Trencher Long Gunners

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Cygnar Trencher Unit

Fluff text (copy from PP gallery)

Officer - Command Attachment

Fluff text (copy from PP gallery)

Basic Info[edit]

CID icon.jpg

This model's rules are currently under development
This model is part of the current CID cycle (What is CID?) and the information shown below does not necessarily represent its final ruleset.

This is a new model, and the information here is what was given at the start of the CID cycle

Trencher Long Gunners
T. Long Gunners.jpg
SPD 6
MAT 6
RAT 6
DEF 13
ARM 13
CMD 8
Unit Size 6/10
Cost 11/18
1.8 each
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Repeating Long Gun - 14" range, POW 10 gun
  • Trench Knife - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee weapon

Abilities[edit]

Entire Unit

  • Combined Ranged Attack - This unit can combine their ranged attacks to get a bonus on accuracy and damage.
  • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
  • Dual Shot - This model can make an additional ranged attack if it aims.

Officer only

  • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
  • Go to Ground (Minifeat) - Once per game, models in this unit can gain cover and immunity to blast damage and will not block LOS for one round. The effect on each model ends if that model moves or is placed or engaged.
  • Granted: Precision Fire - While this model is still alive and in formation all of the unit gains Precision Fire. (Template:Precision Fire)
  • Tactics: Marksman - The unit gains Marksman. (Marksman - When damaging a warjack/warbeast with a ranged attack, the attacker chooses which column/branch takes the damage. )


Thoughts on Trencher Long Gunners[edit]

Recent Release icon.jpg

Recent Release
This model/theme has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.

Feel free to remove this warning if you, personally, have a good level of gameplay experience with the model, have reviewed this article, and either you A) agree with the content 100% or B) for the parts you disagree with, you don't strongly disagree; and it's more a case of differing opinions between you and previous editors rather than incorrect content / bad advice.

Trencher Long Gunners in a nutshell[edit]

No discussion of these guys can start without comparing them to the original Long Gunners unit.

  • The unit without CA costs an extra 2 points, but gains Tough, +2 MAT, and +1 RAT/DEF/ARM/CMD.
  • The unit with CA costs an extra 3 points all together, but:
    • has the Go To Ground minifeat instead of Flawless Maneuvers minifeat,
    • has Precision Fire instead of Trained Fire as the Granted ability,
    • has Marksman instead of Practiced Maneuvers as the Tactics ability,
    • the Trencher CA's stats are better than the other CA's, as you'd expect, and
    • lastly, the basic Long Gunners get a standard bearer, so their cost works out as 1.7 points each but the Trenchers cost 2.1 points each.

Overall, the Trencher unit with CA are better at dealing damage, while the original Long Gunners are better at picking out their targets. But perhaps the most important thing is that the Trencher Long Gunners are, indeed, Trenchers, and so can benefit from the plethora of Trencher-only buffs.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Placeholder.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • No Dig In, and no Practiced Maneuvers to help them with positioning - consider Commander_Anson_Hitch to solve this issue.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

Placeholder.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Originally released in the Trencher CID (2017.06)

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Cygnar models[edit]

CygnarLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Jakes2 - Darius - Kraye - Sloan - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Sturgis1 - Constance - Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Maddox - Siege1 - Siege2
C
Y
G
N
A
R
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Journeyman - Jakes1 - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Marshals Runewood - Strangeways - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA
Light warjacks Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy warjacks Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Gun Mages - Mechaniks - Long Gunners - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - T. Cannon Crew - T. Chain Gun Crew - T. Commandos - T. Express Team - T. Long Gunners - T. Infantry - T. Mechaniks
Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team

Ranking Officer CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch

Solos Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Captain Adept - Journeyman Warcaster - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - T. Buster - T. Master Gunner - T. Patrol Dog - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Runewood - Strangeways - Maxwell Finn - Anson Hitch - Harlan Versh - Jakes1 - Gwen Keller - Laddermore - Harrison Gibbs - Viktor Pendrake
Battle Engines & Structures Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse
 
Theme Forces
Storm Division - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Gravediggers
Merc cygnar.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Ashlynn - Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten
Requires a 2+ caster game
C
Y
G
N
A
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Gastone Crosse - Rorsh & Brine - Brun Cragback & Lug
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Cygnar army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Horgenhold Artillery - Forge Guard - Ogrun Assault Corps - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Alexia1 - Sam & the Devil Dogs - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia - Bradigan - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone - Gorman - Hutchuk - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Dougal - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Savio - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Taryn - Thor
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Combined Ranged Attack      (Edit)

  • CRA cannot target models in melee, except for huge-based models.
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Dual Shot      (Edit)

  • You can't Aim if you start your activation in melee. So you will never benefit from Dual Shot, even if you have Gunfighter and/or your squad mates disengage you before you start your Combat Action.

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.

Rules Clarification : Go to Ground      (Edit)

Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    3. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    4. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • Units
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted     (Edit)

  • Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
  • Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.

Template:RC Precision Fire

Rules Clarification : Marksman and/or Precision Strike     (Edit)

  • These abilities do not get around Retribution Force Fields. The attacker's ability assigns it to a column, and Force Field reassigns it.
  • Versus a Colossal or Gargantuan, you don't get to choose which grid is damaged. That is still governed by which Firing Arc the attacker is standing in.
  • Marksman vs Death Ward (and similar) (Edit)
    • When both the attacker and defender have an ability that lets them choose the column that gets damaged, the attacker gets to choose.
    • The reason is, the attacker is the Active Player so his ability resolves first. And part of resolving Marskman is actually marking the damage. So by the time the Inactive Player gets to resolve Death Ward, it's moot.


Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
To edit the CA's tagged abilities, Click here