Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search
























This server will go offline in September 2018. Please migrate to our new server, Warmachine University




















.

For more info on why we're moving to a new server, check out the Brief History section on the new main page, and/or listen to episode 45 of the LOS podcast
If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot.
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.


Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls
Cryx Thrall Unit

A necrosurgeon accompanies each band of mechanikally enhanced necromantic soldiers that march from one killing field to the next; this specialist among necrotechs was created to maintain thralls and craft replacements as they are destroyed.

Basic Info[edit]

Necrosurgeon
Necrosurgeon.jpg
SPD 6
MAT 5
DEF 14
ARM 12
CMD 7
HP 5
Cost 4
Unit Size 1 Necrosurgeon

3 Stitch Thralls

See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Necrosurgeon
    • Gut Splitter - 0.5" reach, P+S 9 melee weapon
  • Stitch Thrall Grunts
    • Unarmed - This model has no weapons.

Abilities[edit]

  • Stitch Thrall Grunts
    • The Stitch Thralls have the same statline as the Necrosurgeon, but only 1 hitpoint each.
    • Undead - This model is an undead model and not a living model.
  • Necrosurgeon
    • Undead - As above
    • Officer - This model is the unit commander even if the unit has a Leader model.
    • Body Snatcher - When a living or undead model is destroyed within 5˝ of the Necrosurgeon or a Grunt in its unit that is in formation, the Necrosurgeon gains the destroyed model’s corpse token.
    • Necrosurgery (★ Action) - Target a friendly Faction undead model in B2B. Remove d6 damage points from it.
    • Ressurectionist - Remove up to 3 corpse tokens from the Necrosurgeon and add a small-based Grunt to a friendly Thrall unit within her CMD range for each token removed. Grunts must be placed in formation & within 3" of the Necrosurgeon, and they must forfeit their Combat Action this turn.
    • Sacrificial Pawn [Thrall] - When this model is directly hit by an enemy ranged attack, you can have one friendly, non-incorporeal Thrall model within 3" of it hit instead. That model is automatically hit and suffers all damage and effects.

Recent Changes[edit]

2017.05 Thall CID

The scope of the surgeon was vastly increased - she can now collect corpses from any Thrall unit, add new Grunts to any Thrall unit, and use Sac Pawn to any Thrall. Previously all those rules only interacted with Mechanithralls.
Body Snatcher was also buffed so it collects all destroyed models, regardless of which player kills them.


Thoughts on Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls[edit]

Necrosurgeon & Stitch Thralls in a nutshell[edit]

You take the Necrosurgeon if you're fielding Thralls, and she greatly increases their resilience.

She also has some use as a healer.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Terminus loves undead infantry spam, as his 'Shadow of Death' ability makes all the Thralls Tough, and the Necrosurgeon will add insult to injury (spam to spam).
  • Fielding Mechanithralls, the Necrosurgeon, and a Sepulcher can make your recursion mechanic extremely hard to stop.
  • In Ghost Fleet theme, you can kill your own Revenants, collect their corpses, and they will auto-return next round. Giving you two undead bodies for the price of one!
  • Goreshade3 can use Mockery of Life to return a Grunt to play after you've collected its corpse, once again giving you two undead bodies for the price of one.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • If the entire Thrall unit is wiped out, you can't use Ressurectionist.
  • The Thralls can't do anything useful on the turn they enter play.
  • If you position the Necrosurgeon badly, she could be killed easily. For instance an AOE weapon that scatters onto her can kill her quite easily, and she can't trigger Sacrificial Pawn against it because it's not a direct hit.
  • The Stitch Thralls have no melee weapons, which means they can't charge nor engage enemies nor make free strikes. The best they can do (other than collect corpses) is block enemy charge lanes.
  • Sometimes you run into activation order dilemmas:
    • You want the Stitch Thralls in place to collect the enemy corpses. So you need to activate the Necrosurgeon unit first and run into position. But position them badly, and the Stitch Thralls can block the combat Thralls charges.
    • You want to run the Stitch Thralls forward to collect as many corpses as possible. But you can't use the Necrosurgeon's action and run the Stitch Thralls on the same turn. So if you're moving slowly and using your Action, you risk the Stitch Thralls not being in position to collect.
    • You want the Necrosurgeon safely hidden at the back of the Thrall swarm, but you want the Stitch Thralls out front to collect corpses when the Combat Thralls kill the enemy. This can mean the Combat Thralls block the Necrosurgeon unit moving forwards.
  • You can get around a lot of these issues by having more than one Necrosurgeon and/or more than one Thrall unit.

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Keep one Grunt towards the back of the table, that way your opponent can never completely wipe out the unit and can always use Necrosurgery. This is called the "insurance model".
    • If you're using this trick, and the insurance model is so far back it's out of formation, you can't target the unit with friendly spells or special rules.
  • If the Necrosurgeon dies, the stitch thralls can still control/contest scenario objectives or block charge lanes.
  • By the current Steamroller rules, a unit needs 50% of its starting numbers to be alive to control flags / zones. Keep it in mind, sometimes all it takes is a single extra model returned, to put the unit above that limit.
  • Be smart about where you move before using Necrosurgery - with clever positioning your newly-created Thralls can engage enemies, bypass free strikes, or even get placed on the far side of walls!
  • In a pinch, one surgeon can collect from two units of Thralls by carefully spreading out your stitch thralls.
  • The Necrosurgeon can create more Stitch Thrall Grunts in her own unit, extending her own collection area.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

Other Cryx models[edit]

CryxLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Battlegroups
Warcasters Agathia - Aiakos2 - Goreshade1 - Goreshade2 - Goreshade3 - Asphyxious1 - Asphyxious2 - Asphyxious3 - Terminus - Venethrax - Scaverous - Mortenebra1 - Mortenebra2 - Skarre1 - Skarre2 - Skarre3 - Sturgis2 - Deneghra1 - Deneghra2 - Deneghra3 - Coven
C
R
Y
X
Warcaster attachments The Withershadow Combine - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Skarlock Thrall - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Iron Lich Overseer (Marshal) - Aiakos1 (BGC)
Light warjacks Deathripper - Defiler - Helldiver - Nightwretch - Ripjaw - Scavenger - Shrike - Stalker
Cankerworm
Heavy warjacks Corruptor - Desecrator - Harrower - Inflictor - Leviathan - Reaper - Seether - Slayer
Barathrum - Deathjack - Erebus - Kharybdis - Malice - Nightmare
Colossal Kraken - Sepulcher
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Living Undead
Units BO Boarding Party - BO Ironmongers - BO Smog Belchers - Bloodgorgers - Marauders - Cephalyx Drudges - Cephalyx Overlords - Satyxis Gunslingers - Satyxis Blood Witches - Satyxis Raiders - Scharde Dirge Seers - Scharde Pirates Bane Knights - Bane Riders - Bane Warriors - Bile Thralls - Carrion Thralls - Mechanithralls - Necrosurgeon - Revenant Cannon - Revenant Crew - Soulhunters
Characters: Blackbane's Ghost Raiders - The Withershadow Combine
Solos Misery Cage - Satyxis Blood Priestess - Satyxis Raider Captain - Warwitch Siren
Characters: Agrimony - Aiakos1 - Axiara - Darragh Wrathe - Gerlak - Severa Blacktide
Bloat Thrall - Iron Lich Overseer - Machine Wraith - Necrotech - Pistol Wraith - Scrap Thrall - Skarlock Thrall - Soul Trapper
Characters: Bane Lord Tartarus - Mobius - Captain Rengrave - Hellslinger
Battle Engines No living engines Wraith Engine
 
Theme Forces
Black Industries - Dark Host - The Ghost Fleet - Infernal Machines - Scourge of the Broken Coast - Slaughter Fleet Raiders
Merc cryx.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Captain Bartolo - Captain Damiano - Cognifex - Drake MacBain - Exulon - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2

Requires a 2+ caster game.

C
R
Y
X
I
A
N
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Raluk Moorclaw (Marshal) - Rorsh & Brine (Lesser Warlock) - Wrongeye & Snapjaw (Lesser Warlock)
Warjacks, Warbeasts, & Monstrosities The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Cryx army depends entirely on what type of model is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
 
Mercenary Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates & CA & WA - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Heavy Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen


Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Devil's Shadow Mutineers - Boomhowlers

Solos Ogrun Bokur - Swamp Gobber Raiders


Bloody Bradigan - Bosun Grogspar - Doc Killingsworth - [[Eilish Garrity - Hawk - Gorman - Gudran - Rockbottom - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk Moorclaw - Rorsh & Brine - Madelyn Corbeau (Attached)- Saxon - Seargeant Nicolas - Stannis - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw

Battle Engines None


Rules Clarifications[edit]

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Officer      (Edit)

  • Even if they're not on the Officer's card, an Officer can give (and benefit from) any non-standard orders that are on the unit's card (such as Shield Wall). Refer main rulebook.
  • When the Officer dies, the Leader model becomes the new Unit Commander (you don't get to choose).
  • But if your unit doesn't include a Leader model, then you do get to choose any of the remaining models to be the new Unit Commander. You don't swap the model, but it may be worth putting a token down so you can tell that grunt apart.
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Body Snatcher      (Edit)

  • You can collect corpses from Brute Thralls.
  • You do not need LOS to the destroyed models.
  • If there are multiple models eligible for collecting a corpse token and you need to determine the closest, then you measure to the Necrosurgeon, not to the Stitch Thralls.
    • The Stitches don't count as "models eligible for collection" - they merely extend the range the Necrosurgeon can collect from.
  • A Stitch that dies in the same attack as a Thrall (caught in the same AOE for instance) may collect the corpse token, because the Stitch Thrall model is still on the table when both of them reach the "destroyed" stage.

Rules Clarification : Necrosurgery - None yet. (Edit)

RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification : Ressurectionist      (Edit)

  • You can add one Grunt to three different units, or any other combo you can think of, if you want. (Infernal Ruling)
  • The new Grunts must be placed in formation with an existing unit, you may not create a new unit.
  • Only one existing Thrall from the unit needs to be in the Necrosurgeon's CMD range, not the entire unit. (Infernal Ruling)
  • You don't need LOS to any models that you create.
  • The following is no longer true since the 2017.06 errata, but the wording is being checked by PP staff Staff comment
    • A Thrall unit with a Skarlock Commander attached is (still a Thrall unit) (not true RAW), and a valid target for Ressurectionist. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Even if every Thrall is killed, and the unit is reduced to just the Skarlock Commander, it is (still a Thrall unit) (not true RAW) and still a valid target. (Infernal Ruling)
RC symbol.png

Rules Clarification:  : Sacrificial Pawn and/or Sucker! and/or Grim Salvation     (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)

 
  • Sacrificial Pawn & Grim Salvation are optional, but Sucker! is not
  • Grim Salvation only works vs basic attacks, not special attacks, power attacks, chain attacks.
    • Spells are not basic attacks, because they are not "made with a weapon". (Infernal Ruling)
    • CRA and CMA are basic attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
    • If a Special Attack generates an additional attack (such as Multi-Fire), the second attack will be basic and as such can have Grim Salvation used vs it. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Sacrificial Pawn & Sucker! don't work against melee attacks.
  • None of them work vs magic attacks (spells). All of them work against Magical Ranged attacks, though.
  • The model the attack is transferred to is always hit, even if they have an ability that makes them automatically get missed (such as Stealth).
    Automatically missing is determined earlier in the timing sequence than when the attack is moved. (Infernal Ruling)

From here down, the terms Sacrificial Pawn, Grim Salvation, and Sucker! are interchangeable

  • Using Sac Pawn moves all damage and effects onto the other model.
  • The new model hit may use any abilities that trigger on being hit/damaged by an enemy attack (such as Vengeance and Shock Field).
  • Sprays and AOEs
    • A model hit by a spray attack can use Sacrificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The placement of the template does not change.
      • Note that this may cause the Pawn to be hit twice by the same spray. So you then resolve two damage rolls against it.
    • A model directly hit by a AOE may use Sacificial Pawn to pass it to another model. The AOE template is moved (because Sac Pawn is resolved at Step 6 of the Attack Sequence in Apdx A, but AOE placement occurs at Step 7).
      • Depending on how far apart the original target and Pawn are, the first guy might get clipped by the AOE anyway.
      • A model indirectly hit by an AOE cannot use Sac Pawn.
  • Sacrificial Pawn multiple times
    • If a model with the Sacrificial Pawn ability passes it to another model that also has Sacrificial Pawn ability, that second model may pass it along to a third model.
    • Models can only use Sac Pawn once each, you cannot set up an infinite loop!
  • Quick Draw vs Sacrificial Pawn
    • If enemy "Model A" shoots you, and then you use Quick Draw against "Model A", but they use Sac Pawn to move your Quick Draw attack to "Model B" then ... Quick Draw has no effect (or rather, it affects "Model B" who isn't currently shooting you so is irrelevant). Point is, "Model A" can continue shooting you.
    • This won't happen with Shield Guard though (outside of a very low-probability scenario) because Shield Guard can only be triggered during an enemy turn.