Official announcement coming soon. Watch this space.
The site is in the process of being cloned to a new server. IF you make an edit in the next few weeks, there is a chance it won't get duplicated to the new server.
Mercenary, & Cygnar Partisan, Morrowan Unit
A Cygnaran order dedicated to the warrior philosophies of the god Morrow, the Precursor Knights are sworn to honorable combat and dedicated to guarding the innocent. Protected from fell magic by the blessings of the ascendants and from the weapons of their enemies by heavy armor and locked shields, the Precursor Knights wield their blessed maces against the unholy terrors that threaten all of mankind.
Officer & Standard - Command Attachment
These holy warriors emulate the example of their god and march to war preaching His word. Leading units of blessed Precursor Knights, these officers and their standard bearers bring light to the darkness of war. They preserve the souls and bodies of their comrades from rapacious undead and destroy the wicked with righteous fervor.
| Unit Size
|| 6/10 |
+4 for CA
|See also How to Read the statblock
- Everyone except the Standard Bearer
- Blessed Mace - 0.5" reach, P+S 12 melee weapon
- Standard Bearer
- Unarmed - This model has no weapons.
- Entire Unit
- Mercenary - will work as a Cygnar Partisan
- Partisan [Cygnar] - When included in a Cygnar army, this model/unit is a Cygnar model/unit instead of a Mercenary model/unit.
- Animosity [Undead or Thamarite] - This model can't be included in the same army as a Undead or Thamarite model.
- Shield Wall (Order) - Models in this unit get +4 ARM while B2B with another model in the unit, unless the attack originates in their rear arc. Lasts until the beginning of their next activation.
- Spell Ward - This model cannot be targeted by spells.
- Officer Only
- He has +1 MAT and 5 HP.
- Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
- Morrow's Name (Minifeat) - Once per game the unit gains an extra die on melee damage.
- Tactics: Practiced Maneuvers - The unit gains Practiced Maneuvers. (Practiced Maneuvers - Each model in this unit can ignore other models in this unit when determining LOS and can advance through them if it has enough movement to move completely past them.)
- Standard Bearer Only
- Standard Bearer - While the standard bearer is within 5" of the unit commander, the commander gains +2 CMD.
- Take Up - If this model is killed you may instead remove a Grunt within 1". Remove any effects on this model, and apply any effects that were on the old grunt.
Thoughts on Precursor Knights
Precursor Knights in a nutshell
The Precursor Knights are a shield wall unit of skirmish infantry who can be weapon masters for one turn with the unit attachment. Unfortunately, they are slow, not the most durable thing out there and Spell Ward is the thorn in the ass of progress. They are one of the few hard hitting options with native Magic Weapon available in either Cygnar or Mercenaries.
Combos & Synergies
- Constance Blaize, Knight of the Prophet - She is the only caster who will ever take them. Crusader's Call helps the speed issue, her feat improves durability to help them get there and Radiance of Morrow makes Precursors dangerous when they do.
- Gallant - his accumulator means he gets focus from Morrowans.
- Casters, whose spells don't target the unit directly, like Nemo1's Deceleration, Brisbane's Foxhole, or Haley1's Temporal Barrier.
- Rhupert - his boosts are not magic abilities, so can be applied upon the knights.
- Lanyssa Ryssyl extends their threat range and pairs well with Crusader's Call.
Drawbacks and Downsides
- Shield wall units have known disadvantages - and most of them have long weapons to make up for needing to bunch up.
- Low threat range without Blaize.
- Spell Ward means they are very difficult to buff and their stats are such that they really want to have a buff in order to shine.
- They die real fast.
Tricks and Tips
- Don't forget Practiced Maneuvers, it helps you with LOS and placement issues during a charge.
- Originally released in Warmachine: Legends (2008)
- The Precursors' have a fantastic sculpt. Every sculpt but one is clearly defined with movement. The shields allow you to paint them with varying degrees of detail depending on how nitpicky you are. Their combination of not over-burdening the models with detail and big, bold lines, allow them to look great on the table.
Other Faction Models
Rules Clarification : Blessed and/or Creator's Wrath (Edit)
- Blessed ignores buffs even if they're not directly on the target. For instance, Haley3's Temporal Distortion spell gives a DEF buff to everyone within 5" ... and Blessed ignores it. (Locked thread)
- You only ignore the DEF/ARM buff if the spell directly adds to the stat. A spell which instead grants a separate non-spell ability, and the ability gives a DEF/ARM buff, would not be ignored. (Infernal Ruling)
In this ruling, Blessed does not ignore the DEF from Ashen Veil, because the DEF bonus comes from Concealment, and not the spell itself.
- If a spell buffs DEF/ARM and [something else] then you ignore the buff but not the [something else].
- For example, the spell Cloak of Ash grants concealment, and models with concealment gain +2 DEF. You would not ignore this DEF bonus.
- For example, the spell Death Ward grants +2 ARM and the defender chooses which column suffers damage. You would ignore the ARM bonus, but the defender still picks the column.
- The Mk3 Blessed icon resembles the old Mk2 Magical Weapon icon. Do not get them confused.
- This ability only ignores buffs from spells, not buffs from feats (such as Stryker1's Invincibility +5 ARM) or abilities (such as Protective Aura's +2 ARM).
Rules Clarification: : Magical Damage (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
| * The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Partisan (Edit)
- This model is normally "friendly faction" to other mercenary models. However, when taken in the Partisan faction it is "friendly faction" to that faction and not to any other mercenaries that are in that force.
- For instance, if you take Gallant in a Mercenary force he is "friendly faction" to, say, Reinholdt. But if you take them both in a Cygnar force then Gallant counts as a Cygnar model and is no longer "friendly faction" to Reinholdt.
- Partisan Warcasters can be taken in faction theme forces. Refer to the main rulebook.
- When taken in a Mercenary army, Partisan units may not take attachments from their "parent" army (eg Nyss Hunters can only take a Retribution Soulless Escort when they're fielded in a Retribution army). (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification : Animosity (Edit)
- When using the Specialist or ADR rules in a Steamroller format, your entire list and the specialists must be a single legally fieldable force (even though you're not fielding it all at once).
Rules Clarification : Shield Wall (Edit)
- You don't need to have the entire unit in B2B to get the bonus. Even just two models in B2B will give it to each other. Which way they're facing doesn't matter, either.
- You can still get Shield Wall while knocked down.
- Shield Wall works against all damage except damage originating in your back arc.
- If a damage roll doesn't have an origin point (such as Scather, Old Witch1's feat, continuous fire, etc) then by definition it can't originate in your back arc, and you'll get your bonus vs it.
- It won't work vs stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)
- If you start the game in Shield Wall, it will expire when you activate the unit. It doesn't let you run and be in Shield Wall on turn 1.
- Since models move in straight lines, it impossible to keep two models B2B while advancing. Thus you cannot benefit from Shield Wall while moving through acid clouds etc.
- Unless you have something that lets you move through models, like Tactician.
- Orders affect unit attachments, even if that attachment doesn't have the order on their card (such as a Soulless Escort benefiting from the Shield Wall order). (Infernal Ruling)
- You get your Shield Wall bonus vs continuous fire in the Maintenance Phase. Shield Wall doesn't expire until the unit activates. (Locked thread)
Rules Clarification : Sacred Ward and/or Spell Ward (Edit)
- Sacred/Spell Warded models can still be affected by spells. For instance, CTRL area spells, AOE that deviate, and/or sprays that target a nearby non-warded model.
Rules Clarification : Officer (Edit)
- Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
- When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
- But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
Rules Clarification : Morrow's Name (Edit)
| Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
- "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
- The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
- Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
- Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
- In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
- You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
- Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
- In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
- If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Units with "Any Time" abilities
- Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
- Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
- So, for example:
- You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Tactics vs Granted (Edit)
- Granted = The unit loses the ability as soon as the model that grants it is taken off the table.
- Tactics = The unit keeps the ability for the entire game, regardless of who dies.
Rules Clarification : Practiced Maneuvers - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Standard Bearer (Edit)
- If the Officer dies, the Standard Bearer can give the CMD bonus to the Leader model.
Rules Clarification : Take Up (Edit)
- The model taken off the table is effectively killed by Take Up, not the original attack, so it will stop abilities like Berserk and Killing Spree. (Locked thread)
Note to Editors
To edit the CA's tagged abilities, Click here