Retribution Mage Hunter Character Unit
- Spear - 2" reach, P+S 11 melee weapon
- Blessed - Attacks with this weapon ignore spells & animi that add to the target's DEF or ARM.
- Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
- Weapon Master - When attacking with this weapon, add an additional die to its damage rolls.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
- Stealth - Ranged and magic attacks targeting this model from a point of origin greater than 5˝ away automatically miss. This model is not an intervening model when determining line of sight from a model more than 5˝ away.
- Duelist - This model gains +2 DEF against melee attack rolls.
- Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
- Shield Guard - When a friendly model within 3" is hit by a non-spray ranged attack, this model can be hit instead.
- Vengeance - During your Maintenance Phase, if one or more models in a unit with Vengeance were damaged by enemy attacks during the last round, each model in the unit can advance 3" and make one basic melee attack.
Thoughts on Spears of Scyrah
This model has only recently been released, and the content in the "Thoughts On" section is based more on theory-machine than actual gameplay experience.
Feel free to remove this warning if you, personally:
- Have a good level of gameplay experience with the model, and
- Have reviewed this article and either you
- agree with the content 100% or,
- for the parts you disagree with, you don't strongly disagree; and it's more a case of differing opinions between you and previous editors rather than incorrect content / bad advice.
Spears of Scyrah in a nutshell
Combos & Synergies
Drawbacks & Downsides
Tricks & Tips
- Unless there is some FAQ or other change, Eiryss3 can be attached to this unit. This makes the Spears the only character unit to have a character attachment, in addition to the all ret unit weapon attachment of souless escorts. If you wanted you could have the spears with max escorts and Eiryss3 for a bizarre mega character unit, though not sure why you'd actually do that other than for laughs.
- Originally released 2017.04
Other Retribution models
Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath (Edit)
- You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants an ability, and it's then the ability which gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
For example, Blessed does not ignore the indirect DEF from Ashen Veil.
- If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
- For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
- For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
- The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
- This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
Rules Clarification : Magical Damage (Edit)
- The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon such as arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer latest errata).
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. They're not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack.
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be intrepreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Stealth (Edit)
- "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
- For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.
Rules Clarification : Duelist - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Reposition (Edit)
- Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. Click here for a detailed explanation
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended.
- This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Shield Guard (Edit)
- Shield Guard doesn't work vs spells.
- Since Shield Guard specifies "opponent's turn", it can't be used against stuff that shoots in your own turn (such as Watcher or Counterblast).
- The Shield Guard does not necessarily need to be in the attacker's LOS or range.
- You shift all effects onto the shield guard, including stuff that triggers on "when this attack hits".
- When you use Shield Guard vs an AOE attack, the template moves too. Because, with reference to Apdx A, the hit 'moves' at Step 6 and the template placement is determined at Step 7.
- Shield Guard doesn't work vs Point Blank attacks. Because Point Blank attacks are melee attacks that are made using a ranged weapon.
- On the other hand, it will work vs Gunfighter attacks.
Rules Clarification : Vengeance and/or Righteous Vengeance and/or Retaliation and/or Swift Vengeance (Edit)
- Vengeance moves do not have to be towards an enemy model.
- You can choose to not move, but still get the attack. One is not conditional on the other.
- When resolving Vengeance, move all models in the unit before making any attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you have more than one unit with Vengeance, move all of unit A then complete all of unit A's attacks, before starting to move unit B.
- Vengeance is not an activation. It does not prevent the unit from activating and acting normally later in the turn.
- Stationary and knocked down models may not perform Vengeance moves nor attacks.
- Only enemy attacks trigger Vengeance. There are plenty of ways enemies can damage you without attacking you (such as Electro Leap) and these will not trigger Vengeance.