Trample

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search
Power Attack (Edit)
Head-Butt
Power Strike Category: Colossals & Category:Gargantuans only
Slam Category: Slam
Sweep Category: Colossals & Category:Gargantuans only
Throw Category: Throw
Trample Category: Trample


A Trample is a Power Attack. As such, most players don't understand how to use the rules correctly, when is a good time to use them, and don't use them as often as they should. This article hopes to change some of that!

A Trample is what it sounds like - the attacking model goes stampeding over all the models in its path, making attacks against them in the process.

Normally only heavy warjacks/warbeasts, colossals, and gargantuans can declare tramples. They do it as a Power Attack, and as such have to spend a focus or be forced for fury. Occassionally specific models are given Trample as a special rule - a list of those can be found at Category:Trample

It terms of rules, it is best to think of Trample in three distinct parts:

  1. Trample move
  2. Trample attacks
  3. Free Strikes vs the Trampler

1.Trample move[edit]

This part of the rule is all about the attacking model. First you declare you're performing a trample, choose a direction, then go for it!

How to do a trample move[edit]

  1. Declare your trample direction and turn your model to face this direction.
    • You can pick directions behind you!
  2. You may move up to your current SPD + 3" in this direction.
    • Rough terrain affects you as normal.
  3. Determine whether there is room for your model at the end of your trample:
    • If you would end up overlapping a model, then you have to "rewind" back along the path until you're no longer overlapping. Worst case scenario, you may end up not moving from your original position at all.
    • If you discover there is not enough room to finish moving where you want to finish, but you don't want to "rewind", you want to pick a different direction entirely ... too bad! That's not how the rules work.

Things which stop a trampling model's movement[edit]

  • Obstacles and obstructions.
  • Medium or larger-based models. Unless you have some way of moving through them while trampling, such as Blade Rush.
  • Getting to your max move distance.
    • If, as mentioned above, you don't have sufficient movement to move completely past a model (i.e. you'd end up overlapping it), then that model effectively stops your movement.

After the movement[edit]

Once you've finished this movement, you trigger any "end of movement" effects (such as Counter Charge) before moving onto the attacks.

2. Trample attack(s)[edit]

This part of the rule is still about the attacking model. Now we smash all the small-based models!

  • You only get to make attacks vs small-based models that you passed over.
  • If you have an ability that lets you make tramples over medium-and-larger based models (such as Veil of Mists) then you don't get to make trample attacks against them, but they do get to make free strikes.
    • Unless you have a rule that specifically says otherwise, such as Blade Rush.
  • Any abilities you have that are based on distance from a killed model, such as the Soul Taker, are based on your final position after trampling.
    • In other words, you don't collect souls from every model you trample, only those near your final trample position.

3. Making free strikes vs the Trampler[edit]

Now we resolve any attacks the trampler suffered as he stumbled through a wall of swords.

  • Any models that you didn't trample over, but you did pass through their melee range, now get a free strike.
  • Small-based models that were trampled over don't get to make free strikes. Ever.
  • If you have an ability that lets you make tramples over medium-and-larger based models (such as Veil of Mists) then you don't get to make trample attacks against them, but they do get to make free strikes.


Other[edit]

When should I use it?[edit]

It is an option which needs to be used with some care, as the 'jack/'beast is unintuitively quite vulnerable during the trample. It's entirely possible for it to end up wrecked/dead at the end of the action if its trample direction is not chosen carefully.

Also, since you need a clear "landing spot", it can be very easy for your opponent block tramples simply by filling in the area with widely-spaced models. In fact, for huge-based models it is almost impossible to trample.

Some models can trample for free - this is nice. Some models can trample for free and still make ranged attacks afterwards (such as the Gun Carriage). These models almost always trample, for the extra 3" movement with (almost) no drawbacks.

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Most of what is in this section is a recap of what you just read. The only reason they're called "Clarifications" is because so many players simply don't know the various Power Attack rules!

(Edit)
Trample Movement

  • You don't need LOS to your trample direction.
  • You cannot change your facing after finishing a trample. Refer main rulebook.
  • Unless you have something that allows you to ignore contacting the obstacle or obstruction (such as Flight), your trample will stop when contacting an obstacle or obstruction during a slam and/or trample. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If the trampler's Movement system becomes crippled (for instance by an Acid Cloud), this will not stop the trample. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Free strikes take place after the trampler has finished its movement, not during the movement. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If there is insufficient room to fit your base on the other side of the model, you have to "rewind" along the trample path ... you don't get to pick a different trample direction that suits you better! Yes, this does mean that in a worst-case scenario you might end up trampling 0" !
    • Thankfully, in Mk3, you can premeasure to avoid these issues before committing to the Trample direction.

Contact

  • You have to move completely over & past a model for them to be trampled, merely contacting them is not enough .
  • You can trample over medium-and-larger based models, if you have some way of moving through them. (For instance, you have Flight or they have Incorporeal.)
    • Note that, even though you "trample over" those medium-and-larger models, they don't suffer trample attacks and they do get to make free strikes against the trampler.

Attacks

  • Even though, at your final position, your attack target is out of LOS and melee range you get an attack anyway because the Trample rules override that. (Infernal Ruling)
  • All abilities/buffs/etc involved with the attacks, both the trampler and the free strikers, are based on the models' final positions (except as noted otherwise in the core Trample rules for Shield Walls etc, where the contact point becomes important). (Infernal Ruling)
  • So, for instance:
    • If the trampler contacts a model and ends in its front arc, it won't get the back strike bonus (regardless of whether it 'trampled into' its back. And vice versa. (Infernal Ruling)

Free strikes vs Trampler

  • Resolve free strikes after the trample attacks.
  • If a free striker has some sort of 'directly away/towards' movement effect on their weapon (such as Critical Smite) then the direction you move the Trampler is based on the final model positions.
    • For instance, you trample past someone with Critical Smite, end up behind them, and when they smite you via the free strike you'll end up further behind them.

Other

  • If the trampler has a 'models within [X]" ... ' ability (such as Ruin's Soul Taker, or anyone's Dark Shroud) then it will only apply to models within [X]" of the trampler's final trample location (not every model they trampled through).
  • Trampling with a flying model (Edit)
    • Flight allows you to trample "over" medium- and larger-bases.
    • Although you trample "over" them, you don't get to make a trample attack vs them and you don't ignore their free strikes. Refer the core rulebook.
      • Unless, of course, you have an exception like Blade Rush.


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Trample Power Attack      (Edit)

  • Sometimes this ability is given to a model type that can't normally trample.
    • If that model is a warjack or warbeast (such as the light warjack Shrike) then it needs to pay a focus/fury to do a trample.
    • If that model is not a warjack/beast (such as the Battle Engine Gun Carriage) then it can trample for free.
  • See also the Trample rules recap - there are several Infernal Rulings that we have not repeated here.