Khador Character Heavy Warjack
Ruin is a blend of engineering and black magic, an unsettling fusion that has resulted in a malevolently aware machine. Ruin’s scarred chassis is festooned with powerful Orgoth relics that possess a willful hunger to harvest souls and whisper incomprehensibly directly into the warjack’s cortex. Orsus Zoktavir has been entrusted to exploit Ruin as a weapon for the Motherland, whatever the cost.
Weapons and Attacks
- Armored Fist - 1" reach, P+S 16 melee weapon.
- Black Iron Mace - 2" reach, P+S 18 melee weapon.
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Bond: (Butcher) - If this model begins the game in Butcher's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Butcher and in their CTRL range, Boundless Charge. (Boundless Charge - During its activation, this model can charge without spending focus and gains +2" movement and Pathfinder when it charges.)
- Sacred Ward - This model can't be targeted by enemy spells.
- Soul Taker: Spirit Harvester - This model can gain soul tokens. When a living enemy model is destroyed within 5" of this model, this model gains the destroyed model's soul token. This model can have up to five soul tokens at any time. At the start of this model's activation, you can remove soul tokens from this model to give it 1 focus point for each token removed.
- Arcane Vortex - Can negate spells targeting nearby models by spending a Soul token. The negated spell's COST is still paid.
Thoughts on Ruin
Comparison to Mk2
No real change
Ruin in a nutshell
Ruin is a capable melee beatstick, with focus on anti-magic. Plus he's Butcher's best bud, and enjoys a nice bond-bonus. His price is very favourable for a heavy, and thanks to Power up plus Spirit Harvester, he can function nearly autonomous, if you can provide him with some souls. Additionally, for a relatively slow warjack faction, his 2" Reach is awesome, especially since he's the cheapest Reach warjack. MAT 8, 2" Reach and magic immunity means it's a good jack to take even without Butcher.
Combos & Synergies
- Butcher for obvious reasons.
- Vlad1 and Kommander Oleg Strakhov usually get merit out of Ruin on the sole account of it being a Juggernaut with more melee range.
- Run Ruin up near some infantry, then reap their souls with Widowmakers to fill up his Spirit Harvester.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- He loses a lot of mobility without Butcher.
- He's a character jack. That means everyone wants to kill him. He's your second cheapest character though, so can draw fire from more valuable targets.
- If there's not a lot of magic, some of his potential is wasted, and you still pay the cost.
Tricks & Tips
- Under Butcher, purposely failing a charge puts Ruin 1" further up the board than running would. Especially practical for terrain, due to pathfinder.
This entry can be found in Warmachine: Reckoning (2015)
Theme Forces this is a member of
When taken in the Butcher's battlegroup, this model can be taken in:
Themes for any-and-all bonded 'jacks (Edit)
When taken in someone else’s battlegroup, this model can’t be taken in theme forces.
Other faction models
Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw) (Edit)
- See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
- When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
- If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
- A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.
Rules Clarification : Magical Damage (Edit)
- The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Dispel (Edit)
- Because Dispel causes spells to expire on a hit, it will prevent spells that trigger on a hit from triggering at all.
- For instance, the defensive animus Spiny Growth causes any model that hits the target to suffer d3 damage. This damage will not occur if it's hit by a Dispel weapon.
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Bond (Edit)
- Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
- Bonds & Themes
- If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
- Exception: Battlegroup Controllers and Lesser Warlocks cannot take their bonded warjacks/warbeasts in theme forces (eg Kharybdis with Aiakos1) because BC & LW are specifically not warcasters/warlocks. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Sacred Ward and/or Spell Ward (Edit)
- Sacred/Spell Warded models can still be affected by spells. For instance, CTRL area spells, AOE that deviate, and/or sprays that target a nearby non-warded model.
Rules Clarification : Spirit Harvester (Edit)
- A warjack cannot go over its normal focus limit (which is 3 for most jacks) as a result of Spirit Harvester. Refer to the Cortex rules.
Rules Clarification : Arcane Vortex (Edit)
- Mulg spends fury to use it, he is not forced for fury. (Infernal Ruling)
- Arcane vortex can be used to counter spells with "Range: Self". (Infernal Ruling)
- Some spells do not have a target, mostly CTRL area spells (such as Siege's Foxhole) but also some (★ Action) (such as Ragman's Death Field). These cannot be cancelled by Arcane Vortex. Infernal Ruling)
- The "Cost" for non-warcaster models includes stuff like "using your special action" or "killing a Mind Bender Drudge."
- Arcane Vortex triggers at step 3 of the spellcasting sequence. (Resolve effects that occur when a model is targeted by a spell.) (Infernal Ruling)
- Arcane Vortex vs Primal Shock (Edit)
- The warbeast that is chosen as the point of origin can not be negated by Arcane Vortex.
- The "target a model within 8 inches" is the part that can be negated by arcane vortex.
- There are some other parts that the Infernals are currently checking.
- (Infernal Ruling)