Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer
Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.
Mercenary Character Solo
Rutger Shaw enlisted in the Cygnaran Army as a young man and trained as a trencher, demonstrating a unique knack for marshaling warjacks as well as skill with a blade. Military service and long years of battle hardened him, even as his conscience chafed at fighting at the whim of callous officers. He opted out and turned sell-sword, spending recent years travelling the Iron Kingdoms guided by his taste for adventure and coin.
- Hand Cannon - 12" range, POW 12 gun
- Mechanikal Sword (Jackknife) - 0.5" range, P+S 12 melee weapon.
- Mercenary - will work as a Cygnar mercenary, Khador mercenary, or Protectorate of Menoth mercenary
- 'Jack Marshal - All 'jack marshals share the same set of special rules, which basically amount to: This model is not a warcaster but may control a warjack.
- Drive : Shield Guard - While in Rutger's CMD range, a warjack under its control gains Shield Guard. (Shield Guard - Once per round, when a friendly model is directly hit by a non-spray ranged attack during your opponent's turn while within 3" of this model, you can choose to have this model directly hit instead. This model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects. This model cannot use Shield Guard while it is incorporeal, knocked down, or stationary.)
- Dual Attack - This model can make both melee and ranged attacks in the same activation. When this model makes its initial melee attacks or a power attack, it can also make its initial ranged attacks. This model can make ranged attacks even while in melee.
- Iron Sentinel - While B2B with a friendly Faction warjack, this model gains +2 DEF and ARM and cannot become knocked down.
- Partner: [ Taryn Di La Rovissi ] - While in Taryn Di La Rovissi's CMD range, this model gains Dodge.(Dodge - When an enemy misses this model with an attack at any time except when it is advancing, this model can immediately advance 2" ignoring free strikes.)
- Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
Thoughts on Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer
Rutger Shaw, Professional Adventurer in a nutshell
Rutger Shaw is a skilled jack marshal whose main ability is to give his marshaled warjack Shield Guard, and has Iron Sentinel to let him hang close to his 'jack until it gets to charge range. His drive is decent. His melee ability is decent. His ranged ability is decent.
Combos & Synergies
Taryn grants him Dodge and he gives her Tough so they operate as a rather expensive unit. In Irregulars, Shaw would be taken with a jack to marshal. In which case you will want to pick a good one.
- Talon The cost of the Talon plus Rutger's cost is the same as a Vanguard and it's not hard to make the case for this combination. The Talon, with its shield, is extremely tough for its points cost and is good at jamming up the enemy. With Flank, it's MAT 10 on the charge.
- Freebooter Charges for free if he's with Shae. Low ARM for a heavy makes it less than ideal.
- Mangler With Aggressive, the Mangler charges for free and hits like a truck with Flank and Crush. At ARM 19, it's a fine shield guard on the way in. Dirty Meg has a much better drive, but his is probably the second best in Mercenaries.
- Toro Rutger can finally field the jack he has in the fluff! Between giving an arm 20 'jack shield guard and the toro having counter-charge for some efficiency, they make a solid duo.
Drawbacks and Downsides
- Like all jack marshals, Rutger lacks the ability to give his marshalled 'jack a focus, nor can it benefit from the new Power Up rule.
- While solid all around, he's not exactly the right tool for any job or the best at anything so he struggles to find a place in many lists.
Tricks and Tips
- Originally released in Forces of Warmachine: Mercenaries (July 2010)
- Despite being a mercenary for hire, Rutger is written as having a heart of gold who goes out of his way to help the downtrodden while his partner, Taryn is more practical and callous, though she follows him around anyway to pull his skin out of the fire.
- Rutger and Taryn have been partners for almost a decade and carry a barely-disguised torch for each other, though due to their characterization in the fluff, will probably never do anything about it.
- In lore Rutger's 'jack is a Toro, which he could not field for many years until the release of the Crucible Guard.
Other Mercenary models
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Weapon Master - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Drive (Edit)
- If the Drive is on an Officer model, and that model dies, then the new unit commander does not inherit the Drive.
Rules Clarification : Shield Guard (Edit)
- Shield Guard doesn't work vs spells.
- Since Shield Guard specifies "opponent's turn", it can't be used against stuff that shoots in your own turn (such as Watcher or Counterblast).
- The Shield Guard does not necessarily need to be in the attacker's LOS or range.
- The Shield Guarder is always hit even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed, such as Stealth. (Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than the Shield Guard moving the hit.) (Infernal Ruling)
- You shift all effects onto the shield guard, including stuff that triggers on "when this attack hits".
- When you use Shield Guard vs an AOE attack, the template moves too. Because, with reference to Apdx A, the hit 'moves' at Step 6 and the template placement is determined at Step 7.
- Shield Guard doesn't work vs Point Blank attacks. Because Point Blank attacks are melee attacks that are made using a ranged weapon.
- On the other hand, it will work vs Gunfighter attacks.
Rules Clarification : Dual Attack (Edit)
- Dual Attack only grants either:
- Initial melee attacks and initial ranged attacks.
- Power attack and initial ranged attacks.
Any other combination of (★ Attack) and initials is disallowed. See this thread for full explanation and links to relevant Infernal Rulings.
- A model with Dual Attack can make the attacks in any order.
If they charge, they can do either melee or ranged first. If you charge and do ranged first, it doesn't change the fact that your first melee attack is the charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- There is no penalty for shooting an enemy you are in melee with, however if you miss it must still be re-rolled vs a new random target.
- If the new random target is a friendly it will get the DEF bonus, since you can't be in melee with friendlies.
- You can target a model they are not in melee with with a ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
- This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
Rules Clarification : Iron Sentinel - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Partner - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Dodge (Edit)
- Dodge triggers after any missed attack - melee, ranged, or magic.
- If you shoot at a model with Dodge that's in melee and miss, Dodge will trigger regardless of whether you then hit the random new target or not.
- The Dodge movement occurs after making the attack against the new target.
- An enemy model with 2" melee range that is B2B with you before you Dodge, will be exactly 2" away afterwards, and thus will be able to attempt a 2nd melee attack.
- If you're missed by an AOE attack, but it doesn't deviate very far and still hits you then: Dodge still triggers, but the AOE does damage before you get the Dodge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- Dodge plus Riposte (Edit)
- If a model has both Dodge and Riposte, Dodge triggers before Riposte (Appendix A Step 12 vs Step 14).
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : 'Jack Marshal (Edit)
- Marshals can take character jacks (unlike in Mk2). (Closed thread)
- Although they never get the Power Up bonus, a marshaled warjack can gain focus via other means (such as Accumulator, Empower, Spirit Harvester, etc).
- They can do this even after the Marshal dies and they become autonomous (unlike in Mk2).
- 'Jack Marshal & Ranking Officer (Edit)
- If a Ranking Officer joins a unit with the 'Jack Marshal ability, then they can still only take Mercenary warjacks - they don't gain access to Faction warjacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- They can control that mercenary warjack as normal, even though they're technically no longer the same faction as the jack. (Infernal Ruling)