Retribution Shyeel Heavy Warjack
House Shyeel has brought the power of its formidable myrmidons to the Retribution, fighting machines enhanced by sophisticated arcanika systems. The Phoenix enters battle in a blaze of blue-white flames as liquid fire ignites along its massive thermal blade.
- Halo Cannon - 10" range, 3" AOE, POW 14 gun
- Thermal Blade - 2" reach, P+S 17 melee weapon
- Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
- Continuous Fire - A model hit by this attack is set on fire. A model on fire suffers a POW 12 fire damage roll in Maintenance phase of owner's turn until the fire expires.
- Open Fist - 1" reach, P+S 13 melee weapon
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Arc Node - This model can channel spells cast by its controlling Warcaster.
- Force Fields - this warjack has an extra damage track that takes damage first.
- Field Dependent - If this model's Generator is crippled, it loses Phoenix Field and can't attack with the Halo Cannon.
- Phoenix Field - Remove d6 damage points from this model's force field after resolving continuous effects during your Maintenance Phase.
- Combustion (★ Attack) - This model causes POW 12 Fire Damage and the Fire Continuous Effect to nearby models and may then buy additional melee attacks.
Thoughts on Phoenix
Phoenix in a nutshell
The Phoenix is the epitome of generalist. It can do everything. It has tools for taking down heavy armor, high DEF, it can make Throw power attacks, it has an AOE ranged weapon, has melee and ranged magical attacks, can channel spells, and has very good survivability and speed. One is hard-pressed to find a more versatile tool in the game.
Combos & Synergies
Drawbacks & Downsides
Tricks & Tips
Originally released in Forces of Warmachine: Retribution of Scyrah (Novermber 2009)
Other Retribution models
Rules Clarification : Magical Damage (Edit)
- The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
- All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
- This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
- and might be inherited by "lingering" secondary damage (see below).
- If a spell leaves a template in play that does damage to models that walk around in it, then:
- if it is not described as a hazard it will do magical damage to models that walk around in it. (Example: Razor Wall)
- if it is a hazard then it will not do magical damage to models that walk around in it. Instead, it does whatever damage type is specified by the spell description. (Example: Breath of Corruption).
- (Infernal Ruling)
- If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it will still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")
Rules Clarification : Fire (Edit)
- Moving into "Shallow water" standard terrain does not cause continuous fire to expire. It's magic fire.
- You can always use non-standard terrain if you agree with your opponent before the game starts, however.
- A weapon can inflict continuous fire without itself being a fire damage weapon (for example, the Helio's fists). In this case, the attack can hurt models with Immunity:Fire it just won't apply the continuous effect.
Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw) (Edit)
- See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
- When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
- If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
- A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Channeler and/or Arc Node (Edit)
- You use the channeler's abilities when determining LOS (such as whether you can see your target through a forest).
- If the channeler has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to LOS.
- You use the caster's abilities when determining attack roll modifiers (such as whether a target standing in a forest gets +2 DEF or not).
- If the caster has an ability to ignore LOS or DEF bonuses (such as Eyeless Sight), then you only apply that "ignorance" to the DEF bonus.
- Since Stealth has both a LOS component (stealth models more than 5" away aren't intervening models) and an attack roll modifier (stealth models more than 5" away are auto-missed); this can lead to some non-intuitive interactions between channeling and stealth when either the caster or channeler is able to ignore stealth.
We've put a bunch of examples on the Category:Channeler page.
Rules Clarification : Combustion (Edit)
- You cannot use Combustion after charging.
Because when you charge you must make either A) initial melee attacks, B) a special melee attack, C) a non-melee special attack that explicitly says you can use it after charging (such as Rain of Death).
Combustion is a non-melee special attack and it doesn't say it can be used on a charge.
Rules Clarification : Force Fields (Edit)
- You cannot spend focus to heal Force Fields mid-move, such as taking damage from a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot repair forcefields, but you can spend focus to remove damage. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Field Dependent - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Phoenix Field - None yet. (Edit)