Theme - Legions of Dawn

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Crucible Guard CID is now live     (Edit)  

Theme - Legions of Dawn
Retribution Theme Force

The proud Dawnguard soldiers of House Nyarr represent one of the greatest assets in the Retribution of Scyrah’s arsenal. These oath-sworn warriors boast martial traditions stretching back millennia and make up the elite soldiery of the Retribution. Bearing the most advanced weapons and armor of their Great Military House, they are implacable warriors devoted to House Nyarr and through it the Retribution’s cause.

Theme Rules[edit]

Theme Force Restrictions[edit]

A Legions of Dawn army can only include Retribution models from the following list:

Allowed models Which includes
Last updated 2017.09
Retribution warcasters Too many to bother listing
Non-character warjacks
Note: Character warjacks can be taken, but only if bonded with their favourite warcaster (Cankerworm with Asphyxious, etc)
Too many to bother listing
Dawnguard models/units
Nyarr models/units
  • None yet
The following specific models:
Up to one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit

Theme Force Bonuses[edit]

  • You may include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Retribution.
    • These models can be included even if they have the Partisan [Retribution] rule.
    • Mercenary units in this army can include attachments.
  • For every full 20 points of Dawnguard model/units in your army, you can add one Dawnguard CA, or a small-based Retribution solo to the army free of cost.
    • Free models don't count towards the 20 points.
  • While controlled by a Jack Marshal, Retribution warjacks gain Flank [Dawnguard]. (Flank [Dawnguard] - This model gains +2 to hit and +d6 damage for melee attacks vs enemy models in the melee range of other Dawnguard models.)
  • Your deployment zone is increased by 2".

Thoughts on this Theme Force[edit]

Legions of Dawn in a nutshell[edit]

A nice, combined-arms theme for your Dawnguards - mainly for Sentinels, but all other models can greatly benefit from the extended deployment zone. The flanking theme bonus is also real nice, and with proper combination you can turn even a pillow-fisted light into a force of destruction. The easiest way to unlock the 40 pts threshold is to get 2 Sentinels+UA, gaining one of the attachment and a Scyir for free.

Theme weaknesses & Mitigating them[edit]

  • The Scyir is a crucial model in your army - lose him, and you'll lose the flank bonus too. Apart of that, this theme is pretty solid.

List Building tips[edit]

  • The Scyir is a linchpin model and you'll probably never consider this theme without him. It will give you movement flexibility with Tactician for your infantry (and cavalry), and so far he is the only model, which helps you triggering the Flank bonus for your warjacks.
    • Being such an important model, if you put an expensive warjack under his care, you'll just draw an even bigger bulls-eye on him. Stick to cheap myrmidons, like the Aspis, or the Griffon.
  • Dawnguard Sentinels - of all the Dawnguard units they have the longest melee range to trigger Flank. The 2" extra deployment also helps you with an alpha strike.
  • Arcanist_Mechanik - Concentrated power, along with the free focus from Empower on a marshalled warjack can be pure evil. If you stack Flank, Concentrated Power, Empower and either Hurry or Crush on lowly Griffon, you can have anything between a MAT8 P+S19+4D6 on the charge (plus an extra attack with one less die), or charging for free with MAT10 P+S17+4D6, and using up to 2 FOCUS to buy 2 extra P+S15 pseudo-weapon master attacks. All that from an 8-point jack, from a possibly free solo, and 6 pts of repair crew that you will take anyway.

Casters of Note[edit]

  • Magister Helynna - Deceleration is all that takes to deliver your Sentinels or Destors to the enemy, and you can add an additional layer of protection with your feat.
  • Issyria, Sibyl of Dawn - great movement boost with Crusader's Call, and another ARM boost. Her feat ensures you some protection from bad dice rolls.
  • Vyros1 and Vyros2 - yet 2 more casters with ARM booster, with great spells for their battelgroup too. The prime incarnation's feat extends the Flank bonus for your entire army, while the epic incarnation's veteran bonus will make your hits all the more deadlier (goes for the ones you deliver under Vengeance too).


Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Flank      (Edit)

  • You can gain the Flank bonus vs knocked down/stationary models (refer to the latest Errata).
  • Melee range is measured from your front arc so you cannot trigger Flank on models in your back arc.
  • The target enemy doesn't need to be in the Flanker's LOS, just their melee range.
    • Most of the time if something is in your melee range then it is so close it's in your LOS too, and the difference is meaningless.
    • But if you have 2" reach and you're jammed up in B2B with a bunch of closely-spaced enemies, you'll find your LOS is blocked. In this case, you might be able to trigger Flank on an enemy model that is "hiding" behind that front row of jammers, even though you don't have LOS to it.
  • Flank is not tied to a specific weapon, so Mount attacks and Power Attacks can benefit as well.

Rules Clarification: Theme Forces     (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

Mercenaries and Partisans
  • When you take a Partisan Mercenary, it counts as your Faction. However this doesn't increase the number of total mercenaries allowed. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If the Partisan Mercenary is explicitedly listed as one of the models you can take in the theme (such as Cephalyx in Cryx's Black Industries theme), then you can take the full FA plus your "up to one Merc" allotment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Sometimes a specific Mercenary/Minion model/unit will gain a theme benefit of "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model" (such as Greygore in Kriel Company). In this case, the model/unit might or might not count against your "up to one merc" limit:
    • If that Merc is in the list of models explicitly allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
  • Partisans will count towards any relevant free points. For instance, Nyss will count twoards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Partisans can be eligible to be taken as free choices. For instance, Erysis1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
  • Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
  • The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)

Mercenary Warjacks, Warbeasts, & Companions

  • As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)

Bonus - One [X] gains [Y]

  • If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
    • In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
  • You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
    • ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.

Theme Forces, free models, and Specialists/ADR in Steamroller

  • You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
  • If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.

Unit Attachments & free points

Theme - The Bones of Orboros

  • Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)

Theme - Call of the Wild

  • When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
  • Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Theme - The Faithful Masses

  • A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)

Theme - The Ghost Fleet

  • The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.

Theme - Kriel Company

  • Greygore/Dannon count against your "up to one Minion unit" allowance. (Infernal Ruling)

Theme - Llaelese Resistance

  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)

Theme - Scourge of the Broken Coast

Theme - Slaughter Fleet Raiders

  • The Devil's Shadows Mutineers count against your "up to one Mercenary unit" allowance. (Infernal Ruling)

Theme - Clockwork Legions

  • If you attach a small-based model to a medium-based unit, it is no longer a medium-based unit and won't benefit from Vengeance.
  • However, it will regain Vengeance when the small base dies. Furthermore, the small base dying will trigger Vengeance.
  • (Infernal Ruling)

Models in this Theme Force[edit]

Refer to Category: Legions of Dawn

Other Themes[edit]

Theme Forces (Edit)
Cygnar Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division (Edit)
Protectorate of Menoth The Creator's Might - Exemplar Interdiction - The Faithful Masses - Guardians of the Temple (Edit)
Khador Armored Korps - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter (Edit)
Cryx Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders (Edit)
Retribution of Scyrah Defenders of Ios - Forges of War - Legions of Dawn - Shadows of the Retribution (Edit)
Mercenaries Hammer Strike - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - Operating Theater - The Talion Charter - Llaelese Resistance (Edit)
Convergence of Cyriss Destruction Initiative - Clockwork Legions (Edit)
Crucible Guard Magnum Opus - Prima Materia (Edit)
Trollbloods Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North (Edit)
Circle Orboros Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt (Edit)
Skorne Winds of Death - Disciples of Agony - Imperial Warhost - Masters of War - The Exalted (Edit)
Legion of Everblight Children of the Dragon - Oracles of Annihilation - Primal Terrors - Ravens of War (Edit)
Minions The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food (Edit)
Grymkin Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night (Edit)