Mercenary warjacks are often drawn from discontinued chassis once produced by kingdom armies. The Nomad, once a Cygnaran mainstay, has been battering enemy ’jacks with its battle blade for 150 years. Mercenaries maintain these battle-tested machines and find them fully capable of standing toe-to-toe against any fresh from the assembly line.
Weapons and Attacks
- Open Fist - 1" range, P+S 14 melee weapon
- Buckler - This 'weapon' has an integral buckler that gives the model a cumulative +1 ARM bonus. The bonus doesn't apply if the weapon is crippled or if the damage originates in your back arc.
- Open Fist - This warjack/warbeast may make Throw Power Attacks.
- Battle Blade - 2" range, P+S 18 melee weapon
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Tried & True - If this model would be repaired, that value is increased a small amount.
Thoughts on Nomad
Nomad in a nutshell
The Nomad is the Mercenary version of a standard heavy warjack - about as simple and straightforward as a warjack gets. It fills the space in Mercenary armies held by the Slayer, Ironclad, Crusader, and Juggernaut in other factions: the cheap, bog-standard heavy intended to absorb enemy fire and whack stuff. It has one job and it does it well. Like all heavy warjacks it can trample, throw, and do other standard power attacks. Add its low cost to its big sword and its decent ARM from its buckler and you have a nice cheap roadblock that, in terms of points versus toughness ratio, can't easily be beaten.
Combos & Synergies
With the exception of Tried & True, the Nomad has no special abilities to speak of (the back of Mk.II card was completely blank).
Lots of merc warcasters give the Nomad a bit of a boost, but nothing to make it exceptional:
Drawbacks and Downsides
- Other than its range there's nothing remotely special about the Battle Blade. It's not terribly good at annhiliating heavies and has no special abilities at all.
- Manglers have a better overall hitting power with the same range, can get past bucklers and shields, can run and charge without spending focus, has Thresher so is better at dealing with multiple models, has a generally better overall statline. You pay a premium for these benefits of course, but for most it's a price worth paying. The Nomad has the advantage in price, durability (arguably), and simplicity - it's usually good enough for anti-jack duty, the Mangler is better sent to deal with packed infantry.
- It has a lot of unrealised potential since it's a cheap, workmanlike jack, but no Mercenary war casters really run them well enough that seeing one on the table is going to concern anyone.
Tricks and Tips
- Put it in front of enemy light infantry. They can't walk away without a free strike and will have to work hard to kill the Nomad.
- The range of the Battle Blade means that there's a 6" diameter circle (rather than a 3" one mostly filled by the jack) that the enemy can't move through without taking a free strike.
Changes from Mk2
- Gained the "Tried & True" special rule
- Battle Blade has slightly higher POW
- Slightly cheaper
How can I include this model in my army?
To include this mercenary warjack in your army, it must be controlled by one of the following warcasters or marshals. Thus, to include this jack you first need to find a controller that works for your army.
Theme Forces this is a member of
For a Mercenary warjack to be taken in a Theme Force, not only does the 'jack have to meet the theme criteria but it's controller does too. With that in mind, Nomad can be taken in:
Other Mercenary models
| Mercenary - Faction models (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Shield and/or Buckler (Edit)
- The only time you lose the Shield bonus is when the weapon is crippled, or if the attack originates in your back arc. (Infernal Ruling)
- In other words, you still get the Shield bonus while knocked down or stationary.
Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw) (Edit)
- See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
- When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
- If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
- A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- Please refer to the Warjack page for a recap of the warjack rules, and the very few associated Infernal Rulings.
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)