| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Cygnar Storm Knight Unit
The Stormguard march to war darkening the air around them with the promise of an electrical reckoning. Each is a master of the voltaic halberd, a mechanikal pole arm constructed to hack through flesh and steel while torrents of lightning strike deep into the ranks of the enemy. Every halberd strike charges the sergeant’s nexus generator, and this coiled potential can be unleashed in a massive lightning strike to blast apart enemy formations.
| Unit Size
|See also How to Read the statblock
- Nexus Generator - 2" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon.
- Nexus Blast - 10" range, 4" AOE, POW 6 gun.
- Voltaic Halberd - 2" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon.
- Entire Unit
- Immunity: Electricity - This model does not suffer electrical damage, and is ignored when determining lightning arcs.
- Practiced Maneuvers - Each model in this unit can ignore other models in this unit when determining LOS and can advance through them if it has enough movement to move completely past them.
- Combined Melee Attack - This unit can combine their melee attacks to get a bonus on accuracy and damage.
- Set Defense - Charge attacks, slam attacks, and impact attacks versus this model suffer a -2 to hit penalty.
- Leader only
- Quick Work - When this model destroys one or more enemy models with a melee attack during its Combat Action, immediately after that attack is resolved this model can make one basic ranged attack.
- Gunfighter - This model can use its ranged weapons even while in melee, but when it does so it can only target models it's in melee with. It can even make ranged attacks after charging.
Thoughts on Stormguard
Stormguard in a nutshell
Stormguards are anti-infantry units, with average defensive stats, who can electrocute infantries to death - something that many other units in your faction does admirably too. They also have some ranged presence, which is somewhat hard to use effectively. In an ideal world the entire unit will charge making a succesful charge along with their leader. All of the grunts make their attacks, leaving the leader for last. The leader's charge target gets killed, and all of the enemies in his melee range are killed as well. He is then free to shoot at anything within range, thereby extending the guns range by about 5". He can now can deliver his POW15 4" AoE, preferably straight into a reeling enemy warcaster. That will rarely going to happen though.
Combos & Synergies
- The Stormclad can gain a focus if activates near them.
Buffing their survival:
- Blur, Deflection and Dirge of Mists from Rhupert can all raise their DEF against shooting.
- Arcane shield, Deceleration and Dauntless Resolve can bring their ARM up to levels where pow 10 guns can struggle to kill them and they will be all but immune to blast damage.
Buffing their movement
- Runewood or Rhupert can both offer you Pathfinder through March.
- Stormguard have their built-in Practiced Maneuvers; however, if you intend to use them as a melee screen for other Storm Knights, think about keeping a Stormblade Captain nearby.
Buffing accuracy and hitting power
- The usual buffs for Storm Knights and electric buffs work fine with them. Laddermore puts their MAT to elite levels. Add Runewood's Path to Victory to that, and you'll be hitting with an effective MAT10. The Silver Line Stormguard and Firefly make their electric damages more deadlier, while the Storm Strider occasionally buffs the accuracy of their ranged attacks.
Casters to note:
- Stryker2 and Stryker3 both buff melee units, the first with Positive Charge, and the second with Fury. And of course, Stormguards love the feat of both.
Drawbacks and Downsides
- Their position is heavily contested on every side:
- If you just want a cheap polearm unit, go for Steelhead Halberdiers - even adding Murdoch will make them just as expensive as a full unit of Stormguards.
- If you want strong melee units with shooting capability, and who can enjoy the buffs of Cygnar's lightning theme, and the advance move benefit of the Storm Division, you might as well take Stormblades.
- Silver Line Stormguard lack electro leaps, but are well defended against charges, and can offer support to other units with lightning weapons
- Average defensive stats all over, and they rarely break armour without support.
- The gun from the leader is really hard to get to work correctly, and generally isn't very powerful.
Tricks and Tips
- The leader lacks Dual Attack. If he is still engaged after making his melee attack, he cannot shoot out of melee with his quick work shot. You will also rarely, if ever going to use his Gunfighter rule, as most of the time your melee attack will be stronger than your AoE.
- The physical difference between them and the much better Silver Line Stormguard is backpacks and a slightly different weapon for the leader. If you're any good at conversion it's worth it. Give them some sort of backpacks, paint them silver, and call them Silver Line Stormguard.
- Watch out for RFP attacks against your leader; if it bypasses Field Promotion, then you'll lose his wargear.
Other Cygnar models
Rules Clarification : Electro Leap (Edit)
- Electro Leap is a weapon property. As such, it doesn't apply to Power Attacks at all.
- A Steamroller flag can be hit by Electro Leap. (Infernal Ruling)
- Not considered an attack (Edit)
- The original attack and damage is definitely an attack, and triggers stuff normally. But the "secondary" damage works quite differently.
- The secondary damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
- The secondary damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
- The secondary damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
- It's not an attack from a weapon so:
- it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
- it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
- It is a damage roll from a model so:
Rules Clarification : Electricity - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Electrical Discharge (Edit)
- If the Leader is RFP'd before reaching "Destroyed", then you do not get to resolve Field Promotion. This means you completely lose the Leader model, his weapons, and his special rules.
Rules Clarification : Practiced Maneuvers - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Combined Melee Attack (Edit)
- Each CMA only counts as a single attack, no matter how many participants are involved. This means, for example, that if Satyxis Raiders damage a warjack and trigger their Feedback ability, the enemy warcaster will only take 1 damage total, not 1 for every Raider.
- Any bonuses (such as back strike) or penalties (such as the target being behind cover) are determined according to the model leading the CMA (the attack leader).
- If the participants have buffs/debuffs but the attack leader doesn't ... then the CMA doesn't because only the attack leader matters. Simple as that.
- A single unit can perform multiple CMAs, utilising different groupings of models. eg a unit with 10 models could make one 10-man CMA, two 5-man CMAs, or five 2-man CMAs, or etc.
- CMA for units that have more than one melee weapon (the short version)
- Once you have more than one melee weapon, charging becomes a bit complicated. There are two important rules:
- A model which charges must use its first attack to make a charge attack. It can't "skip ahead" to contributing its second non-charge attack before it's resolved its first attack.
- For a CMA to gain the charging bonus, then all contributors must be contributing a charge attack.
- These two rules have a few, slightly confusing implications. Click the expand box below for a full breakdown.
| CMA for units with more than one weapon (the long version) (Edit)
| The following example is about Satyxis Raiders, but is equally applicable to other units with two CMA:
- Each Raider gets two attacks. Both, one, or neither can be a CMA as you choose.
- If you are doing two CMA in a row, then you should note that the second CMA doesn’t have to use the same “primary attacker” or the same “participants” as the first CMA.
- For instance, you could have the first CMA with raider A being the "primary attacker" and raider B being the "participant",
- then for the second CMA have raider B the "primary attacker" and raider A the "participant".
- Or leave A alone for a moment and use B plus C. Whatever takes your fancy.
- Primary attackers and participants don't have to use the same weapon. So, continuing with the above example, you could have primary A use lash and participant B use horns, then primary B use lash and participant A use horns. Effectively granting you two lash attacks with CMA bonuses!
- Combined Melee Attack and charging
- Remember the 2 rules above?
- Rule 1 means you cannot contribute your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
- Rule 1 means you cannot "skip ahead" to resolving your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
- but wait, there's more!
- However, thanks to the "Units with Combined Melee Attack ignore the rule that one trooper's combat action cannot begin until the previous model's combat action ends" rule, you can "pause" your second attack if you want to do a CMA with it later. For example:
- Model A performs its charge attack.
- Model B performs its charge attack. (Interrupting A)
- Model C performs its charge attack. (Interrupting B)
- CMA using A, B & C's remaining attack.
Rules Clarification : Set Defense - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Quick Work (Edit)
- If you're still engaged in melee when Quick Work triggers, you won't be able to make the ranged attack.
- Quick Work specifies "Combat Action" so doesn't work with Impact Attacks or out-of-activation attacks
Rules Clarification: : Gunfighter (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
- You cannot Aim if you start your activation in melee. (Infernal Confirmation)
- A free strike with a ranged weapon still gets the +2 to hit and boosted damage (I'm pretty sure - I'd like to double check it though).
- 1. Outside of melee
- If the Gunfighter isn't in melee, and didn't charge this turn, then it shoots just the same as a normal model.
- 2. In melee, but didn't charge
- If it didn't charge, it can target anyone it's "in melee" with.
- This can be any model in the Gunfighter's melee range, plus any models that have the Gunfighter in their melee range.
- If a Gunfighter kills all the enemies it is in melee with, and still has the ability to make more ranged attacks, then those attacks just follow the normal Ranged Attack rules. (Infernal Ruling)
- 3. Charged into melee
- If it did charge, its initial attacks can only target models that are in the Gunfighter's melee range.
- If all models in the Gunfighter's melee range are killed before it makes its initial attacks, it loses any unspent initial attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- However if it can purchase additional attacks (via Reload for instance) and/or get free attacks (via Black Spot for instance), then those non-initial attacks can target anyone it's "in melee" with, as per #2 above.
- 4. Other targeting notes
- Remember, you can never be "in melee" with a friendly model, so a Gunfighter can pretty much never choose to target a friend while it's in melee (although it may hit one accidentally, see "Missing" below).
- If the gunfighter is unengaged, it can still shoot a friendly model, which would just be a normal ranged attack.
- You use the Gunfighter's RAT for the attack roll.
- Gunfighters do not ignore the Cover/Concealment bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
- How the +4 DEF bonus for "being in melee" works with Gunfighters is:
- they always ignore it vs enemies, because the "point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target".
- they never ignore it vs friendlies, because you cannot be in melee with a friendly target.
- Obviously, if the Gunfighter isn't actually in melee with the enemy target, then the Gunfighter rules don't apply. So they do get the +4 DEF bonus as if it were a normal ranged attack (because it is).
Missing the Attack Roll
- If you miss the attack roll then you need to randomly reassign the shot just like you would with a normal ranged attack shooting someone in melee. Because nothing in the Gunfighter rules say you ignore this part of the "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules.
- Do not include the Gunfighter model itself in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself, as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) (Locked thread)
- but do include models the Gunfighter is in melee with, and any friendly models that are in melee with them (as per the TMM rules).
- Note that enemy models without magic weapons can't hurt you in melee, but they can engage you.
- Once they do that you're in melee and your target selection is limited to just models in melee (as explained above).
Gunfighter + an AOE weapon
- If you miss then the AOE will deviate as per the normal AOE rules. Not very far, though, considering the max distance you'll be apart is 2".
- If you use an AOE weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the blast template.
Gunfighter + a spray weapon
- Who you can target with the spray is limited as described above, but you get to put the whole spray template down and potentially hit models well outside the melee.
- If you use a spray weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the spray template.
Units of Gunfighters
- If a unit of Gunfighters successfully charge, but someone else in their unit kills their charge target before they get a turn to attack, then they may redirect their attack.
- Redirected attack:
- If they're still engaged, their initial attack (s) must be vs someone in their melee range.
- If they're still engaged, but no one is in their own melee range, they don't get any initial attacks.
- If they're unengaged, they are now free to shoot anyone within the gun's normal range.
- Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
- If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
- These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
- Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
- Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
- Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
- Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
- Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
- Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
- Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.