Throw

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search
SamePageIcon.jpg

You may be looking for one of these:

  • Thrown - the weapon ability that adds the model's STR to the ranged damage.
  • Throw - A recap of the Throw rules.
  • Category:Throw - A list of special abilities/weapons that can trigger a Throw.
Power Attack (Edit)
Head-Butt
Power Strike Category: Colossals & Category:Gargantuans only
Slam Category: Slam
Sweep Category: Colossals & Category:Gargantuans only
Throw Category: Throw
Trample Category: Trample


A Throw can be caused by either a Power Attack or as the special effect from a spell/weapon. Regardless of the cause, the effect on the thrown model is the same.

Throwing (Power Attack)[edit]

Any warjack or warbeast can make a Throw Power Attack, if it has at least one non-crippled weapon that has the Open Fist quality.

Choose a target[edit]

  1. The range of the attack is equal to the weapon's melee range.
    • Chain Strike does not increase the range, because you do not apply weapon special rules to Power Attacks (unless they specifically reference Power Attacks, like Hard Head does). (Locked Thread)
  2. You cannot target a model on a larger base.

Try to pick up the target[edit]

  1. Make a melee attack. If it misses, nothing happens.
    • Your activation continues, but you're pretty much limited to just buying additional basic melee attacks.
  2. If it hits, you need to make a STR check.
  3. Both models roll a d6 and add their STR.
    • If the attacker has two or more Open Fists, they roll 2d6.
    • For a huge-based model, it doesn't matter if the Open Fists are in the same Firing Arc and/or whether the target is in the melee range of both fists. The rule is simply: If you have two fists, you get the buff.
  4. If the attacker's is equal or higher than the target, he is successful.

Throw directly away[edit]

  1. If you choose to throw it directly away, the target is thrown a distance equal to half the attacker's STR.
  2. That is the 'Point of Impact'. There is no deviation roll required. (Infernal Ruling)
  3. Now refer to the rules for "Being Thrown", below
  4. After resolving the throw your activation continues, but you're pretty much limited to just buying additional basic melee attacks.

Throw at something[edit]

  1. If you choose to throw it at something, you need to pick a new target.
    • Because throwing models at other models is considered still a melee attack, if a model "cannot be targeted by melee attacks" then you can't throw anyone at it. (Infernal Ruling)
  2. You can pick any model, of any base size, in the attacker's LOS.
    • Ignore the soon-to-be-thrown model when determining LOS.
  3. Check if the new target is within range.
    • Your max range is equal to half the attacker's STR.
    • The range is measured between the thrown model and the new target. Not between the attacker and the new target.
  4. Out of range:
    • If it's outside the range, then your 'Point of Impact' is at your max range, on a line directly between the attacker and the target model. Not between the thrown model and the target.
  5. In range:
    • Make a melee attack against the new target.
    • If this attack hits, then move the thrown model directly towards the new target. The 'Point of Impact' is where it contacts the new target.
    • If this attack misses, roll a d3 deviation, from the centre of the new target's base. Now move the thrown model directly towards this deviation point. The 'Point of Impact' is where it either contacts the new target, or reaches the deviation point [verification needed]
  6. Now refer to the rules for "Being Thrown", below
  7. After resolving the throw your activation continues, but you're pretty much limited to just buying additional basic melee attacks.


Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
There a few unresolved rules interactions with throwing models at other models. Refer to the Rules Clarifications section at the bottom of the page

Throwing (Other)[edit]

There are several weapons/spells that cause the target to be thrown, you can review them at Category: Throw.

When this occurs, the weapon/spell will always say what direction the target is thrown (normally "directly away") and how far it is thrown (normally "d6 inches").

So, the main differences between this type of Throw and a "Power Attack Throw" that players get tripped up on are:

  • You can throw larger based models.
  • The throw distance has no correlation to your STR.
  • This type of throw is not a Power Attack, so won't benefit from anything that specifically boosts Power Attacks (such as Borka1's feat).

Being Thrown[edit]

Finally, we get to the interesting part! Now we need to move the thrown model, work out whether any other models are hit by the thrown model, and apply damage appropriately.

How to move a "thrown" model[edit]

  1. Move the thrown model directly towards the final 'Point of Impact', as determined above.
    • The throw movement is not slowed down by rough terrain.
    • The thrown model suffers damaging effects of hazards it enters and/or passes through (such as acid clouds).
  2. You stop moving the thrown model if it contacts an obstruction, or a model that is equal- or larger-based.
    • The thrown model goes straight "over" obstacles and models with a smaller base size.
  3. If it's final position is on top of another model or an obstacle, use the Rule of Least Disturbance to jiggle the models into legal positions. All those models count as being contacted by the thrown model.

Damage (etc) on the "thrown" model[edit]

  1. After the throw movement, the thrown model is knocked down.
    • If it can't be knocked down, but activates later on the same turn (ie it was thrown by a friendly model) then it must forfeit either movement or action.
    • If, after the throw movement, it gains immunity to knockdown then it won't be knocked down. For instance it was thrown into a No Sleeping on the Job aura, or into B2B with a Defensive Line model.
  2. The thrown model suffers a damage roll equal to:
    • Throw (Power Attack) : POW is equal to the attacker's current STR.
    • Throw (Other) : POW is as per the weapon/spell's text description.
    • Add 1d6 if the model was stopped by an obstruction or a model with an equal- or larger-base size. (Also known as "Contact damage").
    • Throw damage is boostable.
  3. If the model is thrown off the edge of terrain and falls 1" or more, it suffers a second damage roll, fall damage, with a POW = 12 +2d6 (+1d6 for every 2" it falls, excluding the first 2").
    • If the thrown-and-falling model contacts an equal- or smaller-based model, then they take fall damage too (as well as the Collateral damage they're already taking).
    • If the thrown-and-falling model contacts a larger-based model, the larger model is unaffected.

Damage (etc) on the "contacted" model(s)[edit]

Contacted models suffer "Collateral" damage. This depends on their base size relative to the thrown model:

  1. For contacted models with an smaller base size, which the thrown model landed "on":
    • Their position is jiggled as per the Rule of Least Disturbance.
    • They are knocked down.
    • They suffer a Collateral damage roll with a POW equal to:
      • Throw (Power Attack) : POW is equal to the attacker's current STR.
      • Throw (Other) : POW is as per the weapon/spell's text description.
      • Collateral damage is 'not boostable.
  2. For contacted models with an equal base size, which the thrown model stopped when it contacted:
    • They are knocked down
    • They suffer a Collateral damage roll as above.
  3. For contacted models with a larger base size, which the thrown model stopped when it contacted:
    • They don't suffer anything.

Collateral damage is simultaneous with the thrown model's damage. Also, collateral damage is not considered to be from an enemy attack and will not trigger stuff like Vengeance.

Other[edit]

When should I use a Throw?[edit]

Throwing is a moderately useful power attack. Good times to use it are:

  • Throws are very useful for setting models up for the kill, as the thrown model is knocked down and become easy targets for a turn.
  • Aimed Throws are great for knocking down other models and setting them up for a kill. Use model "A" to throw "B" at "C", then proceed to kill "C".
  • They're a great way of getting yourself out of melee combat with something that you can't hurt.
  • They're a decent way of clearing a scenario zone.

Other tips:

  • Don't rely on getting any collateral damage unless you throw the model into a large, tight-packed group of enemies.
  • However, you should definitely throw the enemy at any nearby obstructions you can find (if you have the chance).
  • If both you and the other model are standing directly next to a large wall, throwing them into it is officially mean.

Drawbacks:

  • A Slam is better if you want to deal raw damage, as it has a better chance of hitting multiple models (whereas a thrown model will go sailing over their heads).
    • But slam moves are very constrained (you have to move directly at the target)
    • Also throws can be aimed (and slams can't) which is a plus in their favour.

Rules Clarifications[edit]

  • Throw ( Edit )
    • See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
    • There are currently no rules clarifications for 'normal' throws, although there are a few for Power Attack Throws.

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
  • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
  • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
  • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.