Ragman

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Mercenary Character Thamarite Llaelese Solo

Once a Llaelese noble turned to the vile arts of necromancy, the Thamarite called the Ragman has been drawn to the battlefields of western Immoren by the palpable odor of death. As he picks among the dead for his unnatural purposes, his profane magic lets him kill with a glance and animate his victims to serve him.

Basic Info[edit]

Ragman1
Ragman.png
SPD 6
MAT 5
M.A. 7
DEF 14
ARM 12
HP 5
Cost 4
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

Abilities[edit]

  • Mercenary - Works as a Cryx mercenary, Cygnar mercenary, and Khador mercenary.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Animosity [Morrowan] - This model can't be included in the same army as a Morrowan model.
  • Sacrificial Pawn [Living Model] - When this model is directly hit by an enemy ranged attack, you can have one friendly, non-incorporeal Living Model model within 3" of it hit instead. That model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects.
  • Magic Ability [ 7 ] - This model can use its Combat Action to cast spells. Offensive spells are a (★ Attack) and friendly spells are a (★ Action).
    • Bone Shaker (★ Attack) - 8" range, POW 12 magic attack. If Bone Shaker boxes an enemy living or undead non-warcaster/warlock warrior model you may take control of it, make a full advance (that ignores free strikes), 1 basic melee attack, then the boxed model is RFP'd.
    • Death Field (★ Action) - While within 3" of Ragman, friendly models gain Dark Shroud. (Dark Shroud - While in this model's melee range, enemy models suffer -2 ARM.)

Thoughts on Ragman[edit]

Ragman in a nutshell[edit]

Ragman is a desirable support solo for his Death Field ability as many armies lack the ARM debuff he brings. He also has an RFP spell for those matchups where Death Field isn't that important. Also he has a magical stick.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Support Bloat - It can be easy to spend to many points on support models, like this guy, and not enough on combat units or warjacks. He's a good support solo, and priced fairly, but too many points in support is rarely good.
  • He's easy to kill if your opponent doesn't want him delivered.
  • He is a Thamarite, which means Morrowans don't cotton to him.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Don't try and give Death Field to an entire unit, all you'll end up with is a positioning nightmare (figuring out where he needs to stand before the unit charges in, without blocking their charge lanes).
    Instead, figure out what you actually need to debuff, and who you will get to apply that debuff, and where that model will stand.
  • Use base width to your advantage. Ragman doesn't need to be within 3" of the target you want to Dark Shroud, he needs to be within 3" of a friend who has melee range to the target. So, for example, he could stand within 3" of a huge base model that has 2" reach, and he'll be applying from Dark Shroud about 9.7" away!

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

  • His walking stick is so magical it grants him Pathfinder.
  • Nickname(s): Raggedy Andy
  • Originally released in the Warmachine: Wrath expansion (2011)

Trivia[edit]

Originally released in Pirates of the Broken Coast (2007)

Theme Forces[edit]

Mercenary
Cryx (Edit) Cygnar (Edit)
Khador (Edit)


Other Mercenary models[edit]

MercenariesLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Ashlynn - Caine3 - Captain Bart - Captain Damiano - Gastone2 - Captain Shae - Macbain - Constance - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2
BGC Gastone Crosse
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Sam & the Devil Dogs
Mercenary Warjacks (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rover
Gallant - Rocinante
Colossal Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
Marshals
Cannot take Colossals
Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
  M  
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Units Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Ogrun Assault Corps - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Heavy Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator
Character Units Alexia1 - Sam & The Devil Dogs - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea - Commodore Cannon - Devil's Shadow Mutineers
Solos Cephalyx Agitator - Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur - Swamp Gobber River Raider
Character Solos Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Bloody Bradigan - Bosun Grogspar - Brun & Lug - Colbie - Dahlia & Skarath - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eilish Garrity - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone1 - Gorman - Gudrun - Harlan Versh - Hutchuk - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Major Harrison Gibbs - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Savio - Saxon - Sergeant Nick - Stannis - Taryn - Thor - Viktor - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
 
Theme Forces (Edit)
Hammer Strike - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - Operating Theater - The Talion Charter - Llaelese Resistance

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Magic Ability      (Edit)

  • Almost every magic ability cannot be used on the same turn you charge. Because a charge must (almost always) be followed by a melee attack.
  • Using a Magic Ability counts as a spell, for effects such as Spell Ward, Witch Hunter, etc.
  • Unlike with warcasters/warlocks, using a Magic Ability is not an "any time" ability. This means:
    • You must complete your movement before you use a MA.
    • You cannot make ranged or melee attacks on the same turn you use a MA.
    • You cannot use a MA on the same turn you charge.
    • (Unless, of course, the rules for the specific MA you're using say you can.)

Rules Clarification : Bone Shaker      (Edit)

Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit)

General

  • Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
    • This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
    • If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
  • Buffs and effects:
    • The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
    • If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
    • If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.

Movement

  • You can advance a model into an acid cloud and force them to take damage, but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of an acid cloud to inflict infinite damage.
  • The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
  • If you enter into an area, the controlled model can suffer the effect of entering into the area only once per advance. It means you cannot yo-yo a Devastator in and out of a Razor Wall 36 times to deplete all its damage boxes.

Melee Attacks (Influence, Seduction, Bone Shaker, etc)

  • Normally the controlled model can't make Gunfighter attacks (because that would be a ranged attack, and most "take control" abilities only allow melee attacks).
  • Nor does it allow Point Blank attacks (Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation').
  • Controlled models can't get backstrike bonusses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
  • With reference to the attack sequence (apdx A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
    • As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".

Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:

  1. It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
    • Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
    • Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
    • You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
  2. It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
    • Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
    • Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).

Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)

  • A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
    • It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
    • Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
    • If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!

Rules Clarification : Dark Shroud      (Edit)

  • Dark Shroud only applies to your melee range, and this doesn't includes behind you. Refer to the latest errata.
  • The ARM debuff still applies during a free strike.

Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")

Rules Clarification:  : Sacrificial Pawn and/or Sucker! and/or Grim Salvation     (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

* Sacrificial Pawn & Grim Salvation are optional, but Sucker! is not
  • Grim Salvation only works vs basic attacks, not special attacks, power attacks, or chain attacks.
  • Sacrificial Pawn & Sucker! don't work against melee attacks.
  • None of them work vs magic attacks (spells). All of them work against Magical Ranged attacks, though.

From here down, the terms Sacrificial Pawn, Grim Salvation, and Sucker! are interchangeable

  • Using Sac Pawn moves all damage and effects onto the other model; including stuff that triggers "on hit" (such as Critical Fire) (even though the Pawn kinda wasn't "hit").
  • The new model hit may use any abilities that trigger on being hit/damaged by an enemy attack (such as Vengeance and Shock Field).
  • Sprays and AOEs
    • A model hit by a spray attack can use Sacrificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The placement of the template does not change.
      • Note that this may cause the Pawn to be hit twice by the same spray. So you then resolve two damage rolls against it.
    • A model directly hit by a AOE may use Sacificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The AOE template is moved (because Sac Pawn is resolved at Step 6 of the Attack Sequence in Apdx A, but AOE placement occurs at Step 7).
      • Depending on how far apart the original target and Pawn are, the first guy might get clipped by the AOE anyway.
      • A model indirectly hit by an AOE cannot use Sac Pawn.
  • Sacrificial Pawn multiple times
    • If a model with the Sacrificial Pawn ability passes it to another model that also has Sacrificial Pawn ability, that second model may pass it along to a third model.
    • Models can only use Sac Pawn once each, you cannot set up an infinite loop!
  • Quick Draw vs Sacrificial Pawn
    • If enemy "Model A" shoots you, and then you use Quick Draw against "Model A", but they use Sac Pawn to move your Quick Draw attack to "Model B" then ... Quick Draw has no effect (or rather, it affects "Model B" who isn't currently shooting you so is irrelevant). Point is, "Model A" can continue shooting you.
    • This won't happen with Shield Guard though (outside of a very low-probability scenario) because Shield Guard can only be triggered during an enemy turn.

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Animosity      (Edit)

  • When using the Specialist or ADR rules in a Steamroller format, your entire list and the specialists must be a single legally fieldable force (even though you're not fielding it all at once).