Sea Dog Deck Gun

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Mercenary Privateer Weapon Crew

fluf text

Basic Info[edit]

Sea Dog Deck Gun

Mercenary Privateer Unit

Sea Dog Deck Gun.jpeg
SPD 3
MAT 5
RAT 4
DEF 13
ARM 11
HP 1
Unit Size 2
Cost 3

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

Both[edit]

Hand Weapon - 0,5" range, P+S 8 melee weapon

Gunner only[edit]

Deck Gun 12" range, AOE 3, POW 13 gun

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Mercenary - will work for Cryx, Cygnar, Khador, and the Protectorate
  • Privateer
  • Sea Dog
  • Unit
  • Reposition [_"] - At the end of an activation in which it did not run or fail a charge, this model can advance up to _", then its activation ends.

Gunner Only[edit]

  • Man-Sized - This model is on a large base, but is treated as being on a small one.
  • Mobile Artillery - When this model moves, it gains additional movement for each Grunt nearby.
  • Take Up - If this model is killed you may instead remove a Grunt within 1". Remove any effects on this model, and apply any effects that were on the old grunt.

Thoughts on Sea Dog Deck Gun[edit]

Sea Dog Deck Gun in a nutshell[edit]

You read everywhere on the site, that this and that infantry tend to die to blast damage, but don't know, how to acquire one? The deck gun is among the cheapest way to get some AOE shooting onto the board. Being dirt cheap, this artillery provides (very) low grade shooting to support the Sea Dogs, and the forces they accept them, as mercenaries.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • Squishy
  • Not terribly long ranged

Tricks and Tactics[edit]

Changes from Mk2[edit]

  • Standard artillery upgrades and it got cheaper.
  • Lost a point of ARM
  • Gunner lost a point of SPD, gained Mobile Artillery to compensate
  • Lost Gang
  • Lost Range Finder
  • Gained Reposition

Other[edit]

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Placeholder.


Rules Clarification : Reposition      (Edit)

  • Models out of formation cannot move via Reposition. Refer to the "Out of Formation" rules in the core rulebook.
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at the end of activation" (such as Sprint) after resolving Reposition, because your activation has ended. Click here for a detailed explanation
  • You cannot trigger abilities that occur "at any time" (such as Go To Ground) during a Reposition. Because you can't trigger it while moving, and after moving your activation has ended.
    • This holds true even if it's a unit with multiple Reposition moves. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Man-Sized      (Edit)

  • Despite being mounted on a large base, the model counts as a small-base for any and every rule. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This includes Ranking Officers being able to join them. (Infernal Ruling)
    • This includes abilities that only work vs small-based models (such as Consume, Trampling over them, etc). Those work just fine vs Man-Sized models.
  • When drawing LOS it blocks LOS across the full width of its base (some players think you should swap it for a small proxy base when trying to draw LOS past the edge of its base ... don't do that).
  • Since it only counts as a small-based model, it only blocks LOS to other small-based models. You can see medium and larger bases through it just fine.

Rules Clarification : Mobile Artillery - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Take Up - None yet. (Edit)

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces this is a member of[edit]

Mercenary - Faction models (Edit)
Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Ashlynn - Caine3 - Captain Bart - Captain Damiano - Captain Shae - Macbain - Constance - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2
BGC Gastone Crosse
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Sam & the Devil Dogs
Mercenary Warjacks (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rover
Gallant - Rocinante
Colossal Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
Marshals Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker

MercenariesLogo.jpg


Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)


Only lesser warlocks that can take extra large battlegroups are listed here

Units Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Ogrun Assault Corps - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Heavy Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages


Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator

Character Units Alexia1 - Sam & The Devil Dogs - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea - Commodore Cannon - Devil's Shadow Mutineers
Solos Cephalyx Agitator - Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur - Swamp Gobber River Raider
Character Solos Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Bloody Bradigan - Bosun Grogspar - Brun & Lug - Colbie - Dahlia & Skarath - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone1 - Gorman - Gudrun - Harlan Versh - Hutchuk - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Major Harrison Gibbs - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Savio - Saxon - Sergeant Nick - Stannis - Taryn - Thor - Viktor - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
Mercenary - Theme Forces (Edit)
Hammer Strike - The Kingmaker's Army - Operating Theater