| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Mercenary Privateer Sea Dog Unit
Mustered together from disreputable coastal taverns and wharves, the Sea Dogs are motley pirates hungry for spoils. Armed with swords and pistols and barely kept in check by grizzled mates, the Sea Dogs serve any master with sufficient coin. What they lack in training and manners they make up for with frightening bluster and enthusiastic avarice.
| Unit Size
Hand Weapon - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee attack
- Entire Unit
- Mercenary - will work as a Cryx mercenary, Cygnar mercenary, Khador mercenary, and as a Protectorate of Menoth mercenary
- Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
- Tough - When this model is disabled, roll a d6. On a 5 or 6, remove 1 damage point from this model; it is no longer disabled and becomes knocked down. While knocked down this model loses Tough.
- Gang - When making a melee attack targeting an enemy model in the melee range of another model in this unit, this model gains +2 to melee attack and melee damage rolls.
- Shanghai - When a living enemy warrior is destroyed by a melee attack from this model while in melee range of another model in the unit, it is RFP'd and you get to add a Grunt to a non-character Sea Dog unit with CMD, including the Press Ganger unit.
- Leader (Lass) only
- She has +1 CMD.
- Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
- Seduction (★ Action) - Take control of a living enemy non-warcaster, non-warlock warrior model B2B with this model. You can immediately make a full advance with the enemy model followed by a basic melee attack, then Seduction expires. The enemy cannot be targeted by free strikes during this movement. A model can be affected by Seduction only once per turn.
Thoughts on Press Gangers
Press Gangers in a nutshell
Press Gangers punish your opponent for bringing living infantry. They die fast but come back almost as quickly. If your opponent brought warrior models, that is. If not, Press Gangers are weak against high ARM jacks and beasts. Assuming your opponent does not quickly deal with them, the unit can become quite large. More often than not, they're first wave chaff with a tiny bit of jamming ability to deliver your real force.
Combos & Synergies
Press Gangers are part of the normal Pirate boat and synergies with other Sea Dogs (by giving them more members) as well as Captain Phinneus Shae
Drawbacks and Downsides
- Without help they are only slightly better than unsupported Sea Dog Pirates, which isn't saying much.
- Average DEF, low ARM and no defense against blast damage.
Tricks and Tips
- In Mk3 Press Gangers can now add grunts to their own unit. So, split your unit up to "Daisy Chain" more Press Gangers. For instance:
- Send 6 Gangers into 3 enemy models, and 4 Gangers into 4 different enemies.
- When one of the first 6 trigger Shangai, place the new Press Ganger next to one of the other 4 so that he can (potentially) trigger Shangai too.
- Sculptor: Todd Harris
- Some players like buying models from other factions and converting them with pirate hats to represent people shanghai'd. This is why you occasionally see a Gallows Grove with a pirate hat (or other ridiculous model) as a member of the Sea Dog Boarding Crew.
- Originally released in Pirates of the Broken Coast (2007)
Other Mercenary models
Rules Clarification : Press Gangers
- If the Leader (Lass) is RFP'd before reaching "Destroyed", then you do not get to resolve Field Promotion. This means you completely lose the Lass model, including her Seduction ability
Rules Clarification : Gang and/or Gang Fighter (Edit)
- You can gain the Gang bonus vs knocked down/stationary models (refer to the latest Errata).
- You can gain the Gang bonus on free strikes, but generally only the first "Ganger" will get it.
- For example, if a target is engaged by two models with Gang, when it leaves the melee range of the first Ganger it suffers a free strike with the Gang bonus. Then it leaves the melee range of the second and suffers a normal free strike.
Rules Clarification : Shanghai (Edit)
- There is no upper limit on how many models you add via the Shanghai ability.
- In Tournaments you must have all required models, any models you do not own to represent on the table cannot enter play (Proxies are not allowed).
- (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification : Seduction (Edit)
- Seduction does not target. You can take control of someone in your rear arc, if you're B2B.
- Seduction doesn't require an attack roll.
- Depending on the model, sometimes Seduction is a normal action and sometimes it is a Magic Ability.
| Taking Control of an Enemy Model (Edit)
- Taking control of a model means it is now friendly to you, and will immediately be engaged by it's erstwhile allies.
- This will limit your ability to make ranged attacks.
- If you get to make an advance with the controlled model, this can allow the original owner to take free strikes against his own model. He doesn't have to take these, of course.
- The controlled model does not have a proper Activation, so stuff like Chain Strike won't apply.
- Buffs and effects:
- The controlled model counts as a "friendly model" and will benefit from any buffs that your own models are handing out (such as Mark Target), (assuming the controlled model meets the criteria for the buff).
- If your opponent is the same faction, then the controlled model will count as a "friendly faction model" and even more buffs are potentially available (such as Veteran Leader).
- If you have an ability that is "take control of an enemy then make an attack", and that model has an ability that triggers after making an attack (such as Death Toll), then (most) such abilities won't work. Because you must recheck the trigger conditions for Death Toll at the time of resolving it, and the friendly/enemy criteria are no longer valid.
- Theme abilities:
- If a model gains an ability via a Theme Force rule, and then the opponent takes it over, whether it keeps that ability is ... being checked
- You can advance a model into an acid cloud and force them to take damage, but they only take damage once per advance (ref Prime rulebook pg 65). Thus you cannot keep moving them micro-millimetres in and out of an acid cloud to inflict infinite damage.
- The model is friendly while under your control, so you can't force free strikes by walking it past your own models. You can, however, walk it past your opponent's models and politely ask if they want to take free strikes against their own model.
- If you enter into an area, the controlled model can suffer the effect of entering into the area only once per advance. It means you cannot yo-yo a Devastator in and out of a Razor Wall 36 times to deplete all its damage boxes.
- Models with the Gunfighter advantage can make attacks as they normally would if the ability controlling them allows for basic attacks (e.g., Influence). Note that other "take control" abilities only allow for melee attacks, such as Seduction and Bone Shaker (Gunfighter attacks are ranged attacks).
- Point Blank attacks cannot be made with temporarily controlled models, as Point Blank is only allowed 'during activation.'
- Controlled models do not receive back strike bonuses, because you can only get that bonus during your normal activation.
- With reference to the attack sequence (appendix A) your control of the model doesn't expire until after Step 14. So you can potentially trigger abilities like Snacking (Step 11.4).
- As long as it's not limited to "during combat action" or "during activation".
Destroying the Controlled model
If the model is destroyed or RFP'd while under your control (for instance you walked it into a hazard), this has two consequences:
- It is considered to be under your control at the moment it is taken off the table:
- Your opponent can't reave fury off a warbeast destroyed this way, because it is an enemy warbeast when it is taken off the table.
- Your opponent can't trigger stuff that depends on a "Friendly model" being destroyed (such as Righteous Vengeance).
- You can't trigger stuff that depends on an "Enemy model" being destroyed (such as Cull Soul).
- It returns to the original owner once it's off the table:
- Your opponent can use Spirit Bond to get fury from the dead warbeast.
- Your opponent can use Return To Play abilities to get it back on the table (assuming it wasn't RFP'd).
Taking control of an enemy Trooper (member of a unit)
- A trooper you take control of becomes an independent model. Thus:
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that it gets from its comrades (such as Gang, Shield Wall, etc).
- It will not benefit from any bonuses that rely on the trooper being "in formation" (such as Granted and Tactics abilities).
- Spells on a unit are considered to be on the "unit", not on the "models that make up the unit". So a controlled trooper will not benefit from any spells on the unit.
- If you take control of the last survivor of a unit then the "unit" ceases to exist for the duration of the control. This means that any spells on the "unit" will expire. Woo, free dispel!
Rules Clarification : Officer (Edit)
- Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
- When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
- But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
Rules Clarification : Tough - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)