Skorne Battle Engine
Lumbering inexorably across the battlefield, animantaraxes are living siege engines. The ornate houdaas atop their backs bristle with veteran crews of Praetorians wielding spears and Venators manning double-combed reiver guns. Incoming fire serves only to enrage these giant beasts, and their handlers gladly indulge their anger and watch with grim satisfaction as the behemoths smash through their foes and deliver death to everything within reach.
- Double Reiver - 12" range, ROF d3+1, POW 13 gun.
- Volume Fire - Gain +1 to attack and damage rolls with this weapon against medium-based models, and +2 vs large- and huge-based models.
- Club Tail - 2" reach, P+S 18 melee weapon
- Mount - 1" reach, POW 15 mount attack
- Spear (x2) - 2" reach, P+S 11 melee weapons
- Independent Attack - This attack has base STR 6, base POW 5, and P+S 11. During its activation, the Animantarax can make its initial attacks with these weapons before it makes its Normal Movement.
- Battle Engine - All Battle Engines share the same special rules. Most notably being huge, having two fields of fire, and being immune to knock down, stationary, etc.
- Cavalry - All Cavalry come with a stack of standard special rules, most notably Impact Attacks and auto-boosted charge attacks.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
- Beast - The Animantarax can be targeted with Medicate special actions as if it were a warbeast.
- Dual Attack - This model can make both melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
- Reposition [3"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to 3", then its activation ends.
- Trample Power Attack - This model can make trample power attacks.
- Cantankerous - When an Animantarax is damaged by an attack, it gains one rage token and can carry up to three. During its activation, the Animantarax can spend rage tokens to buy or boost melee attacks.
2017.01 The Great Skorne Errata
- SPD increased to 5.
- Double Reiver : Increased RNG to 12 , Burst Fire replaced with Volume Fire
- Points decreased to 17.
- The animantarax gained 11 hitpoints, +1 ARM, and +3 SPD (but Cantankerous no longer gives extra SPD).
- +1" RNG on the Club Tail, and Critical Smite swapped for auto-knockdown.
- The Independant Attack was buffed so it can be done before the model moves. Which has some odd rules interactions.
Thoughts on the Siege Animantarax
Siege Animantarax in a nutshell
The Siege Animantarax works as if someone stuck a Venator Flayer Cannon on the back of a Rhinodon and then both gave it an injection of nitrous oxide and cut it loose from the battlegroup so it neither needs nor can receive much in the way of caster support. It shoots like the artillery piece (with volume fire making up for the loss of the aiming bonus). It's faster than an unbuffed Archidon and hits brutally hard; POW 18 with auto knockdown, free charges with boosted to hit rolls thanks to the Cavalry rule, and the ability to buy three extra attacks is as good as most heavies. And doesn't need to be anywhere near your caster.
The alternative comparison is that it's the Titan Cannoneer's battlegroup-independent cousin, costing the same and with fairly similar stats other than its speed; cantankerous tokens replace Fury.
Combos & Synergies
- Paingiver Beast Handlers - Whip then medicate the Animantarax on turn 1 and it's good to go at high speed and the beast handlers can worry about your battlegroup for the rest of the game.
- Lord Arbiter Hexeris - Black Spot allows you to "launder" your attacks. Killing enemy infantry with the spears, the Reivers, or even impact attacks to get extra attacks from the tail onto an enemy heavy.
- Lord Tyrant Hexeris - Parasite makes for unpleasantly hard hitting Reivers.
- Lord Assassin Morghoul - Mortality to allow him to kill his target. Shadow play to go through obstructions. And frankly if the Animantarax starts in 13" of the enemy caster and has a landing spot that brings them within 2" then a boosted knockdown charge will leave most casters about to die.
- Makeda & the Exalted Court - His reiver shots cause Grievous Wound under Hand of Death, and unlike a mammoth, he can use Overtake on his melee kill for better mobility. Ideal to charge infantry before moving toward a colossal. You can even shoot that annoying krielstone bearer that hangs in the back.
- Lord Tyrant Zaadesh makes the Animantarax really scary on feat turn. MAT 8 P+S 20 auto-knockdown defensive strike is not at all what anyone wants to see coming the other way.
- Basilisk Krea - because no one likes facing huge bases that are ARM 22 vs shooting (ARM 12 vs Armor Piercing) and have a 13" charge range coming back. And the Animantarax loves being able to land that first hit on a heavy warbeast without boosting, so paralyse them.
Drawbacks and downsides
- Huge bases can be jammed.
- Landing a huge base after a trample almost never happens.
- Recharging the cantankerous tokens when it's charged in can be a problem. Of course if the enemy isn't attacking it, you win anyway.
- Don't work very well in double. While sheer speed mitigate their speed, they still are bulky, and you will have your paingivers severely taxed if you need to fill them both although a single unit can manage six hits between two Animantaraxes (leaving them unmedicated).
Tricks and Tips
- Three paingiver whips on turn 1 and a medicate means it's fully charged and down only 1-2 health boxes. At that point it can run like the wind. Possibly somewhere you aren't taking your battle group
- Trample and shoot for that bit of extra movement (counting reposition it's almost as much as you get from running).
- Knockdown on it mean your army can fire on his target without penalty. Assuming the Animantarax isn't in the way of course...
- Thanks to its almost 5" base you can run it on turn 1 to about the 12" line, then have Paingivers whip it.
- Don't forget that the Animantarax is cavalry so its charge attack roll is boosted.
- It is also one of the rare living battle engines, so affected by rules and abilities which interact with such models (Life drinker, Bleed, Butcher 3's feat, Poison, Annoyance, Burning Ash, etc.)
- Originally released in Hordes: Domination, 2011 November
- This model has been reworked possibly more than any other in Warmachine. In Mk2 it was given a complete overhaul because the original version was terrible. In Mk3 it was given an overhaul both as part of the Great Skorne Errata and then again as part of the Great Battle Engine CID
Other Skorne models
Rules Clarification : Burst Fire and/or Volume Fire - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Knockdown (Edit)
- Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.
Rules Clarification : Independent Attack (Edit)
- Various rules interactions: (Infernal Ruling)
- The Independent Attack does not occur during your Combat Action.
- You can use your Normal Movement to run or trample, after using an Independent Attack.
- You can make your Independent Attacks before deciding and declaring whether you are running, trampling, or whatever.
- You cannot make your other attacks before your Normal Movement, only the Independent Attacks.
- You can make Independent Attack, then forfeit your Combat Action (to Haley2's feat, for example).
- You can declare a charge, make your charge movement, then make your Independent Attack, then make your charge attack.
- You can purchase more attacks with the Spears but only during your Combat Action, after completing your movement and initial attacks.
- Independent Attack is optional. You can do one spear attack, then move, then do the other attack during your normal Combat Action.
- Independent Attacks are still initial attacks, so can be prevented by stuff like Stagger
Rules Clarification : Battle Engine (Edit)
- Do not confuse the Colossals & Gargantuans rules with the Battle Engine rules just because they're both huge based.
- Of all the things that can't happen to a Colossal/Gargantuan (such as gaining Stealth, being placed, etc), about 90% of them can happen to a Battle Engine.
Rules Clarification: : Cavalry (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
| Mount Weapon
- Mount Weapons are melee weapons. (Infernal Ruling) This means:
- Mount Attacks can benefit from any buffs that affect "melee weapons" (such as Acidic Touch and Elasticity) or "melee attacks" (such as Battle Lust).
- Mount Weapons can be used to make free strikes.
- If the model doesn't have any regular melee weapon (such as the Gun Carriage) then it does have a melee range, can engage enemy models, and can make free strikes; anyway.
- Despite being a melee weapon, you cannot use a Mount's special attack on the same activation you charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If you have Trampling Hooves, because that allows you to make charge attacks with your mount when you charge.
- Mount attacks will trigger "Melee attack" stuff like Battle Wizard.
- You can purchase additional attacks with your Mount Weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Movement
- You cannot "stop" in an illegal position to carry out Impact Attacks. For instance, halfway over a linear obstacle, or a flying cavalry stopping while it 'overlaps' other models, or stopping halfway through an Incorporeal model.
- The reason is, you need to obey the rule "this model can advance through [stuff] if they have enough movement to move completely past it".
- Stopping during your movement doesn't satisfy that rule, whether that's the "stop" at the end of the model's normal movement or the "stop" for impact attacks.
- If your charge target is included in your Impact Attacks, then you need to turn and face it and end your movement before starting the attacks (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks').
- As such, things which trigger at "End of Movement" (such as Admonition) will occur before your Impact Attacks.
- On the other hand, if your Impact Attacks don't include your charge target, then you're interupting your movement to resolve them, and thus stuff like Admonition won't trigger.
Impact Attacks - The attack(s)
- You resolve stuff that occurs "after the attack is resolved" (such as Battle Wizard) before continuing with your charge movement.
- If you have an ability that boosts your "first" melee attack (such as Stir the Blood), then only one attack will be boosted even though you're making multiple simultaneous attacks.
- If you choose to make any impact attacks, you make all attacks against all models in the Mount's melee range (even friendly models).(Infernal Ruling)
Impact Attacks - Other
- You cannot use "any time" abilities while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement; and you can only use 'any time' abilities before moving or after moving, but not during movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If your Impact targets include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities.
- If you have a unit of Cavalry, charge them and do impact attacks, remember you interrupt movement to do impacts, but you have to resolve all movements before doing any charge attacks. So for example it would go:
- Cavalry model A charges enemy X, and contacts model M. Stop and make impact attacks against M. Then continue movement to X.
- Cavalry model B charges enemy Y, and contacts model N. Stop and make impact attacks against N. Then continue movement to Y.
- Cavalry model C charges enemy Z, and contacts model O. Stop and make impact attacks against O. Then continue movement to Z.
- Resolve model A's charge attack vs X, B's vs Y, and C's vs Z. (This can be done in any order, as per normal)
- Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).
- Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
- Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
- Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.
- Flight on a Cavalry model (Edit)
- Although you can move over obstacles/models while charging, if you want to stop and make Impact Attacks while you fly "over" models you need to stop in a legal position. You can't make Impact Attacks while your flying horse is on top of obstacles, models, etc.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
Rules Clarification : Beast - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Dual Attack (Edit)
- There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with, however if you miss it must still be re-rolled vs a new random target.
- If the new random target is a friendly it will get the DEF bonus, since you can't be in melee with friendlies.
- You can target a model they are not in melee with with a ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
- This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
Rules Clarification : Reposition (Edit)
- Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling) See also this article for a detailed explanation.
- You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended. (Infernal Ruling)
- This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Trample Power Attack (Edit)
- Sometimes this ability is given to a model type that can't normally trample.
- If that model is a warjack or warbeast (such as the light warjack Shrike) then it needs to pay a focus/fury to do a trample.
- If that model is not a warjack/beast (such as the Battle Engine Gun Carriage) then it can trample for free.
- See also the Trample rules recap - there are several Infernal Rulings that we have not repeated here.
Rules Clarification : Cantankerous - None yet. (Edit)