Swamp Horror

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

This server will go offline in September 2018. Please migrate to our new server, Warmachine University
For more info on why we're moving to a new server, check out the Brief History section on the new main page, and/or listen to episode 45 of the LOS podcast
If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot.
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.


Swamp Horror
Minion Gatorman Heavy Warbeast

Few men have survived an encounter with the swamp horrors that lurk in the marshlands. Survivors speak of great beasts rising from the swamp in a flurry of tentacles and seizing entire hunting parties in their slimy grip. Once ensnared, a swamp horror’s victims can only struggle futilely as they are pulled into its bone-crushing maw. Only the very strongest gatorman bokors and shamans can hope to control these primal beasts, so taming one is viewed as a show of great power.

- Hordes Gallery

Basic Info[edit]

Swamp Horror
Minion Gatorman Heavy Warbeast
SwampHorror.jpg
COST N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
FA N/A
Warcaster 0
BASE Large
SPD 4
STR 10
MAT 6
RAT N/A
M.A. N/A
DEF 10
ARM 15
CMD 2
FOCUS N/A
FURY 3
THRS 8
HP 30
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST 15
N/A
N/A
FA U
N/A
Warcaster 1
BASE N/A
SPD N/A
STR N/A
MAT N/A
RAT N/A
DEF N/A
ARM N/A
CMD N/A
FOCUS N/A
FURY N/A
THRS N/A
HP N/A
WJP N/A
WBP N/A
UNIT SIZE N/A
COST N/A
FA N/A
N/A
Understanding
the Statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Beak (×2) Melee COST: 12 RNG: 1 ROF: 43 AOE: 65 POW: 6 P+S: 16 DUR: 90 OFF: 90
    • Critical Amputation - On a critical hit, mark all unmarked boxes in the last column/spiral damaged.
  • Tentacle (×3) Melee COST: 12 RNG: 2 ROF: 43 AOE: 65 POW: 2 P+S: 12 DUR: 90 OFF: 90
    • Open Fist - This warjack/warbeast may make Throw Power Attacks.
    • Chain Weapon - This weapon ignores Buckler, Shield and Shield Wall.
    • Chain Strike - This weapon becomes 4" reach during this model's activation.
    • Pull - If this model hits an enemy model with an equal or or smaller base with a basic attack with this weapon, immediately after the attack is resolved the hit model can be pushed directly towards this model until it contacts a model, an obstacle, or an obstrution.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good.
  • Amphibious - This model treats shallow water as open terrain while advancing. While completely in shallow water, this model gains concealment and does not block line of sight.
  • Impervious Flesh - When this model suffers a damage roll, roll one fewer die.
  • Steady - This model can't be knocked down.

Animus[edit]

Target friendly Faction model's melee weapons become 2" range, for one turn.

Recent Changes[edit]

2017.09 Blindwater CID

Points cost went up to 15 (from 14), and the Tentacles gained Chain Strike.


Thoughts on the Swamp Horror[edit]

Swamp Horror in a nutshell[edit]

The Swamp Horror is not here to fight with heavies- the Swamp Horror wants to rip apart units of single-wound infantry, and shines under the Will Work for Food theme. There are situations where you can beef it up enough that it can tussle with other heavies thank to it's beak and critical amputation, but that's not why you bring it. It's not a warbeast for everyone, but the ones who like it will find a beast that's fun to play and can make its points back.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Blackhide Wrastler - it really likes the STR buff, and the Wrastler likes the added threat range.
  • Other models without reach, such as the Bokor, can gain a surprise threat range increase from the animus.
  • Wrong Eye & Snapjaw Starcrossed and Impervious Flesh is infuriating. Also under Wrong_Eye the Horror can be found in many different factions. Where it can provide reach with its animus.
  • Casters like Bloody Barnabas and Jaga-Jaga, the Death Charmer when using Will Work for Food, can turn the Horror into an infantry lawnmower thanks to Pop N' Drop and Signs& Portents respectively.
  • Rask is a toolbox caster and the Horror is a toolbox warbeast- pair them together and you get a living swiss army knife. Fury can bump it's damage up significantly, Boundless Charge can give it even more threat range, and admonition lets it snag solos, lights and wayward infantry that wander too close to Rask or other valuable support units.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • It's difficult to picture a situation where shaving a couple of points from somewhere and upgrading to a Blackhide Wrastler isn't a good idea.
  • Likewise, one can make an argument that the Ironback Spitter can play the anti-infantry game from a safer distance with similar defense against ranged attacks, all for 1 point less.
  • Impervious Flesh is great but it's still pretty squishy. At armor 15, Heavies boosting for damage and weapon master infantry can still roll close to straight damage against it.
  • Without support its tentacles are pitiful even against lights.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Its animus increases threat ranges. Use appropriately.
  • Focus on infantry first and foremost. It can threaten heavies with buffs like Rage or Fury, but you should save that for finishing off any wounded heavies late-game.

Other[edit]

Swamp Siren - Limited Edition sculpt

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

  • Minion
  • Other
    • Skorne's Disciples of Agony - (Article) (Category)
    • If you take it in the Lesser Warlock Wrong Eye's battlegroup, it can be taken in pretty much any theme. (Omitted for brevity)

Other Minion models[edit]

MinionsLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Farrow Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Arkadius1 - Carver1 - Helga1 - Midas1 - Sturm & Drang1
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh
Farrow Warbeasts (Edit)
Lessers Razor Boars
Lights Battle Boar - Gun Boar - Splatter Boar
Dr Arkadius only: Gorax Rager
Heavies Road Hog - War Hog
Gatorman Warlocks (Edit)
Warlocks Barnabas1 - Barnabas2 - Calaban1 - Jaga-Jaga1 - Maelok1 - Rask1
Lesser Warlocks Wrong Eye
Gatorman Warbeasts (Edit)
Lights Boneswarm - Bull Snapper
Heavies Blackhide Wrastler - Blind Walker - Ironback Spitter - Swamp Horror
Gargantuans Dracodile
  M  
I
N
I
O
N
S
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warlock attachments Targ - Gatorman Soul Slave
Units Farrow Farrow Bone Grinders - Farrow Brigands - Farrow Commandos - Farrow Razorback Crew - Farrow Slaughterhousers - Farrow Valkyries
Gatorman Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Gatorman Bokor & Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows
Special WA: Void Leech
Unaligned
Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Farrow
Agata, Queen of Carnage - Maximus - Rorsh & Brine - Targ
Gatorman Boil Master & Spirit Cauldron - Bog Trog Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Croak Hunter - Gatorman Husk - Gatorman Soul Slave - Gatorman Witch Doctor
Kwaak Slickspine & Gub - Longchops - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Unaligned Efaarit Scout - Feralgeist -Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Ogrun Bokur - Gobber Chef - Gobber Raiders - Thrullg - Totem Hunter
Alten Ashley - Brun Cragback & Lug - Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Eilish Garrity - Gudrun the Wanderer - Hutchuck - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Orin - Raluk - Saxon Orrik - Viktor Pendrake
Battle Engines Meat Thresher (Farrow) - Sacral Vault (Gatorman)
 
Minion - Theme Forces (Edit)
The Blindwater Congregation - The Thornfall Alliance - Will Work for Food

Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Critical Amputation      (Edit)

  • You resolve Amputation after marking damage from the current attack. It doesn't go: hit the target, fill in the column that was damaged from a previous attack, then roll damage for the attack. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
  • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
  • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
  • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.

Rules Clarification : Chain Weapon - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Chain Strike and/or Lunge     (Edit)

  • The extra range does apply during Frenzies (because that is defined as an activation)
  • The extra range doesn't apply during free strikes or when your opponent takes control of your model.
  • It doesn't increase the range of Power Attacks, because you do not apply weapon special rules to Power Attacks (unless they specifically reference Power Attacks, like Hard Head does). (Locked Thread)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Drag , Pull, and/or Catch     (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Ranged Attack Damage (Drag and Catch only)
  • If a model is destroyed by the ranged attack, Drag/Catch does not trigger.
    • Corpse tokens, soul tokens, and etc will be generated from the model’s original position.
    • You won't get the free melee attack from Drag, even if there's something different already in your melee range. No drag = no melee.
  • Enemy effects that occur after the attack (such as "Enliven" and "Whelp") are triggered before Drag but after Pull. Refer Apdx A:
    • Pull occurs at Step 12 of the attack sequence . (Infernal Ruling)
    • Enemy effects occur at Step 13. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Drag occurs at Step 14.
    • As such, Enliven & Whelp etc can be used to 'block' the Drag movement, for instance, using Enliven to move behind an obstruction or another model.


The Movement

  • You cannot Drag/Pull/Catch models with a larger base size than you.
  • The movement is a Push effect, which is involuntary movement.
    • It is not an advance and will not trigger stuff like Countercharge.
    • They won't take free strikes because it is involuntary movement.
    • They will take damage from any hazards they're pushed through/into (such as Scathers).
  • You can drag your target through Incorporeal models, if there's enough space on the other side, because the rules for Incorporeal specifically allow this. (If there's not enough space, the push will stop on the far side of the Incorporeal model.)
  • You cannot drag models through Curse-of-Shadows-ed or similar models, because those rules refer to "models can advance through this model" and a push is not an advance.
  • You may drag models that you are already in melee with. However most models can't shoot while in melee, so this is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon (see the corner-case scenarios, below).
  • If you get to trigger Drag/Pull/Catch on a free strike (mostly just Pull), the moving model will never get out of your melee range. They have to keep advancing out and being pushed back until either they run out of movement, or you fail a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
Push     (Edit)      
  • Pushed models do not change their facing.
  • Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
  • Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
  • You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
  • Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
  • If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
    • However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)


The Free Melee Attack(s) (Drag and Catch only)

  • If the target model doesn't end up in melee range (whether because the ranged attack killed it outright, or something blocked the drag movement) then you don't get a free melee attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks.
  • If the dragged model can't be targeted by melee attacks, you may not make your free drag attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • For both of the above two cases, you may still complete your initial ranged attacks and buy additional ranged attacks as per normal (if you have more guns and/or Reload).
  • You may make the free melee attack against models that "cannot be pushed" (assuming you're in melee range already). The "After the model is moved" is a timing clause, not a conditional clause.
    • To pull this off, you need an ability that allows you to make ranged attack while you're already in melee, so is pretty much limited to just Colossals and/or models attacking objectives.
  • After using Drag/Catch, the attacking model may make a single melee attack without spending focus. (So Black Ogrun can make a single melee attack.)
  • After doing the free attack, you may buy additional attacks if you have a method of purchasing them. Models with Drag but no focus/fury (such as Black Ogrun) can't buy additional attacks (despite what is implied by the rule on their card) - it's just a standarised wording for Drag.


More corner-case Rules Clarifications

  • Models that can make Ranged Attacks while in melee
    • This section is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon who, thanks to being Colossals, can continue to shoot after dragging something into melee with themselves. It can also apply to any model shooting at a "can never be in melee" model (eg Scenario objectives).
    • When you start your activation, you still need to choose either 'initial ranged attacks' or 'initial melee attacks'. If you choose melee attacks, then you will never get to shoot your Drag weapons.
    • If you shoot a Drag weapon you need to resolve the drag move and the free melee attack, but afterwards you're still in "shooting" mode. The best way to think of it is it's "interrupting" your normal ranged attacks and after resolving it, you go back to completing your initials. So it might go:
      • Shoot the Drag weapon.
      • Drag the enemy closer.
      • Resolve the free melee attack.
      • Drag resolved. Now you finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
    • Once you've completed all your initial ranged attacks (and any free drag melee attacks) then you have the option of buying additional attacks (ranged if you have Reload, melee otherwise.
    • However, if you get overexcited and start buying melee attacks after the free drag one then you don't get to finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
    • This is because shooting the rest of your guns is completing your "Initial Ranged Attacks" but by buying melee attacks you have jumped ahead to "After Initial Attacks" (refer first sentence of "Additional Attacks" pg 36 of Prime).
  • Black Spot + Drag or Catch
    • If you trigger Drag/Catch, then any attacks you get from Black Spot can be either ranged or melee, your choice. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
    • This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
  • Assault & Drag ( Edit )
    • You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
    • If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
      • It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).


RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Forcing

  • If an ability doesn't specify how much it costs to force, it costs 1. (Infernal Ruling)

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Transferring Damage

  • If both the warlock and the warbeast are damaged by the same attack (such as an AOE), then you need to apply the 'normal' damage to the warbeast before the transferred damage. This distinction can be important when you're working out who/what actually destroyed the beast. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • Step 4 of Frenzy was errata'd in 2016. Make sure you're using the latest version of the rules.
  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Confirmation)

Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Impervious Flesh      (Edit)

  • Impervious Flesh applies to everything, including stuff which "doesn't come from a model" like Continuous Fire.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Steady      (Edit)

  • Steady models are still susceptible to other effects of knock-down attacks (if there are any).
    • For example, a steady model hit with a Head butt won't be knocked down but will take damage.
  • A knocked down model that gains Steady will remain knocked down, because the "cannot be knocked down" is not retroactively applied.

Rules Clarification : Elasticity - None yet. (Edit)