| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Minion Gatorman Battle Engine
A massive edifice dedicated to ritual sacrifice, the sacral vault is constructed to harness and store the energies of death, literally housing the souls of those killed around it to power the dark rituals of the attending bokor. The souls trapped within are unleashed to rend enemies to bloody rags, but not before their bodies are turned against their comrades.
- Spectral Fury - 12" range, POW 13 gun
- Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
- Deathly Domination - When the Vault boxes a living or undead non-caster warrior model with this weapon you can take control of it, make a full advance that ignores free strikes, one basic melee attack with it, and then it is destroyed.
- Reload  - This model can spend soul tokens to make up to 2 additional ranged attack(s) with this weapon during its Combat Action. It can make one additional attack for each soul token spent.
- Minion - Works for Circle, Legion, and Trollbloods.
- Battle Engine - All Battle Engines share the same special rules. Most notably being huge, having two fields of fire, and being immune to knock down, stationary, etc.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Eyeless Sight - This model 1) ignores cloud effects when determining LOS, 2) always ignores concealment and Stealth, and 3) never suffers Blind.
- Gunfighter - This model can use its ranged weapons even while in melee, but when it does so it can only target models it's in melee with. It can even make ranged attacks after charging.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
- Soulstorm - While this model has one or more soul tokens, enemy models entering or ending their activations within 2" of it immediately suffer 1 point of Magical Damage.
- Telemetry - Other friendly Faction models gain +2 to magic attack rolls vs enemies that are in this model's CMD range.
- Soul Taker: Crypt of Souls - 1) A Sacral Vault collects souls from living models destroyed in its CMD range and can carry up to 5 souls. 2) If it starts your turn with 0 souls it gains d3. 3) It can spend souls on the following:
- Arcane Vortex - Can negate spells targeting nearby models by spending a soul token. The negated spell's COST is still paid.
- Strength of Death - During its Combat Action, this model can spend soul tokens to boost one attack or damage roll for each token spent.
2017.05 Battle Engine CID
- Cost decreased by 1 point, gained 8 hitpoints, and +1 RAT
- Gun switched from d3 shots to Reload 2 (and uses souls to purchase those attacks)
- Deathly Domination no longer costs a soul to use
- Gained Telemetry, and now works for Trollbloods.
Thoughts on Sacral Vault
Sacral Vault in a nutshell
The Sacral Vault is an extremely effective anti-infantry battle engine, with its soulstorm to keep it safe from weapon masters, collecting souls from friendly and enemy warrior models, and taking over useful enemy troops. With a sizeable CMD range and telemetry it can provide crucial bonus for your warlocks, and your magic-wielding solos.
Combos & Synergies
Drawbacks & Downsides
- Does little against bricks apart of removing critical unit leaders/solos.
- It is slow, and anti-shooting tricks nullify its combat output.
- Like every battle engine, it is not benefiting from battlegroup spells.
- Soulstorm does almost nothing to slow down a heavy warjack / warbeast intending to destroy it. And its gun is not much to be relied on against heavy targets.
Tricks & Tips
- Your opponent can't promote a Grunt if their Leader dies under your control (instead they pick a Grunt to become a unit commander). If your opponent has some "Leader-only" abilities/wargear (such as Revenant Crew, Croe's Cutthroats, or Stormblade Infantry) then using Deathly Dominion can be a good way to snipe out that Leader and eliminate that ability/wargear.
- Placing models within 2" (usually with Telekinesis, Apparition or Slipstream) will not trigger Soulstorm.
How can I include this model in my army?
Minions are a bit more complicated than regular faction models, they can be taken in one of three different ways.
- This model can be included in a pure Minion army.
- This model can be included in the following Faction armies:
- This model can be included in the following theme forces:
Other Minion models
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Deathly Domination (Edit)
- When the model is destroyed it is friendly to the Vault player, and enemy to the original owner. Corpse and Soul tokens will be generated accordingly.
- Also, stuff that triggers on "destroyed by an enemy attack" (such as Righteous Vengeance) won't trigger. The Vault player is effectively destroying a friendly model with a friendly attack.
- However stuff that triggers on "damaged by an enemy attack" (such as normal Vengeance) will trigger, because the Vault doesn't take control until after damage is applied.
- After it is taken off the table, it's "ownership" returns to the original player, and it is eligible for 'Return to Play' stuff.
| Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit)
- Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
- This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
- If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
- The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
- Buffs and effects:
- The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
- If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
- If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.
- Theme abilities:
- If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, whether it keeps that ability is ... being checked
- You can advance a model into an acid cloud and force them to take damage, but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of an acid cloud to inflict infinite damage.
- The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
- If you enter into an area, the controlled model can suffer the effect of entering into the area only once per advance. It means you cannot yo-yo a Devastator in and out of a Razor Wall 36 times to deplete all its damage boxes.
- Models with the Gunfighter advantage can make attacks as they normally would if the ability controlling them allows for basic attacks (e.g., Influence). Note that other "take control" abilities only allow for melee attacks, such as Seduction and Bone Shaker (Gunfighter attacks are ranged attacks).
- Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
- Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
- With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
- As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
- It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
- Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
- Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
- You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
- It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
- Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
- Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
- A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
- Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
- If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!
Rules Clarification : Reload (Edit)
- You can use Reload to make additional attacks after a Special Ranged Attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you have (x2) of a weapon with Reload (such as Caine1), the special rule will only be written on the card once. But you can reload both weapons to the max limit. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Battle Engine (Edit)
- Do not confuse the Colossals & Gargantuans rules with the Battle Engine rules just because they're both huge based.
- Of all the things that can't happen to a Colossal/Gargantuan (such as gaining Stealth, being placed, etc), about 90% of them can happen to a Battle Engine.
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Eyeless Sight (Edit)
- A model that ignores Stealth must ignore both aspects: both (1) the auto-missing, and (2) the 'not counting as an intervening model' parts.
- This can have some strange interactions with casters & channelers, if one has Eyeless Sight and one does not. There are examples on the Category:Channeler page.
Rules Clarification: : Gunfighter (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
- You cannot Aim if you start your activation in melee. (Infernal Confirmation)
- A free strike with a ranged weapon still gets the +2 to hit and boosted damage (I'm pretty sure - I'd like to double check it though).
- 1. Outside of melee
- If the Gunfighter isn't in melee, and didn't charge this turn, then it shoots just the same as a normal model.
- 2. In melee, but didn't charge
- If it didn't charge, it can target anyone it's "in melee" with.
- This can be any model in the Gunfighter's melee range, plus any models that have the Gunfighter in their melee range.
- If a Gunfighter kills all the enemies it is in melee with, and still has the ability to make more ranged attacks, then those attacks just follow the normal Ranged Attack rules. (Infernal Ruling)
- 3. Charged into melee
- If it did charge, its initial attacks can only target models that are in the Gunfighter's melee range.
- If all models in the Gunfighter's melee range are killed before it makes its initial attacks, it loses any unspent initial attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- However if it can purchase additional attacks (via Reload for instance) and/or get free attacks (via Black Spot for instance), then those non-initial attacks can target anyone it's "in melee" with, as per #2 above.
- 4. Other targeting notes
- Remember, you can never be "in melee" with a friendly model, so a Gunfighter can pretty much never choose to target a friend while it's in melee (although it may hit one accidentally, see "Missing" below).
- If the gunfighter is unengaged, it can still shoot a friendly model, which would just be a normal ranged attack.
- You use the Gunfighter's RAT for the attack roll.
- Gunfighters do not ignore the Cover/Concealment bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
- How the +4 DEF bonus for "being in melee" works with Gunfighters is:
- they always ignore it vs enemies, because the "point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target".
- they never ignore it vs friendlies, because you cannot be in melee with a friendly target.
- Obviously, if the Gunfighter isn't actually in melee with the enemy target, then the Gunfighter rules don't apply. So they do get the +4 DEF bonus as if it were a normal ranged attack (because it is).
Missing the Attack Roll
- If you miss the attack roll then you need to randomly reassign the shot just like you would with a normal ranged attack shooting someone in melee. Because nothing in the Gunfighter rules say you ignore this part of the "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules.
- Do not include the Gunfighter model itself in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself, as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) (Locked thread)
- but do include models the Gunfighter is in melee with, and any friendly models that are in melee with them (as per the TMM rules).
- Note that enemy models without magic weapons can't hurt you in melee, but they can engage you.
- Once they do that you're in melee and your target selection is limited to just models in melee (as explained above).
Gunfighter + an AOE weapon
- If you miss then the AOE will deviate as per the normal AOE rules. Not very far, though, considering the max distance you'll be apart is 2".
- If you use an AOE weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the blast template.
Gunfighter + a spray weapon
- Who you can target with the spray is limited as described above, but you get to put the whole spray template down and potentially hit models well outside the melee.
- If you use a spray weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the spray template.
Units of Gunfighters
- If a unit of Gunfighters successfully charge, but someone else in their unit kills their charge target before they get a turn to attack, then they may redirect their attack.
- Redirected attack:
- If they're still engaged, their initial attack (s) must be vs someone in their melee range.
- If they're still engaged, but no one is in their own melee range, they don't get any initial attacks.
- If they're unengaged, they are now free to shoot anyone within the gun's normal range.
- Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
- If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
- These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
- Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
- Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
- Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
- Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
- Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
- Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
- Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
Rules Clarification : Soulstorm - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Telemetry - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Crypt of Souls - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Arcane Vortex (Edit)
- Mulg spends fury to use it, he is not forced for fury. (Infernal Ruling)
- Arcane vortex can be used to counter spells with "Range: Self". (Infernal Ruling)
- Some spells do not have a target, mostly CTRL area spells (such as Siege's Foxhole) but also some (★ Action) (such as Ragman's Death Field). These cannot be cancelled by Arcane Vortex. Infernal Ruling)
- The "Cost" for non-warcaster models includes stuff like "using your special action" or "killing a Mind Bender Drudge."
- Arcane Vortex triggers at step 3 of the spellcasting sequence. (Resolve effects that occur when a model is targeted by a spell.) (Infernal Ruling)
- Arcane Vortex vs Primal Shock (Edit)
- The warbeast that is chosen as the point of origin can not be negated by Arcane Vortex.
- The "target a model within 8 inches" is the part that can be negated by arcane vortex.
- There are some other parts that the Infernals are currently checking.
- (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Strength of Death - None yet. (Edit)