This theme force is used to field the forces hired by Magnus to overthrow the throne of Cygnar.
Theme Force Restrictions
A The Kingmaker's Army army can only include Mercenary models from the following list:
Theme Force Bonuses
- Gain access to the Cygnar units listed above. These units count as Mercenary models when taken in this theme, and can include attachments.
- For every full 20 points of units in your army, you can add one solo to the army free of cost.
- Warrior model/units gain Feign Death. (Feign Death - While knocked down this model can't be targetted by shooting or spells.)
- Greygore Boomhowler & Co. gains Ambush. (Ambush - This unit may choose not to deploy normally, and instead be deployed completely within 3" of an edge of the board (excluding the back of your opponent's deployment zone) on any turn after the first. )
Thoughts on this Theme Force
The Kingmaker's Army in a nutshell
The Kingmaker's Army was the second theme force ever released and is still strong as of this writing though it is showing its age and has fallen out of fashion in favor of Irregulars. It lacks utility solos and options for Magic Weapon but makes up for it with the ability to bring 4 different Cygnar units with their attachments and army-wide Feign Death.
Theme's strengths & Playing to them
Trencher Infantry are some of the best infantry in the game - and mercenary warjacks are great value, with smoke walls protecting them as they go in. Damiano is a popular pick in Kingmaker's because Surefoot makes Trenchers DEF 15 and immune to knock down, and when paired with Cautious Advance, makes them blast immune and DEF 19 against ranged and magic. A full 15 Trenchers under Surefoot can anchor the center of almost any table like few other units.
Boomhowlers are decent ambushing units, believe it or not. They cause problems and force your opponent to divert resources to kill them.
Theme's weaknesses and Mitigating them
- Pathfinder is absent from all units, except Croe's Cutthroats. This usually doesn't matter, but is a problem other themes do not have to deal with.
- Kell, Orin and Croe are the only magic attacks available to the army besides the caster, which makes it very weak into Cryx. There isn't anything you can do about it, either.
- The mercenary ARM fixers like Ragman and Gorman are not allowed.
- The theme discourages large battlegroups, which means Magnus2 doesn't get all the free solos he'd like to go with Feign Death.
- Trenchers are the major perk in this theme, but are also allowed in Llaelese Resistance.
- The theme list composition rules are a bit outdated as only solos can be taken for free and not UA's.
Everyone takes Kell, Orin and Stannis as their free solos. Most people take Trenchers, especially if you have Damiano. Macbain should use Countermeasure on Rangers and feat on them to send them very far into your opponent's face, and make his Galleon RAT 7. Magnus2 should bring a Buccaneer to knock him down on his feat turn. Magnus1 might see some use out of Snipe on Trencher Long Gunners and Blur on Trenchers. Bart should probably be in The Irregulars, but he likes Rangers with his Galleon just fine.
Aside from the Cygnar options, 2 units of Steelhead Halberdiers are always solid. Croe's and Boomhowlers are good if taken with a purpose in mind.
Casters of Note
- Damiano with Trenchers is extremely strong, and so he remains the one caster with a very compelling reason to still use this theme.
- Magnus2 may still see play in Kingmaker's due to Feign Death and a Trencher cloud wall, but he has more tools and can run a larger battlegroup with no penalty in Irregulars, so it's a tough sell.
- Bart and Macbain are strictly better in Irregulars.
- Magnus1 isn't popular in any theme, but really wants threat extension and ARM debuffs not available in this theme more than he wants Blur on Trenchers and Snipe on Trencher Long Gunners.
- The Kingmaker's Army
- Rangers can be included in Kingmakers. The NQ preview had an error. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
| Mercenaries and Partisans
- When you take a Partisan Mercenary, it counts as your Faction. However this doesn't increase the number of total mercenaries allowed. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If the Partisan Mercenary is explicitedly listed as one of the models you can take in the theme (such as Cephalyx in Cryx's Black Industries theme), then you can take the full FA plus your "up to one Merc" allotment. (Infernal Ruling)
- Sometimes a specific Mercenary/Minion model/unit will gain a theme benefit of "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model" (such as Greygore in Kriel Company). In this case, the model/unit might or might not count against your "up to one merc" limit:
- If that Merc is in the list of models explicitly allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- Partisans will count towards any relevant free points. For instance, Nyss will count twoards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- Partisans can be eligible to be taken as free choices. For instance, Erysis1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary Warjacks, Warbeasts, & Companions
- As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
Bonus - One [X] gains [Y]
- If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
- An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
- In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
- You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
- ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Theme Forces, free models, and Specialists/ADR in Steamroller
- You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points
- If a unit counts towards your free points, then all attachments count too; regardless of whether the attachment is the same model type. For instance:
Theme - The Bones of Orboros
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Call of the Wild
- When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
- Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - The Faithful Masses
- A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Theme - The Ghost Fleet
- The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Theme - Kriel Company
- Greygore/Dannon count against your "up to one Minion unit" allowance. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Llaelese Resistance
- It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Theme - Slaughter Fleet Raiders
- The Devil's Shadows Mutineers count against your "up to one Mercenary unit" allowance. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Clockwork Legions
- If you attach a small-based model to a medium-based unit, it is no longer a medium-based unit and won't benefit from Vengeance.
- However, it will regain Vengeance when the small base dies. Furthermore, the small base dying will trigger Vengeance.
- (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Feign Death (Edit)
- "Cannot be targeted" is not the same as "cannot be hit". You can still be hit by AOEs, Sprays, etc that target someone else.
- You cannot use Gunfighter vs models Feigning Death, because Gunfighter is still a ranged attack.
- However, you can use Point Blank, because that lets the attacker make a melee attack with a ranged weapon.
Rules Clarification : Ambush (Edit)
- Whether a model/unit is going to use Ambush or not needs to be declared before either player begins deploying models.
- Ambush occurs last in Step 5 of the Control Phase. You cannot use Apparition on a model that Ambushes. (Infernal Ruling)
Models in this Theme Force
Refer to Category: The Kingmaker's Army