Moros

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Retribution Shyeel Character Light Warjack

Commissioned for Garryth, Blade of Retribution, Moros is a quick and agile myrmidon that strikes using its dual curved blades with the deadliness of an assassin. Its unique power field renders Moros invisible to the naked eye and can be manipulated to lash out and stun potential victims. For many of the Retribution’s enemies, the low hum of Moros’ energy field is the last sound ever heard.

Basic Info[edit]

Moros
Retribution Moros.jpg
SPD 6
STR 8
MAT 7
RAT 6
DEF 14
ARM 16
Force Field 6
HP 20
Cost 11
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Death's Shadow - 8" range, POW 12 gun
    • Damage Type: Magical - This weapon can damage incorporeal models.
    • Paralysis - A living model hit by this weapon has its base DEF reduced to 5 and can't run, charge, slam, or trample for one round.
  • Blade (x2) - 0.5" reach, P+S 13 melee weapons
    • Paralysis - As above

Abilities[edit]

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Stealth - Ranged and magic attacks targeting this model from a point of origin greater than 5˝ away automatically miss. This model is not an intervening model when determining line of sight from a model more than 5˝ away.
  • Force Fields - this warjack has an extra damage track that takes damage first.
  • Field Dependent - If this model's Generator is crippled, it loses Fleet, Stealth, and cannot attack with Death Shadow.
  • Fleet - Once per activation, this model can spend 1 focus point to gain +2" movement when advancing as part of its Normal Movement that activation.
  • Bond: (Garryth) - If this model begins the game in Garryth's battlegroup, it is bonded to them. This model is not considered to be bonded while under your opponent's control. While this model is bonded to Garryth and in their CTRL range, it gains Acrobatics (Acrobatics - This model can advance through other models if it has enough movement to move completely past their bases. This model ignores intervening models when declaring its charge target.)

Thoughts on Moros[edit]

Moros in a nutshell[edit]

Moros adds another ranged defense fixer to the Retribution myrmidon lineup that works on living models that can't be knocked down. With Garryth Moros becomes an assassin that is difficult to deny a charge to.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Ravyn is actually decent with Moros giving him snipe on his paralasis weapon which has a base value of 8" turning it into 12" weapon. This makes his gun a decent range and a target for the rest of the army that will most likely be gun based.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

Any model that can choose the column in which it damages can cripple its field generator. ( assuming it's force field is out)

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Paralysis is a great tool in both melee and out with Moros. Charge or walk him into something that has high def. or things that he can't take out alone with paralysis on his blades now you can drop anythings def. enough to effectively shoot at it with anything while he is going toe to toe with it.
  • Make some space. With Moros's bond leave some space between your troops so he can jump over them and start hacking away at those too unawares of his stealthy prowess.


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Originally released in the Warmachine: Reckoning expansion (2015)

Theme Forces[edit]

When taken in Garryth's battlegroup, this model can be taken in:

When taken in someone else’s battlegroup, this model can’t be taken in theme forces.

Other Retribution models[edit]

RetLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Battlegroups
Warcasters Rahn1 - Vyros1 - Vyros2 - Elara2 - Garryth1 - Goreshade4 - Issyria1 - Kaelyssa1 - Ossyan1 - Ravyn1 - Thyron1 - Helynna1
R
E
T
R
I
B
U
T
I
O
N
Warcaster attachments Fane Knight Guardian (Retribution) - Sylys Wyshnalyrr (Retribution) - Madelyn Corbeau (Mercenary)
Other Controllers Elara1 (BGC) - Sentinel Scyir - Artificer
Light warjacks Aspis - Chimera - Gorgon - Griffon - Harpy - Siren
Moros
Heavy warjacks Banshee - Daemon - Hydra - Manticore - Phoenix - Sphinx
Discordia - Hypnos - Hemera - Imperatus
Colossal Hyperion - Helios
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Destors - Invictors - Sentinels - Heavy Rifle Team - Swordsmen - Arcanists - Battle Mages - Electromancers - Halberdiers - Riflemen - Infiltrators - Strike Force - Ryssovass Defenders - Stormfall Archers
Nyss Hunters - Spears of Scyrah
Special: Eiryss3 (CA) - Soulless Escort (WA)
Solos Arcanist Mechanik - Destor Thane - Sentinel Scyir - Ghost Sniper - Artificer - Magister - Houseguard Thane - Lys Healer - Assassin - Priest of Nyssor - Soulless Voidtracer

Aelyth Vyr - Eirrys1 - Eiryss2 - Elara1 - Issyen - Narn - Nayl

Battle Engines Arcantrik Force Generator
 
Theme Forces
Forges of War - Defenders of Ios - Shadows of the Retribution
RetMercLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Retribution Mercenary Models/Units
Units Lady Aiyana & Master Holt
Solos Dahlia Hallyr & Skarath - Lanyssa Ryssyl, Nyss Sorceress - Madelyn Corbeau, Ordic Courtesan


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • Please refer to the Warjack page for a recap of the warjack rules, and the very few associated Infernal Rulings.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Stealth      (Edit)

  • "Automatically missing" is not the same as "cannot be hit by".
  • For instance, a stealth model can still be the target of an AOE attack and although it auto-misses, if the AOE deviates onto them they will get damaged.

Rules Clarification : Bond      (Edit)

  • Bonds are ineffective while the model is under your opponent's control. Refer the core rulebook.
  • Bonds & Themes
    • If a warjack/warbeast with a bond is in that caster's battlegroup, they can be taken in any theme force. Refer the core rulebook.
    • Exception: Battlegroup Controllers and Lesser Warlocks cannot take their bonded warjacks/warbeasts in theme forces (eg Kharybdis with Aiakos1) because BC & LW are specifically not warcasters/warlocks. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Acrobatics      (Edit)

  • Charging through models (Edit)
    • You can't charge all the way through your charge target, with the intention to turn around and face them once you're on the other side.
      • Because you aren't able to satisfy the "must keep the charge target in melee range" clause at the point after you are through the model but before you turn to directly face. At that point the target is behind you, not in your front arc, and thus not in your melee range.
      • Your melee range only extends to your front arc. Refer to the latest errata. This is a reversal of an earlier ruling.
    • You can still "skim" through the edge of their base, if you're careful and smart with your positioning.

Rules Clarification : Force Fields      (Edit)

  • You cannot spend focus to heal Force Fields mid-move, such as taking damage from a free strike. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Field Dependent - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Fleet - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Paralysis - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")