Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.
The site is in the process of being cloned to a new server. IF you make an edit in the next few weeks, there is a chance it won't get duplicated to the new server.
The colossals of the Convergence of Cyriss inspire awe and fear among the armies of the Iron Kingdoms. To confront these machines is to behold the inevitability of the Great Work and the terrifying power made possible by the guiding hand of Cyriss. The weapons of the Prime Axiom are designed to rip through screening troops, dismantle warjacks, and send servitors deep into the heart of battle. The Prime Conflux is a true wonder of design, able to convert latent atmospheric energies into electricity before unleashing them in a torrent of destruction.
- Accelespiker - 13" range, ROF 5, POW 11 gun
- Tow Cable (x2) - 11" range, POW none guns. (They do damage via Puncture)
- Puncture - A model hit by this weapon automatically takes 1 point of damage.
- Drag - When this weapon damages an enemy model with an equal or smaller base, immediately after the attack is resolved the damaged model can be pushed directly toward this model until it contacts a model, an obstacle, or an obstruction. After the damaged model is moved, this model can make one basic melee attack against the damaged model. After resolving this melee attack, this model can make additional melee attacks during its combat action.
- Drill Vice (x2) - 2" reach, P+S 21 melee weapons.
- Open Fist - This warjack/warbeast may make Throw Power Attacks.
- Sustained Attack - During this model's activation, when it makes an attack with this weapon against the last model hit by the weapon this activation, the attack automatically hits.
- Colossal - Colossals are giant warjacks, even bigger and stompier. They all share a stack of standard special rules.
- Vector - A vector is a specialised type of warjack. It is big and stompy, as normal, but swaps out the Cortex for an Induction Node. Also its MAT & RAT is always equal to its controller's.
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
- Launch Servitor - At any time in its activation, this model can place a servitor Solo completely within 2".
Thoughts on Prime Axiom
Prime Axiom in a nutshell
Prime Axiom is a salvation to all Convergence players, yet a scourge to everyone else. It is the most-feared-Gargossal in entire game, and in MKIII, the Prime Axiom is still a nefarious death-dealing machine. You can expect to see the Prime Axiom in nearly every Convergence army, most of the time scrapping jacks and dragging people around.
Combos & Synergies
Prime Axiom is the best weapon convergence has, mainly because it has synergy with almost every 'Caster in convergence.
- Forge Master Syntherion : Hot Shot to make Axiom's accelespiker hit like a primary weapon, yet firing 5 shots in one activation. Synergy brings the Axiom's punch to stellar levels. On top of that, Magnetic Hold to make axiom charge even farther. His feat? well, 11-attacks in one activation plus bought extras, including charging, anyone?
- Axis, The Harmonic Enforcer : Due to his low RAT, Axiom isn't a great fit with Axis. Still, Axis' feat and Iron Aggression helps Axiom, making it hit with extreme precision, triggering Sustained Attack, which is enough to scrap a colossal.
- Iron Mother Directrix : Fire group makes Axiom's already terrifying drag attacks into something more. Domination can further extend that range and her decent ranged attack can clear out pesky infantry to give a clear drag-line. When feated, Axiom can hit almost everything by itself, including casters. When you want Axiom to be a ranged nightmare She's the caster you need.
- Father Lucant, Divinity Architect : Makes Axiom nearly invincible. Moreover, the colossal itself becomes a gigantic shield guard. Lucant's average RAT is enough to drag key 'Jacks to dismantle, and in melee Axiom hits almost like Axis. Lucant-Axiom duo were a well-known MKII tournament combination, and that has stayed the same in MKIII.
- Aurora, Numen of Aerogenesis : Pretty much the only caster with no synergy. Aurora's tricks are giving bonus movement outside of normal movement, which Colossals can't benefit from. The feat does help it, but its not much.
- Mitigator - Even Axis' colossal won't have problems hitting a knocked-down target
- Attunement Servitors - to help drag in high def stuff, like warpwolves
Drawbacks & Downsides
- The usual problems with rock-bottom DEF - it serves great starting point for attacks with secondary damage, like electro leap, Spine Burst, Ashes to ashes, etc. Keep your support solos away.
- Most of its effectiveness is tied to shooting - anything that forbids that (Submerge, Swamp Pit, Zerkova's feat, Wind Blast, etc), will make it run for its points.
Tricks & Tips
- Know which enemy models can't be dragged, and what stops pushes entirely.
Themes for any-and-all Vectors (Edit)
Other Convergence models
Rules Clarification : Puncture (Edit)
- Puncture ignores ARM buffs. On the other hand, it doesn't get "damage roll" buffs because it doesn't make a roll.
- If Puncture is on an AOE weapon, then models caught in the AOE take 1 point of damage instead of blast damage. This means the AOE can hurt models with Dig In, Force Barrier, etc.
- Puncture automatically triggers Drag, Backlash and similar 'on damage' effects.
Rules Clarification: : Drag , Pull, and/or Catch (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| Ranged Attack Damage (Drag and Catch only)
- If a model is destroyed by the ranged attack, Drag/Catch does not trigger.
- Corpse tokens, soul tokens, and etc will be generated from the model’s original position.
- You won't get the free melee attack from Drag, even if there's something different already in your melee range. No drag = no melee.
- Enemy effects that occur after the attack (such as "Enliven" and "Whelp") are triggered before Drag but after Pull. Refer Apdx A:
- Pull occurs at Step 12 of the attack sequence . (Infernal Ruling)
- Enemy effects occur at Step 13. (Infernal Ruling)
- Drag occurs at Step 14.
- As such, Enliven & Whelp etc can be used to 'block' the Drag movement, for instance, using Enliven to move behind an obstruction or another model.
- You cannot Drag/Pull/Catch models with a larger base size than you.
- The movement is a Push effect, which is involuntary movement.
- It is not an advance and will not trigger stuff like Countercharge.
- They won't take free strikes because it is involuntary movement.
- They will take damage from any hazards they're pushed through/into (such as Scathers).
- You can drag your target through Incorporeal models, if there's enough space on the other side, because the rules for Incorporeal specifically allow this. (If there's not enough space, the push will stop on the far side of the Incorporeal model.)
- You cannot drag models through Curse-of-Shadows-ed or similar models, because those rules refer to "models can advance through this model" and a push is not an advance.
- You may drag models that you are already in melee with. However most models can't shoot while in melee, so this is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon (see the corner-case scenarios, below).
- If you get to trigger Drag/Pull/Catch on a free strike (mostly just Pull), the moving model will never get out of your melee range. They have to keep advancing out and being pushed back until either they run out of movement, or you fail a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
| Push (Edit)
- Pushed models do not change their facing.
- Pushed models move at half rate through difficult terrain. Also, Pathfinder doesn't apply during pushes.
- Pushed models stop if they contact anything - a model of any size, or any obstacles or obstructions.
- You don't get free strikes against pushed models, because it is "involuntary movement" and therefore does not count as an advance.
- Pushed models suffer the effects of anything they move through (such as acid clouds).
- If you use a Push vs a charging model (via a free strike for example), this will stop the charge movement (refer core rulebook).
- However, if the pushed model is in melee range of its charge target after the push, then it is considered a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- In that scenario, you measure whether the charging model moved 3" or less excluding the push distance. (Infernal Ruling)
The Free Melee Attack(s) (Drag and Catch only)
- If the target model doesn't end up in melee range (whether because the ranged attack killed it outright, or something blocked the drag movement) then you don't get a free melee attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks.
- If the dragged model can't be targeted by melee attacks, you may not make your free drag attack and don't get the option to buy additional melee attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- For both of the above two cases, you may still complete your initial ranged attacks and buy additional ranged attacks as per normal (if you have more guns and/or Reload).
- You may make the free melee attack against models that "cannot be pushed" (assuming you're in melee range already). The "After the model is moved" is a timing clause, not a conditional clause.
- To pull this off, you need an ability that allows you to make ranged attack while you're already in melee, so is pretty much limited to just Colossals and/or models attacking objectives.
- After using Drag/Catch, the attacking model may make a single melee attack without spending focus. (So Black Ogrun can make a single melee attack.)
- After doing the free attack, you may buy additional attacks if you have a method of purchasing them. Models with Drag but no focus/fury (such as Black Ogrun) can't buy additional attacks (despite what is implied by the rule on their card) - it's just a standarised wording for Drag.
More corner-case Rules Clarifications
- Models that can make Ranged Attacks while in melee
- This section is pretty much limited to the Prime Axiom and Galleon who, thanks to being Colossals, can continue to shoot after dragging something into melee with themselves. It can also apply to any model shooting at a "can never be in melee" model (eg Scenario objectives).
- When you start your activation, you still need to choose either 'initial ranged attacks' or 'initial melee attacks'. If you choose melee attacks, then you will never get to shoot your Drag weapons.
- If you shoot a Drag weapon you need to resolve the drag move and the free melee attack, but afterwards you're still in "shooting" mode. The best way to think of it is it's "interrupting" your normal ranged attacks and after resolving it, you go back to completing your initials. So it might go:
- Shoot the Drag weapon.
- Drag the enemy closer.
- Resolve the free melee attack.
- Drag resolved. Now you finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
- Once you've completed all your initial ranged attacks (and any free drag melee attacks) then you have the option of buying additional attacks (ranged if you have Reload, melee otherwise.
- However, if you get overexcited and start buying melee attacks after the free drag one then you don't get to finish shooting the rest of your weapons.
- This is because shooting the rest of your guns is completing your "Initial Ranged Attacks" but by buying melee attacks you have jumped ahead to "After Initial Attacks" (refer first sentence of "Additional Attacks" pg 36 of Prime).
- Black Spot + Drag or Catch
- If you trigger Drag/Catch, then any attacks you get from Black Spot can be either ranged or melee, your choice. (Infernal Ruling)
- Dual Attack & Drag ( Edit )
- This is pretty-much limited to just the Prime Axiom under Syntherion
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs the same model, then you would get the free melee attack from Drag. The Drag attack is a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you charge model A then utilise Dual Attack to make a ranged attack vs a different model, then you would lose the free melee attack from Drag. Your first melee attack must be versus the charge target, and you cannot save the Drag attack for later. (Infernal Ruling)
- If you didn't charge then ... just go nuts. There's no restrictions that I know of.
- Assault & Drag ( Edit )
- You determine whether a charge was successful or not before making the Assault attack.
- If you make an unsuccessful charge but then use Drag to get your charge target into melee range, then:
- It is still a failed charge and your activation is going to end after the Assault attack is resolved. (Infernal Ruling)
- You will get the free melee attack from Drag as part of resolving the Assault ranged attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Whether or not your charge was successful, this free melee attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You won't be able to purchase additionals (because your activation ended).
Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw) (Edit)
- See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
- When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
- If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
- A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.
Rules Clarification : Sustained Attack (Edit)
- Translation for newbies : Once you hit your target, your next attack(s) with the same weapon will auto-hit.
- If your target becomes out of range in between attacks (somehow), then Sustained Attack will not let you auto-hit. Refer Step 3 vs Step 4 of the Attack Sequence (Apdx A).
- If you have sustained attack on a weapon that makes simultaneous attacks (e.g. Prime Axiom making a Sweep attack), then all the models you hit are "the last model hit" and whichever one you choose to attack next is the one you get the auto-hit bonus vs. (Infernal Ruling)
- This only applies to the first attack after a simultaneous one - once you make that next attack, it's all reset back to being "just one" last model hit.
- Example : you Sweep and hit models A, B, C. Then you buy an attack vs model C. It is auto-hit because it was (one of) the last model(s) hit. Then you buy another attack, now you can only auto-hit C because it is the last model hit.
Rules Clarification: : Vector (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
- They don't have one.
- They're immune to all effects that specify "cortex" - for instance, the spell Domination.
- They're not immune to disruption. You cannot allocate or induct to a disrupted Vector.
Interface Node and Induction
- A Vector can induct any number of times, to any number of Vectors, as long as it has focus to spend.
- You can induct to the same Vector repeatedly, if you want.
- You cannot go over the normal focus limit as a result of Induction. Refer to the Interface Node rules in the core rulebook.
- You can induct to a Vector that has already activated. Although the only tactically-wise target is the Corollary.
- Anything which prevents a model 'gaining' focus will prevent a Vector receiving focus via Induction.
- When a Vector spends a focus to charge/run/slam/trample, it does so before movement. So you need to resolve Induction from its original position, not its final position.
- A Vector doesn't need to be in its caster's CTRL range to give/receive focus via Induction.
- Warcasters can't Induct or be Inducted to.
- Unlike with normal warjacks, when a Vector has its Interface Node crippled it doesn't lose the focus currently on it.
- It can't spend the focus or gain any more while the Node's crippled, but if you repair the Node then you can start spending again. And a Corollary with a crippled Node can still use Power Transfer to give focus away.
- You can't spend focus to buy attacks (and Induct the focus) if no one is in your melee range. (Infernal Ruling)
MAT & RAT
- Vectors use your warcaster's current RAT/MAT.
- So, for things which affect RAT/MAT directly (such as Deneghra1's feat):
- If your warcaster is affected, then all of your Vectors are affected.
- If your Vector is affected, then it simply doesn't care.
- And for things which affect your attack roll (such as Positive Charge)
- There is no interaction between the caster and Vectors for 'attack roll' bonuses.
- If your warcaster is affected, then your Vectors don't care
- If a Vector is affected, then that Vector is affected (but not other Vectors)
- And for things which affect other stats (such as -2 SPD, STR, etc)
- Vectors work the same as normal models for all other stats. There is no special interaction between caster and Vectors in that regard.
Some MAT/RAT examples
- A caster has a MAT 6 and RAT 4.
- All Vectors in its battlegroup are MAT 6 and RAT 4
- In that same battlegroup, a Vector is affected by the Coven's feat (affected models suffer -2 RAT & MAT).
- That Vector remains MAT 6 and RAT 4.
- In that same battlegroup, the caster is affected by the Coven's feat.
- All Vectors become MAT 4 and RAT 2.
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Launch Servitor (Edit)
- It cannot place Ionization Servitors (due to the spawned rule) or Exponent Servitors (since they are part of a Warcaster unit and not Solos).