Mercenary Character Solo
Rutger Shaw enlisted in the Cygnaran Army as a young man and trained as a trencher, demonstrating a unique knack for marshaling warjacks as well as skill with a blade. Military service and long years of battle hardened him, even as his conscience chafed at fighting at the whim of callous officers. He opted out and turned sell-sword, spending recent years travelling the Iron Kingdoms guided by his taste for adventure and coin.
- Hand Cannon - 12" range, POW 12 gun
- Mechanikal Sword (Jackknife) - 0.5" range, P+S 12 melee weapon.
- Mercenary - will work for Cygnar, Khador, Protectorate of Menoth.
- Drive : Shield Guard - While in Rutger's CMD range, a warjack under its control gains Shield Guard. (Shield Guard - When a friendly model within 3" is hit by a non-spray ranged attack, this model can be hit instead.)
- Dual Attack - This model can make both melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
- Iron Sentinel - While B2B with a friendly Faction warjack, this model gains +2 DEF and ARM and cannot become knocked down.
- Partner: [ Taryn Di La Rovissi ] - While in Taryn Di La Rovissi's CMD range, this model gains Dodge.(Dodge - When an enemy misses this model with an attack at any time except when it is advancing, this model immediately advance 2" ignoring free strikes.)
- Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
- 'Jack Marshal - All 'jack marshals share the same set of special rules, which basically amount to: This model is not a warcaster but may control a warjack.
Thoughts on Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer
Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer in a nutshell
Rutger Shaw is a skilled jack marshal whose main ability is to give his marshaled warjack Shield Guard, and has Iron Sentinel to let him hang close to his 'jack until it gets to charge range.
Combos & Synergies
Other than the obvious partnership with Taryn, it's mostly the question of which warjack does best with a jack marshal and shield guard. There are several standouts with him, however.
- Talon The cost of the Talon plus Rutger's cost is the same as a Vanguard and it's not hard to make the case for this combination. The Talon, with its shield, is extremely tough for its points cost and is good at jamming up the enemy.
- Freebooter A freebooter is the joint cheapest heavy in the game, and brings a lot of damage boxes for its cost (therefore is ideally placed to catch most bullets). But what really makes the Freebooter a good choice to jack marshal is its chain attack; it's great fun but relies on three consecutive rolls working. This means that an across the board to hit buff is far more useful than a single boost; enter Strike True.
- Mule Using his jack marshal ability Take Aim combined with the Mule's ability to boost its range with Steam Pressure can make for a potent combination, as does his Strike True ability for helping the Mule land hits. It's also a good tough 'jack that can take the hits from Shield Guard like a champ.
- Mariner Strike True and Take Aim improve the Mariner's ability to shoot, while Iron Sentinel and Lash synergize well with its need for a Loader staying B2B.
- Mangler With Aggressive the Mangler might be a better jack to marshal than the Nomad - you can crush on the turn you charge, and Thresher benefits a lot from either True Strike or Crush. Far the most expensive option.
Drawbacks and Downsides
Like all jack marshals, Rutger lacks the ability to give his marshalled 'jack a focus, nor can it benefit from the new Power Up rule.
Tricks and Tips
Changes from Mk2
- Jack Marshals got a significant buff - and Rutger gained a good drive.
- Gained a point of DEF
- Gained Weaponmaster on his sword
- Drive changed from Reroll to Shield Guard
- Lost Flank (Taryn Di La Rovissi)
- Lost Flank (Warjack this Model Controls)
- Gained Iron Sentinel
- Lost Dodge naturally, gained Partner (Taryn Di La Rovissi) which gives Dodge while close to Taryn
- Gained Dual Attack
How can I include this model in my army?
Mercenaries are a bit more complicated than regular faction models, they can be taken in one of three different ways.
- This model can be included in a pure Mercenary army.
- This model can be included in the following Faction armies:
- This model can be included in the following theme forces:
| Mercenary - Faction models (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Magical Damage (Edit)
- The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon such as arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer latest errata).
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. They're not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack.
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be intrepreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Drive (Edit)
- If the Drive is on an Officer model, and that model dies, then the new unit commander does not inherit the Drive.
Rules Clarification : Shield Guard (Edit)
- Shield Guard doesn't work vs spells.
- Since Shield Guard specifies "opponent's turn", it can't be used against stuff that shoots in your own turn (such as Watcher or Counterblast).
- The Shield Guard does not necessarily need to be in the attacker's LOS or range.
- You shift all effects onto the shield guard, including stuff that triggers on "when this attack hits".
- When you use Shield Guard vs an AOE attack, the template moves too. Because, with reference to Apdx A, the hit 'moves' at Step 6 and the template placement is determined at Step 7.
- Shield Guard doesn't work vs Point Blank attacks. Because Point Blank attacks are melee attacks that are made using a ranged weapon.
- On the other hand, it will work vs Gunfighter attacks.
Rules Clarification : Dual Attack (Edit)
- There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with, however if you miss it must still be re-rolled vs a new random target.
- If the new random target is a friendly it will get the DEF bonus, since you can't be in melee with friendlies.
- You can target a model they are not in melee with with a ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
- This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
Rules Clarification : Iron Sentinel - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Dodge (Edit)
- Dodge triggers after any missed attack - melee, ranged, or magic.
- If you shoot at a model with Dodge that's in melee and miss, Dodge will trigger regardless of whether you then hit the random new target or not.
- The Dodge movement occurs after making the attack against the new target.
- An enemy model with 2" melee range that is B2B with you before you Dodge, will be exactly 2" away afterwards, and thus will be able to attempt a 2nd melee attack.
- If you're missed by an AOE attack, but it doesn't deviate very far and still hits you then: Dodge still triggers, but the AOE does damage before you get the Dodge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- Dodge plus Riposte (Edit)
- If a model has both Dodge and Riposte, they are resolved at the same time. You get to choose which order to resolve them in.
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : 'Jack Marshal (Edit)
- Marshals can take character jacks (unlike in Mk2). (Closed thread)
- Although they never get the Power Up bonus, a marshaled warjack can gain focus via other means (such as Accumulator, Empower, Spirit Harvester, etc).
- They can do this even after the Marshal dies and they become autonomous (unlike in Mk2).
- 'Jack Marshal & Ranking Officer (Edit)
- If a Ranking Officer joins a unit with the 'Jack Marshal ability, then they can still only take Mercenary warjacks - they don't gain access to Faction warjacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- They can control that mercenary warjack as normal, even though they're technically no longer the same faction as the jack. (Infernal Ruling)