Trencher Chain Gun Crew

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

This server will go offline in September 2018. Please migrate to our new server, Warmachine University
For more info on why we're moving to a new server, check out the Brief History section on the new main page, and/or listen to episode 45 of the LOS podcast
If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot.
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.


Trencher Chain Gun Crew
Cygnar Weapon Crew Trencher Unit

"We may not have a shortage of enemies but at least we have enough bullets for them" - Trencher gunner Hank Larsen

Basic Info[edit]

Trencher Chain Gun Crew
Trencher Chain Gun.jpg
SPD 2
MAT 6
RAT 6
DEF 13
ARM 13
Unit Size 2
Cost 4
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Gunner
    • Chain Gun - 10" range, POW 10 gun with 2-4 shots
      • Covering Fire (★ Attack) - Place a wall template anywhere completely within this weapon's RNG and this model's LOS, ignoring intervening models. A model entering or ending its activation in a template suffers a damage roll with POW equal to the POW of this weapon. The template remains in play for one round. If this model is destroyed or removed from play, immediately remove the template from play.
    • Trench Knife - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee weapon
  • Grunts
    • Military Rifle - 10" range, POW 11 gun.
    • Trench Knife - As above

Abilities[edit]

  • Entire unit
    • Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
    • Dig In (★ Action) - This model gains cover, it does not suffer blast damage, and does not block LOS. The model remains dug in until it moves, is placed, or is engaged. It can begin the game dug in.
    • Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
  • Gunner only
    • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
    • Man-Sized - This model is on a large base, but is treated as being on a small one.
    • Mobile Artillery - When this model moves, it gains 1" additional movement for each Grunt nearby.
    • Take Up - If this model is killed you may instead remove a Grunt within 1". Remove any effects on this model, and apply any effects that were on the old grunt.
  • Grunt only
    • He has better SPD than the Gunner, but he's still slow.
    • Ammo Feeder (★ Action) - While B2B with the Gunner, the Gunner gains boosted damage vs infantry.

Recent Changes[edit]

2017.08 Cygnar update

Cost dropped to 4 (from 5)


Thoughts on Trencher Chain Gun Crew[edit]

Trencher Chain Gun Crew in a nutshell[edit]

The Trencher Chain Gun is a light artillery piece that specialises in taking out infantry and laying down walls of covering fire to block their advance.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • It's great when there are a lot of infantry on the table - but strictly average against anything else.
  • The Ammo Feeder action works only against warrior models; if you want to hunt warjacks, warbeasts, or battle engines with Trenchers, stick with the Trencher Cannon Crew.
  • The Cyclone, though costs way more, has longer range, and higher POW, working against tougher infantries too.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Deploy it where you want it and then lay down your covering fire
  • Watch out for RFP abilities, that target the Gunner - in that case, there will be no Take Up by the Grunt.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Cygnar models[edit]

CygnarLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Jakes2 - Darius - Kraye - Sloan - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Sturgis1 - Constance - Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Maddox - Siege1 - Siege2
C
Y
G
N
A
R
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Journeyman - Jakes1 - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Marshals Runewood - Strangewayes - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA
Light warjacks Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy warjacks Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Gun Mages - Mechaniks - Long Gunners - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - T. Cannon Crew - T. Chain Gun Crew - T. Commandos - T. Express Team - T. Long Gunners - T. Infantry - T. Mechaniks
Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team

Ranking Officer CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch

Solos Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Captain Adept - Journeyman Warcaster - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - T. Buster - T. Master Gunner - T. Patrol Dog - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Runewood - Strangewayes - Maxwell Finn - Anson Hitch - Harlan Versh - Jakes1 - Bastian Falk - Gwen Keller - Laddermore - Harrison Gibbs - Viktor Pendrake
Battle Engines & Structures Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse
 
Theme Forces
Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Merc cygnar.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Ashlynn - Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten
Requires a 2+ caster game
C
Y
G
N
A
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Gastone Crosse - Rorsh & Brine - Brun Cragback & Lug
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Cygnar army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Horgenhold Artillery - Forge Guard - Ogrun Assault Corps - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Alexia1 - Sam & the Devil Dogs - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia - Bradigan - Eilish Garrity - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone - Gorman - Hutchuk - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Dougal - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Savio - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Taryn - Thor
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Covering Fire      (Edit)

  • Covering Fire templates do not inherit the Damage Type(s) of the weapon that put it into play.
    • For instance, if you put Explosivo on the warjack, the Covering Fire remains non-magical.
    • However, some versions of Covering Fire already do a specific Damage Type (notably, the Manticore). In this case, the Covering Fire does that Damage Type and no other Type.
  • Hazard templates and "non-hazard damage" templates (Edit)
    • Some templates are defined as 'Hazards' but some, like Creeping Barrage, are not.
    • Damage templates from spells:
      • Spells which leave a template and are not described as a hazard will do magical damage to models that walk around in them. (Example: Razor Wall)
      • Spells which leave a template and are hazards will not do magical damage to models that walk around in them. Instead, they do whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
      • (Infernal Ruling)
    • A model which is "placed" also counts as "entering" an area, so the hazard will damage any one who teleports/spawns into it, too.
    • If two hazard templates are overlapping, a model that enters them will take two points of damage.
    • Damage from a hazard is not from an attack (so won't trigger stuff like Vengeance).
    • Damage from a hazard is not considered to be from the weapon/spell that originally put it into play (so it doesn't gain the Damage Type or any other special rules of the weapon/spell).
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.

Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Man-Sized      (Edit)

  • Despite being mounted on a large base, the model counts as a small-base for any and every rule. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This includes Ranking Officers being able to join them. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This includes abilities that only work vs small-based models (such as Consume, Trampling over them, etc). Those work just fine vs Man-Sized models.
  • When drawing LOS it blocks LOS across the full width of its base (some players think you should swap it for a small proxy base when trying to draw LOS past the edge of its base ... don't do that).
  • Since it only counts as a small-based model, it only blocks LOS to other small-based models. You can see medium and larger bases through it just fine.

Rules Clarification : Mobile Artillery - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Take Up      (Edit)

  • The model taken off the table is effectively killed by Take Up, not the original attack, so it will stop abilities like Berserk and Killing Spree. (Locked thread)

Rules Clarification : Ammo Feeder - None yet. (Edit)