Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.
Theme - Shadows of the Retribution
The site is in the process of being cloned to a new server. IF you make an edit in the next few weeks, there is a chance it won't get duplicated to the new server.
Retribution Theme Force
The Retribution of Scyrah's mage hunters traditionally undertake clandestine missions executed by solo operatives and small teams of elite and dedicated warriors. On rare occasions, however, a show of force is required.
Theme Force Restrictions
A Shadows of the Retribution army can only include Retribution models from the following list:
Theme Force Bonuses
- You may include one Mercenary solo and one Mercenary unit that will work for Retribution.
- These models can be included even if they have the Partisan [Retribution] rule.
- Mercenary units in this army can include attachments.
- For every full 20 points of Retribution units in your army, you can add one Reribution solo to the army free of cost.
- Warrior models/units in the army gain "optional Take Down". (Take Down (Theme version) - Models disabled in melee by this model cannot use Tough. Models boxed in melee by this model can be RFP'd if you so choose.)
- You gain +1 to your starting roll.
- Gained access to Mercs. No other changes.
Thoughts on this Theme Force
Shadows of the Retribution in a nutshell
The ninja theme - lots of stealthy skirmish infantry with good DEF and maneuverability, but poor ARM and hitpoints.
A quick note on sportsmanship. Though your warriors' attacks can RFP a model, it is not the same as having RFP on them all the time. In the spirit of fair play always inform your opponent whether or not you'll use the RFP feature. If you miss that, they can assume that the model was destroyed and not removed from play, causing a whole lot of confusion (soul collecting, eligibility for revival, etc).
Theme strengths & Playing to them
- This is mostly a solos and infantry unit Theme list.
- Just about everything has stealth.
- The list wants to close in fast for an alpha strike, before opponents get a chance to get around the army's stealth.
Theme weaknesses & Mitigating them
- Nearly everything in the list has stealth and uses it as their primary defense from being damaged at range. Usually this is great, but against certain armies, say Cygnar with Captain Kara Sloan, this list could crumble quickly. If you get stuck in such a match-up, close the distance quick and screen, but expect a tough fight if you are kept at range.
- Limited options at range, with only the Mage Hunter Strike Force and whichever Eiryss you bring. Both are great at shooting down warjacks and casters, but will struggle against troops and warbeasts.
- The list is entirely full of glass hammers. Everything hits pretty hard, but gets killed by a stiff breeze.
List Building tips
You almost certainly want at least 40 points in infantry units, in order to get Eiryss and Narn for free.
Potential 50 point list:
Garreth, Blade of Retribution +29
-Moros - 11
Mage Hunter Strike Force + Force Commander-20
Spears of Scyrah-9
Mage Hunter Infiltrators-13
Eiryss 1 -0
2 Mage Hunter Assassins-8
Issyria provides her battery of stat fixers, Blinding Light to lock out anti-Stealth ranged threats, and the usual upwards statistical pressure on feat turn.
Ossyan makes MHSF extra murderous with his feat turn damage die.
Rules Clarification : Take Down - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: Theme Forces (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.
| Mercenaries and Partisans
- When you take a Partisan Mercenary, it counts as your Faction. However this doesn't increase the number of total mercenaries allowed. (Infernal Ruling)
- Exception: If the Partisan Mercenary is explicitedly listed as one of the models you can take in the theme (such as Cephalyx in Cryx's Black Industries theme), then you can take the full FA plus your "up to one Merc" allotment. (Infernal Ruling)
- Sometimes a specific Mercenary/Minion model/unit will gain a theme benefit of "If this model is included, it counts as a Faction model" (such as Greygore in Kriel Company). In this case, the model/unit might or might not count against your "up to one merc" limit:
- If that Merc is in the list of models explicitly allowed (such as Savio in Storm Division), they won't count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- If that Merc isn't in the list, (such as the Devil's Shadows in Slaughter Fleet Raiders), they will count against your "up to one Merc" allowance.
- Partisans will count towards any relevant free points. For instance, Nyss will count twoards the "20 points of Retribution units" in the Defenders of Ios theme. (Infernal Ruling)
- Partisans can be eligible to be taken as free choices. For instance, Erysis1 can be taken as a free solo in the Legion of Dawn theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenaries and Ranking Officers
- If you can include a Merc unit, and its attachments, then you can attach a Ranking Officer. This is true regardless whether or not that Ranking Officer is on the list of "Allowed models" . (Infernal Ruling)
- Adding a Ranking Officer to a Merc unit doesn't increase the number of Merc units you can take.
- The Merc unit will count towards your "X points of [Faction] models/units" benefit (if your theme is worded that way). (Infernal Ruling)
Mercenary Warjacks, Warbeasts, & Companions
- As per the errata to the core rules, if your "up to one Merc" ...
- ... can take warbeasts/warjacks, then you can add warbeast(s)/warjack(s) (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
- ... comes with a Companion model, then you'll get that Companion (without exceeding your "up to one" allowance)
Bonus - One [X] gains [Y]
- If you need to choose which models get your theme bonus, then you do this choice after deployment. (Infernal Ruling)
- An example is how Winter Guard Kommand gives Advance Move to one-warjack-of-your-choice-per-WG-unit.
- In comparison, Destruction Initiative gives all Servitors the Shield Guard ability so you don't need to "make" a choice.
- You should still write on your army list how many of these bonuses you get to hand out, though, so your opponent can clearly see. (Infernal Ruling)
- ie at the bottom of your list, you'd write "3 warjacks gain Advance Move" but you don't need to state which three are going to get the bonus.
Theme Forces, free models, and Specialists/ADR in Steamroller
- You can swap out as many models from your main list into your specialists and vice versa as you like, but you must completely recalculate the new army list when you do, including bonuses. As long as the new army list is valid, including all free models, it doesn't matter what the left over points in your specialists are. (Staff Ruling)
- If your theme only allows one merc solo, you can't have one in your main list and a different one in your specialists.
Unit Attachments & free points
- If a unit counts towards your free points, then all attachments count too; regardless of whether the attachment is the same model type. For instance:
Theme - The Bones of Orboros
- Una1 cannot be taken in this theme (yet) due to the conflict between the theme's "Only Construct warbeasts allowed" and Una1's "Must take warbeasts with flight". There are no construct warbeasts with flight (yet). But if/when there is, then Una1 can be taken in this theme. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Call of the Wild
- When it comes to other things that alter COST (such as Lamentation), follow basic maths: Double/halve first, then add/subtract.
- Due to the way Tanith's feat is worded, during her feat turn the COST of animi cannot drop below 1. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - The Faithful Masses
- A Mercenary unit with an Attendant Priest does count as Protectorate unit for the purpose of calculating points for free cards. There is a bug in Warroom that prevents it counting properly. (Staff Ruling)
Theme - The Ghost Fleet
- The "free solo" can be any kind of solo, it doesn't have to be a Revenant solo.
Theme - Kriel Company
- Greygore/Dannon count against your "up to one Minion unit" allowance. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Llaelese Resistance
- It is 2 Cruicible or 2 Cygnar or 2 Menoth.
You can't take more than 2, and you can't mix and match from multiple Factions. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Scourge of the Broken Coast
Theme - Slaughter Fleet Raiders
- The Devil's Shadows Mutineers count against your "up to one Mercenary unit" allowance. (Infernal Ruling)
Theme - Clockwork Legions
- If you attach a small-based model to a medium-based unit, it is no longer a medium-based unit and won't benefit from Vengeance.
- However, it will regain Vengeance when the small base dies. Furthermore, the small base dying will trigger Vengeance.
- (Infernal Ruling)
Models in this Theme Force
Refer to Category: Shadows of the Retribution