wanderheart - Horgle1 - Horthol - Janissa Stonetide - Valka Curseborn
Battle Engines Hearthgut Hooch Hauler - War Wagon
Theme Forces
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North
Minion Trollblood.jpg


Minion Battlegroups
Warlocks Bloody Barnabas - Calaban - Helga - Jaga-Jaga - Lord Carver - Maelok - Midas - Rask - Sturm & Drang

Requires a 2+ warlock game

Other Controllers Lesser Warlocks: Brun & Lug - Dahlia & Skarath - Rorsh & Brine - Wrongeye & Snapjaw

'Jack Marshals: Raluk Moorclaw

Warjacks & Warbeasts The minion battlegroup members you can include in a Trollblood army depends entirely on what type of model is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what minions it can control.
Minion Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Bone Grinders - Brigands - Commandos - Razorback Crew - Slaughterhousers - Bokur & Swamp Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows

Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea -

Solos Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Croak Hunter - Efaarit Scouts - Feralgeist - Witch Doctor - Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Ogrun Bokur - Gobber Chef - Thrullg - Totem Hunter

Agata, Queen of Carnage - Alten Ashley - Brun & Lug - Dahlia & Skarath - Eilish Garrity - Gudrun - Hutchuk - Lanyssa - Maximus - Raluk - Rorsh & Brine - Saxon - Victor Pendrake - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines Meat Thresher

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Brutal Charge      (Edit)

  • If your charge movement was less than 3", your first attack is not considered a 'charge attack' and thus you won't get the Brutal Charge bonus.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Knockdown      (Edit)

  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Cavalry      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Mount Weapon
  • Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
    • Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
    • Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
    • If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
    • Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
  • Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
  • You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Movement

  • You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
    • The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
    • Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
  • If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
    • As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
    • On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.

Impact Attacks - The attack(s)

  • You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
  • If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
  • If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)

Impact Attacks - Other

  • You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.

Cavalry unit

  • If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
    • Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
    • Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
    • Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
    • Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)

Other interactions

  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
  • Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
    • Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
  • Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Bull Rush      (Edit)

  • You cannot slam your own models.
  • You cannot make impact attacks if you declare a slam.
  • If you have a unit with some models charging/running and some slamming, then what you do is:
    • Choose a model. Declare whether it's charging, running, or slamming.
    • If slamming, make the slam movement, slam attack, Follow Up movement, and your free melee attack before choosing the next model.
      You have to do everything before starting the next model because a slam combines your movement and action for that model.
    • If charging, make the charge movement and impact attacks normally.
    • Then do the rest of the models, then do charge attacks normally.
  • See also the general clarifications on slams.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Follow Up      (Edit)

  • If the target is killed by the slam damage, Follow Up cannot trigger because there is no model to move toward left on the table. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If you slam your target through smaller-based models, then you can only advance as far as those models - you can't walk through them.
  • Refer also to the clarifications about Slamming.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)