You may be looking for one of these:
|Power Attack (Edit)|
|Power Strike||Category: Colossals & Category:Gargantuans only|
|Sweep||Category: Colossals & Category:Gargantuans only|
A Slam can be caused by either a Power Attack or as the special effect from a spell/weapon. Regardless of the cause, the effect on the slammed model is the same.
- 1 Slamming (Power Attack)
- 2 Slam (Other)
- 3 Being Slammed
- 4 Other
Slamming (Power Attack)
Any medium-based or larger warjack/warbeast can make a Slam Power Attack, as long as it hasn't forfeited its Movement and/or Action.
- A warbeast must be forced to perform a Slam Power Attack.
- A warjack must spend a focus point to perform a s Slam Power Attack.
The slam move
- Pick a target in your LOS.
- Turn your warjack/warbeast to directly face the target.
- Advance your warjack/warbeast it's currrent SPD + 3".
- You don't ignore free strikes.
- You cannot choose to stop the slam move. You only stop your advance when either:
- You contact an obstacle, obstruction, or model (and you don't have a special rule that lets you move through them).
- Something causes the slamming model to be pushed, thrown, or placed during its advance.
- You get into 'slam range' of your target.
- For colossals & gargauntuans, this is 2".
- For anyone else, it's 0.5" (regardless of the range of their normal melee weapons).
- You run out of movement.
- You can't change your facing after finishing the move.
If you made it into melee range with your target, you also need to know how far you moved in total:
- If you moved 3" or more, you made a successful slam. You get to slam the target.
- If you moved less than 3", you were unsuccessful. You only get a normal attack with no boosts.
If you did not make it into melee range with your target, your activation immediately ends.
- You may not trigger stuff like Reposition after an unsuccessful slam, because you 'skip' the "at the end of activation" portion.
The slam attack
If your slam move was unsuccessful, then:
- Make a normal melee attack and damage roll.
- Next step is covered in "After the attack", below.
If your slam move was successful, then
- Make a melee attack roll
- If the target has a larger base than you, you suffer -2 to the attack roll.
- If the roll misses
- Nothing happens. Next step is covered in "After the attack", below.
- If it hits then the target is slammed. The 'default' distance is d6", but can be modified:
- If the target has a larger base than you, the slam distance is halved.
- If you are a colossal or gargantuan slamming a small-based (not smaller, just small), then add 2" to the slam distance.
- For moving the slammed model and damaging it, refer to "Being Slammed" (below).
After the slam attack
- Whether the target was slammed or not, the slamming model can buy additional attacks against anyone who is still in their melee range.
- You don't get your initial melee attacks, though.
There are several weapons/spells that cause the target to be slam, you can review them at Category: Slam.
When this occurs, the weapon/spell will always say what direction the target is slammed (normally "directly away") and how far it is thrown (normally "d6 inches").
So, the main differences between this type of Slam and a "Power Attack Slam" that players get tripped up on are:
- You can slam larger based models.
- The slam distance has no correlation to your base size.
- This type of slam is not a Power Attack, so won't benefit from anything that specifically boosts Power Attacks (such as Borka1's feat).
Finally, we get to the interesting part! Now we need to move the slammed model, work out whether any other models are hit by the slammed model, and apply damage appropriately.
How to move a "slammed" model
- Move the thrown model directly away from the slamming model.
- The slammed movement is slowed down by rough terrain.
- The slammed model suffers damaging effects of hazards it enters and/or passes through (such as acid clouds).
- You stop moving the slammed model if it contacts an obstacle, obstruction, or a model that is equal- or larger-based.
- The thrown model goes straight models with a smaller base size.
- If it's final position is on top of another model, use the Rule of Least Disturbance to jiggle the models into legal positions. All those models count as being contacted by the slammed model.
Damage (etc) on the "slammed" model
- After the slammed movement, the slammed model is knocked down.
- If it can't be knocked down, but activates later on the same turn (ie it was slammed by a friendly model) then it must forfeit either movement or action.
- If, after the slam movement, it's landed somewhere it gains immunity to knockdown then it won't be knocked down. For instance it was slammed into a No Sleeping on the Job aura, or into B2B with a Defensive Line model.
- The slammed model suffers a damage roll equal to:
- Slam (Power Attack) : POW is equal to the attacker's current STR.
- Throw (Other) : POW is as per the weapon/spell's text description.
- Add 1d6 if the model was stopped by an obstacle, obstruction, or a model with an equal- or larger-base size. (Also known as "Contact damage").
- Slam damage is boostable.
- If the model is slammed off the edge of terrain and falls 1" or more, it suffers a second damage roll, fall damage, with a POW = 12 +2d6 (+1d6 for every 2" it falls, excluding the first 2").
- If the slammed-and-falling model contacts an equal- or smaller-based model, then that model takes fall damage too (as well as the Collateral damage they're already taking).
- If the slammed-and-falling model contacts a larger-based model, the larger model is unaffected.
Damage (etc) on the "contacted" model(s)
Contacted models suffer "Collateral" damage. This depends on their base size relative to the slammed model:
- For contacted models with an smaller base size, which the slammed model moved "through" and/or landed "on"
- They are knocked down.
- They suffer a Collateral damage roll with a POW equal to:
- Slam (Power Attack) : POW is equal to the attacker's current STR.
- Slam (Other) : POW is as per the weapon/spell's text description.
- Collateral damage is 'not boostable.
- For contacted models with an equal base size, which the slammed model stopped when it contacted:
- They are knocked down
- They suffer a Collateral damage roll as above.
- For contacted models with a larger base size, which the slammed model stopped when it contacted:
- They don't suffer anything.
Collateral damage is simultaneous with the slammed model's damage. Also, collateral damage is not considered to be from an enemy attack and will not trigger stuff like Vengeance.
When should I use a Slam?
Slamming is one of the most useful power attacks. Some examples of how to best use it:
- If your opponent has hidden their warcaster/warlock behind some troops, then simply slam the frontline of troops into him. (Doesn't work if the warcaster/warlock is on a larger base than the screeners, though)
- If your opponent has left a model standing in front of a wall, or larger model, simply slam it into the wall and you'll get a damage roll equal to your STR +2d6 +1d6 (from the wall) +1d6 (if you boost).
- If your opponent has a high DEF model which you want to kill, place one of your own models in front of it then slam your own model into the high DEF one - it'll be automatically knocked down!
- Don't rely on getting any collateral damage unless you slam the model into a large, tight-packed group of enemies.
- However, you should definitely slam the enemy if they're standing in front of a conveinent wall/building/larger based model.
- Obstacles stop slams, but not throws. Obstructions stop both.
- If three models are B2B and in a triangle formation, and you slam one toward the other two, it will contact both those two models simultaneously. (Infernal Ruling)