Renegade

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Another of Magnus the Traitor's creations, the Renegade is his idea of the perfect support warjack. With the obliterator rocket able to destroy targets at long range, the shredder's ability to tear enemies apart in melee, and an arc node that allows Magnus the ability of slinging spells over the field, the Renegade performs a variety of battlefield roles.

Basic Info[edit]

Renegade

Mercenary Light Warjack

Renegade.jpeg
SPD 5
MAT 6
RAT 6
DEF 11
ARM 17
HP 26
Cost 10

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

  • Obliterator - 14" range, AOE 4, POW 16 ranged weapon
    • Buckler - This 'weapon' has an integral buckler that gives the model a cumulative +1 ARM bonus. The bonus doesn't apply if the weapon is crippled or if the damage originates in your back arc.
    • Arcing Fire - When attacking with this weapon, this model can ignore intervening models except those within 1" of the target.
    • Knockdown - When a model is hit by an attack with this weapon, it becomes knocked down.
    • One Shot - This weapon can only be used once per game.
  • Shredder - 1" range, P+S 13 melee weapon
    • Sustained Attack - During this model's activation, when it makes an attack with this weapon against the last model hit by the weapon this activation, the attack automatically hits.
    • Critical Shred - If this weapon critically hits, you get a free attack vs the same target.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Custom Warjack - Can only be controlled by the model listed in brackets.[Magnus] - will work for Magnus, and only Magnus
  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Arc Node - This model can channel spells cast by its controlling Warcaster.

Thoughts on Renegade[edit]

Wrench symbol.png

Note to Editors
If you're looking for inspiration for content to add to this page, you can always copy-paste (& update as necessary) info from the old mk2 entry:
Mk2 Battle College: Renegade .

Renegade in a nutshell[edit]

The Renegade can only be used in the battle group of either version of Magnus, and they're limited to two in any given army. If you're playing Magnus, you probably want to bring along at least one and possibly two of these. While they can only fire once, you can consider them walking mini-feats. Combine that with an arc node, and you've got a real threat to warcasters.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • The fact that it's a arc node opens up all sorts of tactics with Magnus the Traitor, such as sniping a 'jack in the back with Arcantrik Bolt to stationary it for other units to attack, casting Snipe on itself to give it more range on its Obliterator missile, or firing off a Scourge to add more knockdown potential versus the enemy. Alternately, casting Blur and putting it in concealment makes it very hard to take down with ranged fire, allowing it to close to where it can use its Obliterator on a vulnerable target. Iron Aggression can give the Renegade an impressive number of attacks combined with its Critical Shred ability, but is probably best cast on other 'jacks.
  • Magnus the Warlord can use it to fire off his Calamity to weaken an opponent at range, or just Obliteration for some good AOE damage. Alternately, maneuvering the Renegade for a Convection shot on a weak enemy unit can provide that needed Focus point to a well-positioned 'jack in a pinch.Bullet Dodger not only makes the Renegade harder to hit, but lets it creep closer with each shot into Obliterator range.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • You only get one shot with the Obliterator; make it count!
  • There are rare conditions where the enemy can take over your warjack (chiefly the Domination spell). Check the enemy caster's card to see if they have one of these as there's little worse than having the Renegade taken over and using its obliterator rocket on you, so fire your rocket ASAP.
  • Just remember that Backstab is based on where Magnus is standing, not where the Renegade is. You don't get it because the Renegade has run behind someone.
  • It costs almost as much as a Nomad. One for arcing Scourge or Calamity might be a good choice - but an extra Nomad is always great.

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • The Renegade's Obliterator Missile does powerful damage, but more importantly knocks down everything it hits, making it perfect when setting up for assassinations or just to knock down a powerful unit so your other troops can pound it. Make sure you reserve a Focus to boost its attack roll to be sure you land the hit.
  • Sometimes the threat of the Obliterator is as good as firing it. An opposing warcaster will usually be wary of the Renegade getting into a good firing position.

Notable changes from Mk2[edit]

  • Slightly cheaper
  • Lost two damage boxes

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Placeholder.

How can I include this model in my army?[edit]

Theme Forces this is a member of[edit]

For a Mercenary warjack to be taken in a Theme Force, not only does the 'jack have to meet the theme criteria but it's controller does too. With that in mind, Renegade can be taken in:

Other Mercenary models[edit]

Mercenary - Faction models (Edit)
Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Ashlynn - Caine3 - Captain Bart - Captain Damiano - Captain Shae - Macbain - Constance - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2
BGC Gastone Crosse
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Sam & the Devil Dogs
Mercenary Warjacks (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rover
Gallant - Rocinante
Colossal Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
Marshals Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker

MercenariesLogo.jpg


Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)


Only lesser warlocks that can take extra large battlegroups are listed here

Units Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Ogrun Assault Corps - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Heavy Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages


Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator

Character Units Alexia1 - Sam & The Devil Dogs - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea - Commodore Cannon - Devil's Shadow Mutineers
Solos Cephalyx Agitator - Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur - Swamp Gobber River Raider
Character Solos Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Bloody Bradigan - Bosun Grogspar - Brun & Lug - Colbie - Dahlia & Skarath - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone1 - Gorman - Gudrun - Harlan Versh - Hutchuk - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Major Harrison Gibbs - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Savio - Saxon - Sergeant Nick - Stannis - Taryn - Thor - Viktor - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
Mercenary - Theme Forces (Edit)
Hammer Strike - The Kingmaker's Army - Operating Theater

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • Please refer to the Warjack page for a recap of the warjack rules, and the very few associated Infernal Rulings.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.

Rules Clarification : Arcing Fire      (Edit)

  • Arcing Fire lets you ignore models but not terrain. You don't ignore clouds, forests or buildings.

Rules Clarification : Knockdown      (Edit)

  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.

Rules Clarification : One Shot      (Edit)

  • Placeholder

Rules Clarification : Sustained Attack      (Edit)

  • Translation for newbies : Once you hit your target, your next attack(s) with the same weapon will auto-hit.
  • If your target becomes out of range in between attacks (somehow), then Sustained Attack will not let you auto-hit. Refer Step 3 vs Step 4 of the Attack Sequence (Apdx A).
  • If you have sustained attack on a weapon that makes simultaneous attacks (e.g. Prime Axiom making a Sweep attack), then all the models you hit are "the last model hit" and whichever one you choose to attack next is the one you get the auto-hit bonus vs. (Infernal Ruling)
  • This only applies to the first attack after a simultaneous one - once you make that next attack, it's all reset back to being "just one" last model hit.
    • Example : you Sweep and hit models A, B, C. Then you buy an attack vs model C. It is auto-hit because it was (one of) the last model(s) hit. Then you buy another attack, now you can only auto-hit C because it is the last model hit.

Rules Clarification : Critical Shred      (Edit)

  • Shred only triggers during your Combat Action, so not on free strikes, countercharges, etc.

Rules Clarification : Custom Warjack      (Edit)

  • Placeholder

Rules Clarification : Channeler and/or Arc Node     (Edit)

  • You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
    • If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS.
  • You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
    • If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the DEF bonus.
  • Since Stealth has both a LOS component (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed); this can lead to some non-intuitive interactions between channeling and stealth when either the caster or channeler is able to ignore stealth.
    We've put a bunch of examples on the Category:Channeler page.