Theme - The Creator's Might

From Battle College
(Redirected from The Creator's Might)
Jump to: navigation, search

Protectorate Theme Force

The word of the Creator of Man is law, and by the will of the faithful his designs are made material. The clergy of the Protectorate march to war arrayed as an army worthy of Menoth, channelling the power of Menite relics that predate the priest-kings while chanting prayers drawn from holy writ and ancient inscriptions. Their mighty sanctified machines rumble across the battlefield to clash with those who would deny the glory of Menoth. great wheels bearing the weight of consecrated edifices grind ever onward, accompanied by the hymns of warpriests. In righteous splendour menoth's most devout servants go forth to battle blessed by his might.

Theme Rules[edit]

Theme Force Restrictions[edit]

A The Creator's Might army can only include Protectorate models from the following list:

Allowed models Which includes
Last updated 2017.09
Protectorate warcasters Too many to bother listing
Non-character warjacks
Note: Character warjacks can be taken, but only if bonded with their favourite warcaster (Eye of Truth with Malekus, etc)
Too many to bother listing
The following character warjacks
Vassal models/units
Protectorate Battle Engines
The following specific models
Up to one mercenary unit and one mercenary solo. Too many to bother listing

Theme Force Bonuses[edit]

  • This army can include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for the Protectorate.
    • These models/units can be included even if they have the Partisan [Protectorate] rule.
    • Mercenary units can have attachments.
  • For every 25 points of Protectorate warjacks and Protectorate battle engines, you can add three Wrack solos, or one small- or medium-based Protectorate solo free of cost
  • Protectorate solos and the Choir of Menoth gain Reposition [3"]. (Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.)
  • Friendly models/units can begin the game affected by the upkeep spells of models in this army.
    • These spells and their targets must be declared before either player deploys any models.
    • Models in this army do not have to pay to upkeep their spells during your first turn of the game.
    • Applies to Battlegroup Controllers

Recent Changes[edit]

2017.06 Errata

Battlegroup Controllers now benefit from free upkeeps.

2017.09 Themeopocalypse

Gained access to Mercs, no other changes


Thoughts on this Theme Force[edit]

The Creator's Might in a Nutshell[edit]

This is an All Jacks All The Time theme force. If you wanted an almost all jack army (e.g. with High Allegiant Amon Ad-Raza) it's basically free points. If you wanted to screen your jacks with something other than a Choir of Menoth then it might be less useful.

Theme weanesses & Mitigating them[edit]

Placeholder.

List-Building Tips[edit]

Placeholder.

Casters of Note[edit]

Placeholder.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released 2017.01

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. Click here for a detailed explanation
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended.
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Theme Forces    (Edit)
Mercenaries and Partisans

  • When you take a Partisan Mercenary, it counts as your Faction. However this doesn't increase the number of total mercenaries allowed. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Exception: If the Partisan Mercenary is explicitedly listed as one of the models you can take in the theme (such as Cephalyx in Cryx's Black Industries theme), then you can take the full FA plus your "up to one Merc" allotment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Sometimes a specific Mercenary/Minion model/unit will gain a theme benefit of "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model" (such as Greygore in Kriel Company). In this case, the model/unit might or might not count against your "up to one merc" limit:
    • If that Merc is in the list of models explicitly allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
    • If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
  • Partisans will count towards any relevant free points. For instance, Nyss will count twoards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Partisans can be eligible to be taken as free choices. For instance, Erysis1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)


Mercenaries and Ranking Officers

  • If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless of what the "Allowed models" are. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you do, that Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)


"Extra" Mercenaries

  • As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
    • ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
    • ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)


Bonus - One [X] gains [Y]

  • If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
    • In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
  • You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
    • ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.


Theme Forces, free models, and Specialists in Steamroller

  • When you make substitutions to your list, you need to double-check that you haven't removed something that allows you to take free models.
  • If you have, then you either need to remove those free models, or pay full points cost for them.


Unit Attachments & free points



Theme - Black Industries

  • Carapace only applies to Cryx heavy warjacks, and not to Merc warjacks. (Infernal Ruling)

Theme - Llaelese Resistance

  • It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
    You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)

Models in this category[edit]

Refer to Category: The Creator's Might

Other themes[edit]

Theme Forces (Edit)
Cygnar Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division (Edit)
Protectorate of Menoth The Creator's Might - Exemplar Interdiction - The Faithful Masses - Guardians of the Temple (Edit)
Khador Armored Korps - Jaws of the Wolf - Legion of Steel - Winter Guard Kommand - Wolves of Winter (Edit)
Cryx Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders (Edit)
Retribution of Scyrah Defenders of Ios - Forges of War - Legions of Dawn - Shadows of the Retribution (Edit)
Mercenaries Hammer Strike - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - Operating Theater - The Talion Charter - Llaelese Resistance (Edit)
Convergence of Cyriss Destruction Initiative - Clockwork Legions (Edit)
 
Trollbloods Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North (Edit)
Circle Orboros Call of the Wild - Secret Masters - The Bones of Orboros - The Devourer's Host - The Wild Hunt (Edit)
Skorne Winds of Death - Disciples of Agony - Imperial Warhost - Masters of War - The Exalted (Edit)
Legion of Everblight Children of the Dragon - Oracles of Annihilation - Primal Terrors - Ravens of War (Edit)
Minions The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food (Edit)
Grymkin Dark Menagerie - Bump in the Night (Edit)