Steelhead Halberdiers

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Mercenary Steelhead Unit

Steelheads are willing to fight anyone, anywhere, anytime—as long as the pay is right. Working in concert, Steelhead riflemen thin out enemy lines with concentrated fire before the halberdiers charge in to cut down foes with practiced precision. Numerous, well-trained, and well-equipped, the soldiers of the Steelhead Mercenary Company are the best money can buy.

Basic Info[edit]

Steelhead Halberdiers
Steelhead Heavy Halberdiers.jpeg
SPD 6
STR 6
MAT 5
RAT 4
DEF 13
ARM 13
CMD 7
Unit Size 6/10
Cost 7/11

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

  • Halberd - 2" range, P+S 11 melee weapon.
    • Powerful Charge - This models gains +2 to hit on charge attacks with this weapon.

Special Abilities[edit]

Thoughts on Steelhead Halberdiers[edit]

Steelhead Halberdiers in a nutshell[edit]

Steelhead Halberdiers embody the strengths of the Mercenary faction. They among the cheapest infantry around, yet surprisingly effective. For 11 points you get an 11" charge threat, 2" melee range, Combined Melee Attack, Set Defense and Powerful Charge on a solid 13/13 frame, meaning they are capable of contributing against almost anything with no help, can take a charge, and aren't going to die to every blast that lands on them. Again, you get 10 bodies with all of that for 11 points. They are one of the finest units in the game point for point.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Steelhead Halberdiers are part of the Steelhead boat - they can either be used as cannon fodder to stop bullets and blunt charges or with their fellow steelheads.

  • Captain Damiano - the Captain of the Steelheads is a paymaster of them.
  • Steelhead Heavy Cavalry add a hard hitting charge to come in behind the Steelheads and get to flank with them.
  • Sergeant Nicolas Verendrye hands out Wall of Steel and Tough
  • Stannis Brocker lets everyone move through everyone else. Normally enabling heavy cav to charge straight over the top of halberdiers on the countercharge.
  • The Kingmaker's Army theme force allows them and lets them get Stannis or the like for free - it's a good way of running a steelhead boat.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • Considering how good they are, any gripes you may have about their deficiences are answered by their 7/11 point cost.

Tricks and Tactics[edit]

  • They are wonderful as a front line unit to soak up casualties while you deliver the business end of your army.
  • They operate well on flanks needing no buffs to put damage on high ARM targets or hit high DEF ones.
  • Use Damiano's reposition ability to charge them out of zones and move back in.

Other[edit]

How can I include this model in my army?[edit]

Mercenaries are a bit more complicated than regular faction models, they can be taken in one of three different ways.

  1. This model can be included in a pure Mercenary army.
  2. This model can be included in the following Faction armies:
  3. This model can be included in the following theme forces:

Trivia[edit]

MercenariesLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Ashlynn - Caine3 - Captain Bart - Captain Damiano - Gastone2 - Captain Shae - Macbain - Constance - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2
BGC Gastone Crosse
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Sam & the Devil Dogs
Mercenary Warjacks (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rover
Gallant - Rocinante
Colossal Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
Marshals Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
  M  
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Units Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Ogrun Assault Corps - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Heavy Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator
Character Units Alexia1 - Sam & The Devil Dogs - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea - Commodore Cannon - Devil's Shadow Mutineers
Solos Cephalyx Agitator - Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur - Swamp Gobber River Raider
Character Solos Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Bloody Bradigan - Bosun Grogspar - Brun & Lug - Colbie - Dahlia & Skarath - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eilish Garrity - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone1 - Gorman - Gudrun - Harlan Versh - Hutchuk - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Major Harrison Gibbs - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Savio - Saxon - Sergeant Nick - Stannis - Taryn - Thor - Viktor - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
 
Theme Forces (Edit)
Hammer Strike - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - Operating Theater

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Powerful Charge      (Edit)

  • If you declare a charge but move less than 3", then the attack doesn't count as a "Charge Attack" and you won't get the bonus.

Rules Clarification : Steelhead      (Edit)

  • Placeholder

Rules Clarification : Set Defense - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Combined Melee Attack      (Edit)

  • Each CMA only counts as a single attack, no matter how many participants are involved. This means, for example, that if Satyxis Raiders damage a warjack and trigger their Feedback ability, the enemy warcaster will only take 1 damage total, not 1 for every Raider.
  • Any bonuses (such as back strike) or penalties (such as the target being behind cover) are determined according to the model leading the CMA (the attack leader).
    • If the participants have buffs/debuffs but the attack leader doesn't ... then the CMA doesn't because only the attack leader matters. Simple as that.
  • A single unit can perform multiple CMAs, utilising different groupings of models. eg a unit with 10 models could make one 10-man CMA, two 5-man CMAs, or five 2-man CMAs, or etc.
  • CMA for units that have more than one melee weapon (the short version)
    • Once you have more than one melee weapon, charging becomes a bit complicated. There are two important rules:
      1. A model which charges must use its first attack to make a charge attack. It can't "skip ahead" to contributing its second non-charge attack before it's resolved its first attack.
      2. For a CMA to gain the charging bonus, then all contributors must be contributing a charge attack.
    • These two rules have a few, slightly confusing implications. Click the expand box below for a full breakdown.
CMA for units with more than one weapon (the long version) (Edit)
The following example is about Satyxis Raiders, but is equally applicable to other units with two CMA:
  • Each Raider gets two attacks. Both, one, or neither can be a CMA as you choose.
  • If you are doing two CMA in a row, then you should note that the second CMA doesn’t have to use the same “primary attacker” or the same “participants” as the first CMA.
    • For instance, you could have the first CMA with raider A being the "primary attacker" and raider B being the "participant",
    • then for the second CMA have raider B the "primary attacker" and raider A the "participant".
    • Or leave A alone for a moment and use B plus C. Whatever takes your fancy.
  • Primary attackers and participants don't have to use the same weapon. So, continuing with the above example, you could have primary A use lash and participant B use horns, then primary B use lash and participant A use horns. Effectively granting you two lash attacks with CMA bonuses!
  • Combined Melee Attack and charging
    • Remember the 2 rules above?
    • Rule 1 means you cannot contribute your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • Rule 1 means you cannot "skip ahead" to resolving your second, non-charge attack before you have resolved/contributed your first attack.
    • but wait, there's more!
    • However, thanks to the "Units with Combined Melee Attack ignore the rule that one trooper's combat action cannot begin until the previous model's combat action ends" rule, you can "pause" your second attack if you want to do a CMA with it later. For example:
      • Model A performs its charge attack.
      • Model B performs its charge attack. (Interrupting A)
      • Model C performs its charge attack. (Interrupting B)
      • CMA using A, B & C's remaining attack.