Cygnar Character Heavy Warjack
Triumph is the culmination of centuries of Cygnaran technological development. Made to the specifications of Major Markus “Siege” Brisbane, Triumph is armed with a massive cannon that can strike enemy warcasters with a sniper’s precision or rain explosive-tipped death down on the heads of opposing infantry and warjacks. Triumph is an artillerist’s dream and a nightmare to Cygnar’s foes.
|| 18 / 20|
|(★) 20 when you include the shield
|See also How to Read the statblock
- Heavy Barrel - 16" range, POW 15 gun
- Assault Shield - 1" reach, P+S 14 melee weapon.
- Shield - This 'weapon' is a shield that provides a cumulative +2 ARM bonus. The bonus doesn't apply if the weapon is crippled or if the damage originates in your back arc.
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Bond: (Siege) - If this model begins the game in Siege's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Siege and in their CTRL range, it gains boosted damage rolls
- Dual Attack - This model can make both melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
- Rapid Fire - This model can make one basic ranged attack during your Maintenance Phase.
- Shield Guard - Once per round, when a friendly model is directly hit by a non-spray ranged attack during your opponent's turn while within 3" of this model, you can choose to have this model directly hit instead. This model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects. This model cannot use Shield Guard while it is incorporeal, knocked down, or stationary.
- True Sight - This model ignores clouds for LOS, and ignores Stealth always.
2017.08 Gravediggers CID
- Cost went down by 2 points, gained Dual Attack, and it's gun gained Magical Damage.
- Lost Arcane Precision but gained True Sight instead.
- His bond with Siege used to give him Magic Damage, it now gives him boosted damage.
Thoughts on Triumph
Triumph in a nutshell
Triumph is a ranged specialist version of the Defender - it carries a shield rather than a hammer and in return gets an extra shot and Shield Guard and can shoot models with Stealth. If you are looking for an armored turret that can shield guard (as opposed to the rather less armored Hunter) it's what you are looking for.
Combos & Synergies
Triumph is pretty self contained and does what it does well. Little need for support, but shines as part of a team thanks to shield guard.
- Major Markus 'Siege' Brisbane - it's his jack. And boosting the damage rolls of the Rapid Fire is great.
- Can protect more fragile models while/until they can they do some damage. Basically, take it when you want to protect something that will likely be out in the open and don't mind investing in some extra ranged power. Pairing a Charger or Firefly with the Triumph would be the basic and quite versatile version of this tactic. Triumph can potentially force enemies to close in, so consider taking with melee oriented guards. You can also get a little more exotic and bring a Hunter for a tough dedicated sniper group, a Grenadier for a siege bombardment group, or a Minuteman for a strong one-two punch group. Adding an Avenger or Reliant makes a group that can be tough to approach.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- The rapid fire shot can't be boosted, making it a lot less effective than a simple ROF 2 would be or than Triumph appears. Of course it now costs little more than a Defender.
- Triumph is more expensive than a Defender despite having almost no melee game - and remember that the hammer hits harder than a gun so Triumph doesn't get the work done of a Defender.
- Two Hunters cost little more but have much more damage output (without Siege). Of course they don't have the toughness and don't have shield guard.
- He has one of the worst primary melee weapons on any heavy. Mostly because it's not a "real" primary weapon - Triumph doesn't have one of those.
Tricks & Tips
- Make use of that Shield Guard
- If you want a warjack that's basically a good turret then Triumph works.
- He's a great tool into Grymkin. The combination of True Sight and a magical gun stops Gremlin Swarms shutting down your scenario game.
- Thanks to dual attack, Triumph has the option of trampling forward to gain an effective extra 3" on his ranged attack.
- Slam a model to knock it down then shoot it.
Any caster can take him in:
Otherwise, he can only be taken in a theme if he is in Siege's battlegroup. Him and Siege can go in:
Other Cygnar models
Rules Clarification : Magical Damage (Edit)
- The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler (Edit)
- The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
- In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
- You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Bond (Edit)
- Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
- Bonds & Themes
- If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
- Exception: Battlegroup Controllers and Lesser Warlocks cannot take their bonded warjacks/warbeasts in theme forces (eg Kharybdis with Aiakos1) because BC & LW are specifically not warcasters/warlocks. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Dual Attack (Edit)
- Dual Attack only grants either:
- Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
- Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
- A model with Dual Attack can make the attacks in any order.
If they charge, they can do either melee or ranged first. If you charge and do ranged first, it doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with, however if you miss it must still be re-rolled vs a new random target.
- If the new random target is a friendly it will get the DEF bonus, since you can't be in melee with friendlies.
- You can target a model they are not in melee with with a ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
- This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
Rules Clarification : Rapid Fire (Edit)
- You can't boost Rapid Fire shots, since you can only boost during your activation. (Infernal Ruling)
- If a model with Rapid Fire has different Attack Types, it can choose which to Attack Type to use for the Maintenance Phase shot. (Infernal Ruling)
- If a model's attacks gain an effect "when this model activates" (such as the Blightbringer), then those effects won't apply to the Maintenance Phase shot. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Shield Guard (Edit)
- Shield Guard doesn't work vs spells.
- Since Shield Guard specifies "opponent's turn", it can't be used against stuff that shoots in your own turn (such as Watcher or Counterblast).
- The Shield Guard does not necessarily need to be in the attacker's LOS or range.
- The Shield Guarder is always hit even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed, such as Stealth. (Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than the Shield Guard moving the hit.) (Infernal Ruling)
- You shift all effects onto the shield guard, including stuff that triggers on "when this attack hits".
- When you use Shield Guard vs an AOE attack, the template moves too. Because, with reference to Apdx A, the hit 'moves' at Step 6 and the template placement is determined at Step 7.
- Shield Guard doesn't work vs Point Blank attacks. Because Point Blank attacks are melee attacks that are made using a ranged weapon.
- On the other hand, it will work vs Gunfighter attacks.
Rules Clarification : True Sight (Edit)
- You only ignore clouds for LOS. Models can still get the concealment bonus, trigger Prowl, etc from clouds. (Infernal Ruling)
- A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
- This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has True Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.