Skarlock Thrall

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

This server will go offline in September 2018. Please migrate to our new server, Warmachine University
For more info on why we're moving to a new server, check out the Brief History section on the new main page, and/or listen to episode 45 of the LOS podcast
If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot.
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.


Skarlock Thrall
Cryx Thrall Solo (Attached)

Skarlock thralls are insidious creatures of blackest sorcery. Linked to their warcasters by bonds so powerful they can act in their master's stead, skarlocks move against enemies with a confidence born of a baleful intelligence.

Basic Info[edit]

Skarlock Thrall
SkarlockThrall WEB.jpg
SPD 6
MAT 3
M.A. 6
DEF 14
ARM 12
HP 5
Cost 4
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Claws - 0.5" reach, P+S 6 melee weapon

Abilities[edit]

  • Undead - This model is an undead model and not a living model.
  • Attached - Before the start of the game, attach this model to a friendly Faction warcaster for the rest of the game. Each Faction warcaster can only have one model/unit attached to it.
  • Soul Taker: Soul Cage - This model collects souls from living enemies who die within 2" of it. This model can store up to three souls and spend them for the following:
    • Strength of Death - During its Combat Action, this model can spend soul tokens to boost one attack or damage roll for each token spent.
  • Magic Ability [ 6 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).
    • Dark Fire (★ Attack) - 10" range, POW 12 attack. If it kills a living enemy model then the caster gets the soul regardless of the proximity of other Soul Takers.
    • Spell Slave (★ Action) or (★ Attack) - While in its controlling warcaster/warlock's control area, this model may cast a single spell from their boss's spell card. There are several limits on what type of spells can be cast.


Thoughts on Skarlock Thrall[edit]

Skarlock Thrall in a nutshell[edit]

The Skarlock is an offensive solo that pops off Dark Fire and other "zap" spells each turn, and occasionally moonlights as a support solo with non-offensive spells.

With the severe restrictions that Spell Slave has (see below) it is best to think of this model as a way to increase your ranged presence with Dark Fire, and to consider any spells it gains via your warcaster as just icing on the cake. Trying to shoehorn it into a support role (like how it was in Mk2) is just going to leave you disappointed. In saying that, though, there are a few casters where it can act in a support role quite well. Spamming Ghost Walk for Deneghra1, for example.

The Skarlock directly competes with Maelovous from The Withershadow Combine, who does the exact same thing but better. A Skarlock is seldom the better choice of the two, though it can work as a budget option.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Some casters can actually use the Skarlock Thrall to the level that the Withershadow Combine does not out perform him by a lot.

  • Pirate Queen Skarre only needs a spell slave to can Ritual Sacrifice. In addition to having no debuffs she will regularly maintain, the Withershadow Combine is superfluous in comparison.
  • Warwitch Deneghra's only has two spells a slave can cast Ghostwalk and Venom. Her upkeeps are so deadly that their victims might not require that you upkeep them so Admonia might not be needed. For this, a Skarlock Thrall is a decent choice for her.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • As well as the "obvious" restrictions listed on the card (no upkeeps, no SELF, no CTRL, no COST 4+), you're also limited by the definition of "spellcaster" which renders almost every support spell the Skarlock could cast as near-useless. Why? Well basically if the spell description includes a sentence that has "the spellcaster's battlegroup" or "the spellcaster's control area" you have to mentally delete that sentence from the spell effects, because the Skarlock has neither. For example:
    • Excarnate lets you RFP an enemy and create a free grunt in your control area? Nope! The Skarlock gets to RFP them but he can't create a freebie.
    • Siphon Bolt lets you remove focus from the enemy and have the spellcaster gain it? Nope! The Skarlock gets to remove the point of focus but no one gets to gain it.
    • And so on and so forth.
  • The Skarlock is made largely redundant by the Withershadow Combine. The only reason to take the Skarlock is if you're trying to save 5 points.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

Placeholder.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Cryx models[edit]

CryxLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Battlegroups
Warcasters Agathia - Aiakos2 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Terminus - Venethrax - Scaverous - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Coven
C
R
Y
X
Warcaster attachments The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Iron Lich Overseer (Marshal) - Aiakos1 (BGC)
Light warjacks Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker
Cankerworm
Heavy warjacks Corruptor - Desecrator - Harrower - Inflictor - Leviathan - Reaper - Seether - Slayer
Barathrum - Deathjack - Erebus - Kharybdis - Malice - Nightmare
Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Living Undead
Units BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - Carrion Thralls - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Soulhunters
Characters: Blackbane's Ghost Raiders - The Withershadow Combine
Solos Misery Cage - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Warwitch Siren
Characters: Agrimony - Aiakos1 - Axiara - Darragh Wrathe - Gerlak - Severa Blacktide
Bloat Thrall - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Soul Trapper
Characters: Bane Lord Tartarus - Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Hellslinger
Battle Engines No living engines Wraith Engine
 
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders
Merc cryx.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Captain Bartolo - Captain Damiano - Cognifex - Drake MacBain - Exulon - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2

Requires a 2+ caster game.

C
R
Y
X
I
A
N
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Raluk Moorclaw (Marshal) - Rorsh & Brine (Lesser Warlock) - Wrongeye & Snapjaw (Lesser Warlock)
Warjacks, Warbeasts, & Monstrosities The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Cryx army depends entirely on what type of model is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
 
Mercenary Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates & CA & WA - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Heavy Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen


Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Devil's Shadow Mutineers - Boomhowlers

Solos Ogrun Bokur - Swamp Gobber Raiders


Bloody Bradigan - Bosun Grogspar - Doc Killingsworth - [[Eilish Garrity - Hawk - Gorman - Gudran - Rockbottom - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk Moorclaw - Rorsh & Brine - Madelyn Corbeau (Attached)- Saxon - Seargeant Nicolas - Stannis - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines None


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Undead - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Attached      (Edit)

  • Attached models are not (normally) part of the warcaster's/warlock's battlegroup. (Infernal Ruling)
(You need the Companion rule to become part of the battlegroup).
  • Thus, attachments are not affected by battlegroup-only effects such as Energizer (unless they're a Companion).

Rules Clarification : Soul Cage - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Strength of Death - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
  • Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
    • (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)
  • A model in a unit cannot use its Combat Action to cast a spell until all members of the unit have completed their movement. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Dark Fire      (Edit)

  • "Regardless of proximity" soul takers (Edit)
    • The model which ignores distance doesn't always get the soul. Abilities which say you "can't" collect souls (such as Soul Ward) trump it, due to the general rule that "can't trumps can".
    • If there are multiple models that all have the "regardless of proximity" clause, then you randomise who the soul goes to. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Spell Slave      (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

Explanatory Note

This Rules Clarification is very similar to the ones for Necromancy and Geomancy (since all 3 are very similar abilities). Where Spell Slave is unique, the text has been coloured blue.

Who does the casting

  • It is the model with Spell Slave that does the casting, not the warcaster. (Infernal Ruling)
    • It's not anything simple like "the warcaster gets an extra spell" during the warcaster's activation.
    • Nor is it the "Spell Slave acts like an arc node". (On that note, Spell Slaves can't use arc nodes).
    • Any buffs/debuffs currently on your warcaster/warlock are completely irrelevant to the Spell Slave's casting.
  • For stuff that interacts with spellcasters (such as Witch Hunter) it is the location of the Spell Slave that matters, not the location of the warcaster.
    • If the Spell Slave is within an area of "models cannot cast spells within this area" effect, it cannot cast spells. Regardless of where your warcaster is.
    • If the warcaster is within an area of "models cannot cast spells within this area" effect, that has no effect on what the Spell Slave can do.

When/how does a Spell Slave cast

  • Spell Slaves use their Magic Ability to perform either a (★ Attack) or (★ Action).
    • Because you use your Combat Action to do (★ Attack) or (★ Action) you must complete your movement before casting a spell (unlike warcasters).
    • Typically, you cannot cast a spell after charging, because instead you must use your Combat Action to make a melee attack.
    • If you forfeit your action, or are affected by a enemy abilities that prevents you using your action, you will be unable to cast spells.
    • After casting a spell, a Spell Slave's activation ends (unlike what happens when your warcaster casts spells) because it has now completed both its move and its action.
  • Spell Slaves do not pay the full cost of a spell, so are unaffected by stuff which changes the COST of a spell; such as Lamentation. (Infernal Ruling) or Scaverous's feat (Infernal Ruling)

What spells can they choose to cast

  • A Spell Slave cannot cast spells with a range of SELF or CTRL or with a COST more than 3, or that are an UPKEEP.
    • In addition to this, a Spell Slave is heavily limited by the definition of 'Spellcaster'. Specifically:
      1. Spell Slaves can't cast spells that use the phrase "Spellcaster's battlegroup" because (most) spell slaves aren't in the battlegroup.
      2. Spell Slaves cannot benefit from anything that occurs in the 'Spellcaster's CTRL area' because they don't have one. (Infernal Ruling)
        For instance, a Spell Slave that casts Excarnate will not be able to summon a new grunt.
      3. Spell Slaves cannot benefit from spells that give the caster Focus. Such benefits are limited to models with the 'Focus Manipulation' rule, which only warcasters have.
        For instance, a Spell Slave that casts Siphon Bolt would still take focus from the enemy, but won't gain any focus itself.
      4. Sometimes a Spell Slave can cast a cast a spell, but they will miss out on some of the benefits of the spell (as described above)
    • A Hordes Spell Slave cannot cast animi, because they're not "spells on the warlock's spell card".

How can they boost the spell

  • You can not use focus that is on the warcaster to boost spells that the Spell Slave casts. (refer rulebook section on using focus to boost: only the model with focus on it can spend it, and only during its own activation)
  • Spell Slaves can only boost if they have a special rule allowing them do so - for instance, the Skarlock Thrall can spend soul tokens on spells via its 'Strength of Death' ability.

Other

  • The Spell Slave doesn't gain any buffs/abilities that are on your warlock/warcaster (such as True Sight).
  • The Spell Slave cannot channel spells through arc nodes. You can only channel through nodes in your CTRL area, and none of the three models have a CTRL area.
  • The Spell Slave can use spells like Annihilation to gain enemy souls. But generally they will be unable to use the soul tokens so they will stay on the Spell Slave for the rest of the game (doing nothing). (Infernal Ruling)