Rök

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Trollblood Dire Troll Character Heavy Warbeast

Whenever a remote mountain village is found in ruins and with its taverns plundered, northerners speak fearfully of the dire troll called Rök. Although insatiable as any dire troll, over a century ago Rök developed a unique craving for beer and liquor of all sorts, and his raids of villages for their intoxicating spirits have since become legendary.

When he was sought out by Borka Kegslayer, Rök engaged the trollkin in an exhausting battle lasting several hours. After this, Kegslayer shared his own potent brew, convincing the ferocious troll they were kindred souls. When Borka left, Rök followed, knowing that greater fights and rivers of beer awaited them.

Basic Info[edit]

CID icon.jpg

This model's rules are currently under development
This model is part of the current CID cycle (What is CID?) and the information shown below does not necessarily represent its final ruleset.

This is a existing model, and the information here is the rules it had before the CID cycle. If you wish to document the CID changes before they're finalised, please do so under the Recent Changes heading.

Rök
Rok
SPD 5
STR 12
MAT 7
RAT 5
DEF 12
ARM 18
FURY/THR 5/7
HP 30
Cost 21
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Frost Breath - 6" spray, POW 14 ranged attack.
  • Big Meaty Fist - 1" reach, P+S 16 melee weapon.
  • Battle Axe - 1" reach, P+S 18 melee weapon.

Abilities[edit]

  • Warbeast - All warbeasts share a huge stack of special rules. The short version is they're big, furious, and beat stuff up pretty good.
  • Assault - This model may make a ranged attack as part of its charge.
  • Immunity: Cold - This model does not suffer cold damage.
  • Berserk - When this model destroys one or more models with a melee attack during its Combat Action, immediately after the attack is resolved it must make one additional melee attack against another model in its melee range.
  • Bond: (Borka) - If this model begins the game in Borka's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Borka and in their CTRL range, Rok gains Stumbling Drunk (Stumbling Drunk - This model cannot become knocked down. When hit by an enemy attack, this model moves d3" in a direction decided by the deviation template.)
  • Regeneration [d3] - This model may be forced to heal d3 damage boxes, once per activation. It can't run in the same activation.
  • Snacking - If this model boxes a living model with an attack it may optionally remove it from play and heal d3 damage points.

Animus[edit]

  • Primal - Target Friendly Faction living beast within RNG 6 gets +2 to MAT and STR - and automatically frenzies next turn (even if you overwrite this with another animus).

Recent Changes[edit]

2017.07 Trollkin CID

Week 1
Cost reduced to 19

Thoughts on Rök[edit]

Rök in a nutshell[edit]

  • Angry at being in the nutshell, Rök begins to break everything.
  • Rök is fundamentally a worthy rival to the almost ubiquitous Dire Troll Mauler; he hits hard - and brings a really useful melee damage buff in Primal rather than simply a strength buff.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • Berserk and Primal can both blow up in your face. (Primal's best used on lights where you are less worried by their frenzy).

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Look for how to position your charge with his spray.
  • Snacking can be used to avoid berserking into your own models.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Released in Hordes: Domination (2011)

Theme Forces[edit]

When taken in Borka's battlegroup, Rok can be taken in:

Themes for any & all bonded warbeasts (Edit)

When in someone else's battlegroup, Rok can't be taken in theme.

Other Trollblood models[edit]

TrollbloodLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Battlegroups
Warlocks Borka1 - Borka2 - Calandra - Gunnbjorn - Grim1 - Grim2 - Grissel1 - Grissel2 - Doomshaper1 - Doomshaper2 - Doomshaper3 - Horgle2 - Jarl - Kolgrima - Madrak1 - Madrak2 - Madrak3 - Ragnor
T
R
O
L
L
B
L
O
O
D
S
Warlock attachments Trollkin Runebearer
Lesser Warlock Horgle1
Light warbeasts Ice Troll - Night Troll - Pyre Troll - Slag Troll - Storm Troll - Swamp Troll - Troll Axer - Troll Basher - Troll Bouncer - Troll Impaler - Winter Troll
Heavy warbeasts Dire Troll Blitzer - Dire Troll Bomber - Dire Troll Brawler - Dire Troll Mauler - Earthborn Dire Troll
Dozer & Smigg - Mulg the Ancient - Rök
Gargantuan Glacier King - Mountain King - Sea King
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Dhunian Knot - Kriel Warriors - Stone Bearer - NK Bears - NK Fire Eaters - NK Raiders - Pummeler Crew - Pyg Burrowers - Pyg Bushwhackers - Pyg Lookouts - Scattergunners - Thumper Crew - Champions - Fennblades - Highwaymen - Long Riders - Runeshapers - Scouts - Sluggers - Warders
Special WA: Trollkin Sorcerer
Sons of Bragg
Solos Fell Caller Hero - Fennblade Kithkar - Northkin Shaman - Stone Scribe Chronicler - Troll Whelps - Trollkin Champion Hero - Trollkin Skinner
Braylen Wanderheart - Horgle1 - Horthol - Janissa Stonetide - Valka Curseborn
Battle Engines Hearthgut Hooch Hauler - War Wagon
 
Theme Forces
Band of Heroes - Kriel Company - Power of Dhunia - Storm of the North
Minion Trollblood.jpg

(Edit)

Minion Battlegroups
Warlocks Bloody Barnabas - Calaban - Helga - Jaga-Jaga - Lord Carver - Maelok - Midas - Rask - Sturm & Drang

Requires a 2+ warlock game

T
R
O
L
L
B
L
O
O
D
M
I
N
I
O
N
S
Other Controllers Lesser Warlocks: Brun & Lug - Dahlia & Skarath - Rorsh & Brine - Wrongeye & Snapjaw


'Jack Marshals: Raluk Moorclaw

Warjacks & Warbeasts The minion battlegroup members you can include in a Trollblood army depends entirely on what type of model is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what minions it can control.
 
Minion Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Bog Trog Ambushers - Croak Raiders - Bone Grinders - Brigands - Commandos - Razorback Crew - Slaughterhousers - Bokur & Swamp Shamblers - Gatorman Posse - Gobber Bellows


Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Lynus & Edrea -

Solos Mist Speaker - Bog Trog Trawler - Croak Hunter - Efaarit Scouts - Feralgeist - Witch Doctor - Gobber Tinker - Gremlin Swarm - Ogrun Bokur - Gobber Chef - Thrullg - Totem Hunter


Agata, Queen of Carnage - Alten Ashley - Brun & Lug - Dahlia & Skarath - Eilish Garrity - Gudrun - Hutchuk - Lanyssa - Maximus - Raluk - Rorsh & Brine - Saxon - Victor Pendrake - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines Meat Thresher


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Cold - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Freeze      (Edit)

  • Remember Stationary only prevents what it says it does. Refer the page on Stationary for a refresher.

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
  • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
  • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
  • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.


Rules Clarification:  : Warbeast      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

See also the Warbeast page for a recap of the core warbeast rules.

Animi

  • A single Animus can be on several models at the same time. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a model has an animus on it from any source and then another animus is cast on that model, it will lose the first instance of an animus and will be replaced by the second. It does not matter if either the first animus or the second animus is from a warlock or warbeast. (Infernal Ruling)
  • An animi cast by a warlock is an animi and spell. (Infernal Ruling)

Frenzy

  • Step 4 of Frenzy was errata'd in 2016. Make sure you're using the latest version of the rules.
  • You cannot trigger optional abilities during a Frenzy (such as Cleave). (Infernal Ruling)
  • You must trigger compulsory abilities during a Frenzy ... unless that ability generates an extra attack (like Berserk). In that case, you don't get the Berserk attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • A warbeast may not make an Assault shot as part of a Frenzy activation. (Refer latest errata)
  • If the closest target to a warbeast resolving a Frenzy cannot be charged, then the warbeast will forfeit movement and action (as per the rules of having to charge and not being able to). (Infernal Confirmation)

Rules Clarification:  : Assault      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

General

Step 1: Declare the charge

  1. Are you in already melee? With any enemy, not just your charge target?
    • If yes, you don't get an Assault attack at all (Refer to the latest Errata). Instead it's just a normal charge.
    • If no, continue to Step 2.
  2. Note: You cannot be "in melee" with a stationary/knocked down target. Feel free to declare charges (and Assault shots) in this case.
    • You can even charge a knocked down model you're in B2B with, advance 0", and get your ranged attack and your melee attack(s).

Step 2: Move the charging model

  1. As soon as the movement is finished, determine whether it was a successful charge or not.
    • Do this before resolving anything that triggers on "Ends Movement" (like Admonition, Countercharge).
    • Do this before resolving your Assault attack.
  2. Did you make a successful charge? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee". Refer to the latest Errata.
  3. Did you fail the charge? You still get the Assault shot anyway.
    • Did you fail the charge, but end your movement in melee with someone different to your charge target? You get the ranged attack even though you're "in melee". Refer to the latest Errata and also this (Infernal Ruling)
  4. Now that you've figured out whether the charge successful, you (or your opponent) can trigger "Ends Movement" effects.
    • Nothing that happens from this point onwards will retroactively change a failed charge into a successful charge, or vice versa.
  5. If your charge was successful you may use "any time" abilities between 'finishing movement' and 'starting Assault attack'. (Infernal Ruling) This is a reversal of an earlier ruling.
  6. If you fail your charge, you may not use "any time" abilities before or after making the Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
Tip lightbulb.png

Tip !
The Infernal Ruling dictates that Assault is not a "triggered ability" (since if it was, you wouldn't be able to cast a spell between ending movement and using your Assault shot).
Thus Assault will never occur simultaneously with another ability that triggers/resolves at "ends movement". Instead, the other ability is always resolved before the Assault shot

Step 3: Make the ranged attack

  1. The ranged attack is optional.
  2. Since the Assault attack is outside your Combat Action, you can only do a basic ranged attack. CRA & Special ranged attacks are only allowed during your Combat Action, you can't do them. (Infernal Ruling)
  3. Did you move at least 3" during the charge movement? Who cares, that is irrelevant to the Assault attack!
  4. Make your ranged attack vs your charge target
    • If the charge target is already dead (which can happen when units charge) then you don't get to redirect your Assault attack vs 'someone else'. You simply don't get an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • A model which can do something "instead of making a ranged attack" (such as the Spriggan's Targeting Flare) then they can do that as an Assault attack. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If your ranged attacks triggers other attacks/damage that occur "after the attack" (such as Drag or Electro Leap) then those will resolve as per normal, regardless of whether you had a successful charge or not. (Infernal Ruling)
  5. Is the target in melee with the shooter?
    • If yes, then you ignore the +4 DEF bonus (as per the 3rd paragraph of "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules)
    • If no, resolve the ranged attack exactly the same as if it were a normal ranged attack.

Step 4: If you miss

  1. If you miss the target, and the target is not in melee with you, then resolve it the same way as a normal ranged attack.
  2. If you miss the target, and the target is in melee with you, then ...
    • Randomly reassign the shot (as per the TMM rules) (nothing in Assault says it ignores this).
    • Do not include the shooting model in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) but do include models the shooter is in melee with (as per the TMM rules).
  3. If the shot is randomly reassigned to a friendly model, then they will always get the +4 DEF bonus. The only way to ignore that bonus is if the 'point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target' and you can never be in melee with a friendly model.

Step 5: After finishing the Assault attack

  1. If it was an unsuccessful charge, your activation now ends.
  2. If it was a successful charge, and your charge target is ...
    • still alive, then you get your charge attack (as per the charge rules)
    • dead, then you get your initial melee attack(s) vs anyone still in your melee range (as per the charge rules).
  3. Either way, you don't get to make more ranged attacks (other than the obvious exceptions like Gunfighter, of course).


Units

  • Move all models in the unit before making any Assault attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Make all Assault attacks before making any Charge attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Each model in the unit is effectively "stalled" while you move/shoot the other models. This "stall" does not create an opportunity to use "any time" abilities. (Infernal Ruling)
  • If a trooper's target dies before they make their Assault shot, they don't get to redirect it. You just skip their Assault shot. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You cannot make Assault attacks while out of formation, as per the regular formation rules about making attacks.
  • Assault & CRA (Edit)
    • You cannot mix Combined Range Attacks with Assault shots, as CRA works during your combat action and Assault shots occur before it. (Infernal Ruling)

Other

  • Warbeasts
    • Warbeasts cannot use Assault during a Frenzy. Refer to the latest errata.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
    • With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
    • So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
      • If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
      • But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
  • Assault & Drag ( Edit )
    • You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
    • If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
      • It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).

Rules Clarification : Berserk      (Edit)

  • Berserk grants an additional attack which by definition can only occur during your Combat Action. Therefore Berserk doesn't work on free strikes, impact attacks, etc.
  • If you trigger two effects that grant you an extra attack (such as Berserk + Black Spot), you can only use one. (Refer "Attack-generating Special Rules".)
    • Not only that, due to the way Berserk is worded you must make a melee attack, regardless of which ability you resolve. So you can't say "I trigger Berserk and Black Spot, choose Black Spot, Black Spot is optional, so I'm not making any more attacks". (Infernal Ruling)
  • "Immediately" means you can't save it until later in your activation. Berserk must be resolved at step 14 of the attack sequence (refer Apdx A).
  • You cannot use "Any Time" abilities while resolving the original attack, the Berserk attack, or between the attacks. Refer Apdx A.
    • This is a change from Mk2
  • Berserk doesn't trigger during a frenzy. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Berserk will not trigger if the target uses an ability to move the damage to another model (such as a warlock transfer).
    • But it will trigger if they use an ability to move the attack to a different model (such as Shield Guard).

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • Exception: Battlegroup Controllers and Lesser Warlocks cannot take their bonded warjacks/warbeasts in theme forces (eg Kharybdis with Aiakos1) because BC & LW are specifically not warcasters/warlocks. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Stumbling Drunk      (Edit)

  • Placeholder

Rules Clarification : Regeneration - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Snacking      (Edit)

  • Snacking occurs at boxed, and thus:
    • Doesn't prevent abilities that trigger at disabled (such as Tough, Self-Sacrifice, etc).
    • Might prevent abilities that trigger at boxed, depending on who the active player is and whose model the ability triggered on. Refer the 'Triggers' section (pg 10 of the pdf)
    • Does prevent abilties that trigger at destroyed (such as reaving fury from dead warbeasts, collecting soul tokens, etc)
  • You can snack friendly models.
  • You may choose where each individual point of healing goes.
  • If you kill multiple models with a single attack (such as trampling over them) then you get to heal once for each model killed.


Rules Clarification : Primal      (Edit)

  • The warbeast will frenzy next turn even if you cast another animus (to "overwrite" Primal). (Closed thread)