Ol' Rowdy

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Armored Corps CID is now live     (Edit)  

Articles you can help complete     (Edit)  

Cygnar Character Heavy Warjack

Ol' Rowdy has five decades of service under its chassis. He hails from the first generation of Ironclads hammered together at the Cygnaran Armory from parts manufactured at Engines East. Not until after several years fighting with distinction during the Scharde Invasions did the ornery temper that would characterize Ol' Rowdy actually come to the fore.

Basic Info[edit]

Ol' Rowdy
Ol Rowdy.jpg
SPD 5
STR 11
MAT 8
DEF 12
ARM 19 / 20
(★)
HP 30
Cost 18
(★)20 when you include the buckler
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

  • Quake Hammer- 1" reach, P&S 18 melee weapon
    • Critical Knockdown - On a critical hit, the model hit becomes knocked down.
    • Tremor - (★ Attack) - Before resolving damage from this attack, center a 4" AOE on the model directly hit. Models in the AOE become knocked down. This model is not affected by Tremor.
  • Open Fist- 1" reach, P&S 14 melee weapon
    • Buckler - This 'weapon' has an integral buckler that gives the model a cumulative +1 ARM bonus. The bonus doesn't apply if the weapon is crippled or if the damage originates in your back arc.
    • Open Fist - This warjack/warbeast may make Throw Power Attacks.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Aggressive - This model can run or charge for free.
  • Retaliatory Strike - Once per turn when an enemy hits this model in melee, it can hit back. Once.
  • Countercharge - When an enemy model advances and ends its movement within 6" of this model and in its LOS, this model can immediately charge it. This model can use Countercharge only once per round and not while engaged.
  • Bond: (Stryker) - If this model begins the game in Stryker's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Stryker and in their CTRL range, Stryker gains +2 DEF against melee attack rolls and cannot become knocked down. While bonded to Stryker and B2B with him, this model is not moved when slammed.

Thoughts on Ol' Rowdy[edit]

Ol' Rowdy in a nutshell[edit]

Grab an Ironclad, nail some extra armour to it, get a whole bunch of cool and useful special rules, and you get Ol' Rowdy. It is an excellent melee Warjack with a great level of focus efficiency thanks to Aggressive. Counter charge also gives your opponent all sorts of headaches in terms of model placement if they aren't careful, while Retaliatory Strike makes its dispatch more difficult than it seems.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

Due to theme restrictions, Ol'Rowdy nowadays sees play mostly with Stryker.

  • Thanks to its focus efficiency, it remains an ever useful jack for Stryker1 and Stryker3, as they tend to spend most of their FOCUS pool for upkeep spells. From the bond Stryker2 and Stryker3 get the most. At some point, they both want to get near the front line, and getting knocked down really spoils their day.

Outside themes, any focus-greedy caster will appreciate the presence of Ol'Rowdy.

  • Caine2's assassination can be assisted with a well-placed Tremor.
  • Sloan usually troubles against melee threats with her gunline and few FOCUS.
  • Kraye gives him some excellent mobility. Not only that, the boosted charge attack roll for free (even outside his feat) gives you great opportunities for critical knockdowns on your charge target.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • 6 pts more expensive than an Ironclad - it is often a tipping point, which stops it being an auto-include, especially in themes, where it doesn't contribute to the free-model point threshold.
  • The bond is more or less a trap - none of the Strykers like blast damage and AoEs that apply continuous effects.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • A boosted Tremor hit with MAT 8 knocks down even DEF 18 models on average.
  • Remember that if you score a critical knockdown with your Retaliatory Strike, the enemy model won't be able to do anything else (unless it is Steady)
  • If you charge a model with Admonition (or similar) and it moves away, you can use Counter Charge to re-engage them and get a free attack.
  • Don't forget, if a model runs into melee with you, you cannot trigger Countercharge. If you want to use Countercharge, and the jamming model hits you, your best bet is to trigger Retaliatory Strike, and go for a critical hit, which ceases the enemy model to be engaged.
  • His bond does not stop either model getting pushed or placed. Be extra careful against lists with placement tricks (Haley2, Rahn, Thexus, etc.), who can place/push/drag Rowdy outside B2B, then slam it right through Stryker.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces this is a member of[edit]

  • Storm Division - (Article) (Category), but only if taken in Stryker's battlegroup.
  • Heavy Metal (Article) (Category), but only if taken in Stryker's battlegroup.
  • Sons of the Tempest - (Article) (Category), but only if taken in Stryker's battlegroup.
  • Gravediggers - (Article) (Category), but only if taken in Stryker's battlegroup.

Other faction models[edit]

CygnarLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Jakes2 - Darius - Kraye - Sloan - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Sturgis1 - Constance - Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Maddox - Siege1 - Siege2
C
Y
G
N
A
R
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Journeyman - Jakes1 - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Marshals Runewood - Strangewayes - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA
Light warjacks Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy warjacks Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Gun Mages - Mechaniks - Long Gunners - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - T. Cannon Crew - T. Chain Gun Crew - T. Commandos - T. Express Team - T. Long Gunners - T. Infantry - T. Mechaniks
Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team

Ranking Officer CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch

Solos Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Captain Adept - Journeyman Warcaster - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - T. Buster - T. Master Gunner - T. Patrol Dog - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Runewood - Strangewayes - Maxwell Finn - Anson Hitch - Harlan Versh - Jakes1 - Bastian Falk - Gwen Keller - Laddermore - Harrison Gibbs - Viktor Pendrake
Battle Engines & Structures Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse
 
Theme Forces
Gravediggers - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Storm Division
Merc cygnar.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Ashlynn - Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten
Requires a 2+ caster game
C
Y
G
N
A
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Gastone Crosse - Rorsh & Brine - Brun Cragback & Lug
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Cygnar army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Horgenhold Artillery - Forge Guard - Ogrun Assault Corps - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Alexia1 - Sam & the Devil Dogs - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia - Bradigan - Eilish Garrity - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone - Gorman - Hutchuk - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Dougal - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Savio - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Taryn - Thor
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Rowdy's Bond

  • Although he can't be moved by a slam, he can be damaged by it.


Rules Clarification : Tremor      (Edit)

  • Although the wording could be clearer, Tremor does cause a normal damage roll in addition to the knockdown effect. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Knockdown (Edit) - Remember, knockdown only prevents what it says it does. Refer to the Knockdown page for a recap of what a model can/can't do.

Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler     (Edit)

  • The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
    • In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
  • You don't get the Shield bonus vs stuff originating in your back arc. This includes stuff that "leaps" off models in your back arc, such as Electro Leap. (Locked thread)

Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw)     (Edit)

  • See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
  • When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
  • If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
  • A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.


Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Aggressive - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Retaliatory Strike      (Edit)

  • "Basic melee attack" also includes Mount Attacks. Refer to the definition of 'Basic Attack' in the rulebook.
  • You can't make Retaliatory Strikes vs free strikes, because the free striker is defined to be in your back arc (regardless of the actual model's facings) and thus you don't have LOS to it. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification:  : Countercharge      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

Triggering Countercharge
  • What does trigger Countercharge
    • Admonition triggers off any advance, not just in-activation stuff.
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own turn, if your opponent has an ability to move during your turn (such as Admonition).
    • Standing still but changing facing is an advance.
  • What doesn't trigger Countercharge
    • Aiming, or forfeiting your movement, is not advancing.
    • If a model doesn't move, doesn't change facing, doesn't aim ... does nothing but skips straight ahead to its Combat Action, this is not an advance. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Being placed (such as Teleport) is not an advance.
    • Involuntary movement (being slammed, thrown, or pushed) is not an advance.
  • Even when an entire unit is moving, countercharge is triggered per model. So you can countercharge after any models of the unit had finished his move within range, but you can only countercharge the model who finished its movement. You can't "save it" until the unit finishes moving and then say "I'm going to Countercharge the first guy you moved."

What can your opponent do?

  • Once you trigger countercharge, your opponent cannot use a "Any Time" ability until the countercharge is fully resolved. Even though it's their turn.
  • They can trigger their own abilities from your movement (such as Admonition) and/or your attack (such as Shock Field).

Attacks & Boosting

  • You only get one attack when making a countercharge, regardless of how many initials you normally have.
  • You can't spend fury/focus to boost it, or buy additional attacks afterwards. Because you're only allowed to do spend fury/focus during your own activation.
  • The charge attack damage is only boosted if the Countercharger moved 3" or more, as with a regular charge.

After the Countercharge

  • You cannot use any abilities that trigger on "during activation" or "during combat action" (such as Sprint) after a Countercharge, as Counter Charge is not an activation. Closed thread

Enemy "Skipping" their movement

  • If your opponent 'forgets' to move their model and didn't declare they're forfeiting movement (they just said "I'm activating this model and making an attack") then do they count as moving or not?
  • Technically the rules don't have a default condition for this, and it becomes a Sportsmanship issue for you to sort out with your opponent.
  • However, the Judges document (which is used to run all official PP events) states that the model officially counts as "Advancing 0 inches" and thus will trigger Counter Charge. Most players follow the Judges document for casual play as well.

Unit with countercharge

  • This applies to Zaadesh2 with Scarab Packs
  • Each model in the unit has its own individual countercharge. They don't have to all countercharge at the same time, and only the specific model within 6" of the trigger will be able to countercharge.
  • If a model is out of formation, it won't be able to countercharge (since it is unable to move out of his normal movement).
  • If a model starts in formation but the countercharge movement takes it out of formation, it won't be able to make the charge attack (but will engage).
  • If several models in the same unit want to countercharge the same model, you fully resolve the counter charge of the first, including the attack, before starting the counter charge of the other(s).
  • If the unit commander countercharges such that the other models become out of formation, they immediately lose the ability to trigger countercharge (because out-of-formation models can't move).

Other interactions

  • Countercharge vs. Admonition (etc) ( Edit )
    • You can trigger Countercharge during your own activation - if a model with Admonition (or similar) uses it to (try to) move away.
      • You move, they trigger admonition and move, you trigger countercharge off their admonition-move.
    • In this scenario you may boost Countercharge attacks and trigger only-during-activation effects (such as Critical Shred & Sustained Attack) exactly as if you were in your activation (because you are).
    • Also, you can potentially get two charge attacks (one for your normal charge, one for the counter charge).
  • Countercharge plus Admonition
    • If a model has both CC and Admonition, it can trigger both at the same time. A model moves nearby, it admonitions away, then countercharges back in.
  • Countercharge vs Slipstream ( Edit )
    • Both these abilities trigger at the same time (end of movement). The active player then resolved his first.
    • This can let the Slipstream model place something to block the Countercharge model.
  • Assault vs Countercharge ( Edit )
    • With reference to the Activation Timing (Apdx A), Countercharge occurs at Step 5, and Assault occurs at Step 5 for independent models and Step 6 for units. (Infernal Ruling about the Step 6)
    • So, if a model with Assault finishes its charge movement within range of a model with Countercharge then...
      • If it's an independent model then you need to resolve the Assault shot before making the Countercharge move. This is because both abilities occur at the same time but active player effects are resolved first.
      • But if it's a model belonging to a unit, then you need to resolve the Countercharge immediately, then finish moving the rest of the unit, then start Assault shots.
  • Countercharge & Cavalry ( Edit )
    • A model with Countercharge and Cavalry can make Impact Attacks during the countercharge. (Refer "Charges Outside of Activation" in the rulebook).

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • Exception: Battlegroup Controllers and Lesser Warlocks cannot take their bonded warjacks/warbeasts in theme forces (eg Kharybdis with Aiakos1) because BC & LW are specifically not warcasters/warlocks. (Infernal Ruling)