Cygnar Storm Knight Cavalry Unit
The earth-shuddering charge of Storm Lances is a vision of precision in motion. Bound within a corona of crackling energy, the knights pound into the enemy without remorse. The rippling surge of hooves and weaponry advances like a living thing while bolts of electrical power arc into the enemy. Using the resonance of storm chambers, Storm Lances can form an electrical charge between heavily insulated riders deadly to anyone caught between them.
|| 5 each
| Unit Size
|| 3 / 5
|| 12 / 20
| 4 points each
|See also How to Read the statblock
- Electrical Bolt - 8" range, POW 12 gun.
- Electro Lance - 2" reach, P+S 14 melee weapon.
- Mount - 0.5" reach, POW 12 mount.
- Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks.
- Assault - This model may make a ranged attack as part of its charge.
- Immunity: Electricity - This model is not damaged by electric weapons, and is ignored when determining lightning arcs.
2017.08 Cygnar update
- Lost electro-leap on the shooting, but gained a point of POW on the lance.
Thoughts on Storm Lances
Storm Lances in a nutshell
Cygnar's elite cavalry and quite possibly the best heavy cavalry unit in the game (closely followed by the Praetorian Ferox). They have respectable ranged game, which can be boosted by Cygnar's numerous Electricity buffs. They are the only heavy cavalry unit in the game, who can both threaten at range, and have a constant 2" melee range (units, like the Dawnguard Destors or Iron Fang Uhlans have 2" melee range only in charge). With a borderline ridiculous 3 attacks on the charge, plus electro-leaps from the melee attacks, Storm Lances can devastate nearly any unit in the game and even jacks and beasts are wary of their presence. Many consider them the best unit in Cygnar, and for a good reason. Currently they are only available in the Storm Division theme force, which is somewhat less popular than either the Trencher-centred Gravediggers or the Heavy Metal jack theme, but in Storm Division they often form the core of the list, sometimes even with 2 units.
Combos & Synergies
- Arcane Shield is the most widespread ARM fixer. An ARM 20 cavalry with DEF13 is nothing to be sneezed at. Beside casters, it is the main attraction of the Journeyman Warcaster - if you take Storm Lances, you'll most likely take him too. Stryker1 deserves a special mention, as he can make them an utterly obnoxious ARM25 for a round. Stryker2 can take them to ARM22 against ranged and magic attacks with Deceleration. His feat also gives them an additional round of attacks with yet more Electro-Leaps.
- Blur can be found on many casters, even on those, who are not primarily considered for Storm Division, like Caine1. Def 16 cavalries, especially when topped with concealment or cover are truly a challenge for non-CRA and non-boosted ranged fire.
- Haley3 can keep them in the game for a long time thanks to Revive and Temporal Flux.
- Maddox brings not only Dauntless Resolve]], but also Onslaught for Pathfinder.
- The Stormblade Captain solves any issues with other models in the unit blocking each other in.
- Pathfinder is essential for your charges to connect. Runewood is unfortunately off-theme, but [[Rhupert Carvolo, Piper of Ord]|Rhupert] is a really good fix for that. The bold piper can help you with cover or Tough too.** It's worth putting Haley Future near them - Ghost Walk also has a lot of utility. He competes for the mercenary solo slot with Lanyssa Ryssyl, who can boost charges with Hunter's Mark.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- They're expensive and high priority targets - but for a reason.
- Currently they're allowed only in Storm Division.
- No native Pathfinder, and like every Cavalry, they are vulnerable to charge-denial tricks.
Tricks & Tips
- They have an effective range of 16 by walking and shooting. If you can't charge or don't have a good target, it may be better to advance, shoot, then reposition backwards for a better opening next turn. This is no longer as effective as it was as they no longer get electro-leaps from their shooting.
- Watch out with Assault shots, if they can trigger abilities upon missing, that might result in failed charges. Prime examples are Dodge and Poltergeist.
It might sound like an anti-Cygnar tip collection, but you also better be aware of things, that can affect the performance of your Storm Lances.
- Spacing - They are on large bases, so it might prove difficult to position them so that they all could strike. They don't have Practiced Maneuvers, so don't ignore each other when drawing LOS, or moving. A Stormblade Captain can alleviate that, however, you must be in his CMD range to take advantage of his ability.
- Blocking LOS - you can't charge and can't shoot, what you can't see. Trencher smoke from their Into the Breach minifeat, or combined with Haley's Tactical Supremacy can be really annoying.
- Blocking charge lanes - Enemies will likely place models with Tough to stop cavalry charge, and make you to fail your charge entirely.
- Target behind obstacle - without Pathfinder, you will have to evade obstacles, if you want to charge.
- Difficult terrain - It might come either from spells, abilities, or attacks - the result is all the same. Without Pathfinder, you will struggle charging through.
- Charge denial - An in-faction example, the Polarity Shield of the Centurion counters charges. Also, spells, like Rebuke disallow orders, so no charge, no assault shot, and no brutal charge for you.
- Upkeep Removal - a mentioned above, upkeeps are essential of keeping them alive.
- Watch out for Purgation, Dispel and Purification, as well as Eilish and Eiryss2's bow and blade.
- Also, you'll have to rely on your basic stats against Blessed weapons.
- Any combination of these followed up with boosted damage rolls tends to leave Storm Lances very sad...and dead.
- The unit leader's horse is probably one of the most badass horses in the game.
- Originally released in Warmachine: Superiority (2006)
Other Cygnar models
Rules Clarification : Electricity - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Electro Leap (Edit)
- Electro Leap is a weapon property. As such, it doesn't apply to Power Attacks at all.
- A Steamroller flag can be hit by Electro Leap. (Infernal Ruling)
- Not considered an attack (Edit)
- The original attack and damage is definitely an attack, and triggers stuff normally. But the "secondary" damage works quite differently.
- The secondary damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
- The secondary damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
- The secondary damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
- It's not an attack from a weapon so:
- it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
- it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
- It is a damage roll from a model so:
Rules Clarification : Brutal Charge (Edit)
- If your charge movement was less than 3", your first attack is not considered a 'charge attack' and thus you won't get the Brutal Charge bonus.
Rules Clarification: : Cavalry (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
| Mount Weapon
- Although the core rulebook specifies mount weapons have 0.5" range, this doesn't "overwrite" models that have a longer mount range listed on their card. (Infernal Ruling)
- Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
- Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
- Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
- If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
- Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
- Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
- You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Movement
- You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
- The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
- Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
- If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
- As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
- On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.
Impact Attacks - The attack(s)
- You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
- If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
- If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Other
- You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.
- If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
- Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
- Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
- Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
- Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)
- Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
- Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
- Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
- Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
- Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
- Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
Rules Clarification: : Assault (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
Step 1: Declare the charge
- Are you in already melee? With any enemy, not just your charge target?
- If yes, you don't get an Assault attack at all (Refer to the latest Errata). Instead it's just a normal charge.
- If no, continue to Step 2.
- Note: You cannot be "in melee" with a stationary/knocked down target. Feel free to declare charges (and Assault shots) in this case.
- You can even charge a knocked down model you're in B2B with, advance 0", and get your ranged attack and your melee attack(s).
Step 2: Move the charging model
- As soon as the movement is finished, determine whether it was a successful charge or not.
- Do this before resolving anything that triggers on "Ends Movement" (like Admonition, Countercharge).
- Do this before resolving your Assault attack.
- Did you make a successful charge? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee". Refer to the latest Errata.
- Did you fail the charge? You still get the Assault shot anyway.
- Did you fail the charge, but end your movement in melee with someone different to your charge target? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee". Refer to the latest Errata and also this (Infernal Ruling)
- Now that you've figured out whether the charge successful, you (or your opponent) can trigger "Ends Movement" effects.
- Nothing that happens from this point onwards will retroactively change a failed charge into a successful charge, or vice versa.
- If your charge was successful you may use "any time" abilities between 'finishing movement' and 'starting Assault attack'. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you fail your charge, you may not use "any time" abilities before or after making the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
The Infernal Ruling dictates that Assault is not a "triggered ability" (since if it was, you wouldn't be able to cast a spell between ending movement and using your Assault shot).
Thus Assault will never occur simultaneously with another ability that triggers/resolves at "ends movement". Instead, the other ability is always resolved before the Assault shot
Step 3: Make the ranged attack
- The ranged attack is optional.
- Since the Assault attack is outside your Combat Action, you can only do a basic ranged attack. CRA & Special ranged attacks are only allowed during your Combat Action, you can't do them. (Infernal Ruling CRA & Special Attack)
- Did you move at least 3" during the charge movement? Who cares, that is irrelevant to the Assault attack!
- Make your ranged attack vs your charge target
- If the charge target is already dead (which can happen when units charge) then you don't get to redirect your Assault attack vs 'someone else'. You simply don't get an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- A model which can do something "instead of making a ranged attack" (such as the Spriggan's Targeting Flare) then they can do that as an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If your ranged attacks triggers other attacks/damage that occur "after the attack" (such as Drag or Electro Leap) then those will resolve as per normal, regardless of whether you had a successful charge or not. (Infernal Ruling)
- Is the target in melee with the shooter?
- If yes, then you ignore the +4 DEF bonus (as per the 3rd paragraph of "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules)
- If no, resolve the ranged attack exactly the same as if it were a normal ranged attack.
Step 4: If you miss
- If you miss the target, and the target is not in melee with you, then resolve it the same way as a normal ranged attack.
- If you miss the target, and the target is in melee with you, then ...
- Randomly reassign the shot (as per the TMM rules) (nothing in Assault says it ignores this).
- Do not include the shooting model in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) but do include models the shooter is in melee with (as per the TMM rules).
- If the shot is randomly reassigned to a friendly model, then they will always get the +4 DEF bonus. The only way to ignore that bonus is if the 'point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target' and you can never be in melee with a friendly model.
Step 5: After finishing the Assault attack
- If it was an unsuccessful charge, your activation now ends.
- If it was a successful charge, and your charge target is ...
- still alive, then you get your charge attack (as per the charge rules)
- dead, then you get your initial melee attack(s) vs anyone still in your melee range (as per the charge rules).
- Either way, you don't get to make more ranged attacks (other than the obvious exceptions like Gunfighter, of course).
- Move all models in the unit before making any Assault attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- Make all Assault attacks before making any Charge attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- Each model in the unit is effectively "stalled" while you move/shoot the other models. This "stall" does not create an opportunity to use "any time" abilities. (Infernal Ruling)
- If a trooper's target dies before they make their Assault shot, they don't get to redirect it. You just skip their Assault shot. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot make Assault attacks while out of formation, as per the regular formation rules about making attacks.
- Assault & CRA (Edit)
- You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)
- Warbeasts cannot use Assault during a Frenzy. Refer to the latest errata.
- Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
- With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
- So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
- If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
- But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
- Assault & Drag ( Edit )
- You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
- If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
- It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
- You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).