Modulator

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Convergence Heavy Warjack

The arcane displacer drive represented a major breakthrough in vector design. Freed from the hampering influence of gravity, heavy vectors equipped with this technology—such as the Conservator, Assimilator, and Modulator—gain unparalleled freedom of movement. Coruscating with electrostatic energy along its hull, the Modulator can channel this charge into a bolt of pure energy that electrocutes everything in its path.

Basic Info[edit]

Modulator
Modulator WEB.jpg
SPD 5
MAT {Special}
RAT {Special}
DEF 11
ARM 18
HP 28
Cost 10
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Emitter Surge (x2) - 11" range, POW 10 guns
    • Damage Type: Electricity - This weapon does electricity damage.
    • Direct Current - If this attack directly hits, you can choose to have all models on the line between the centers of this model's base and the target's base suffer an unboostable POW 10 electrical damage roll instead. That damage is not considered to be from an attack, and is resolved simultaneously with the damage roll vs the original target.
  • Emitter Core (x2) - 1" reach, P+S 14 melee weapons

Abilities[edit]

  • Vector - A vector is a specialised type of warjack. It is big and stompy, as normal, but swaps out the Cortex for an Induction Node. Also its MAT & RAT is always equal to its controller's.
  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Pathfinder - This model treats rough terrain as open terrain while advancing. While charging, slam power attacking, or trample power attacking, this model does not stop its movement when it contacts an obstacle.
  • Immunity: Electricity - This model is not damaged by electric weapons, and is ignored when determining lightning arcs.
  • Plasma Nimbus - If this model survives a melee attack, the attacker suffers a POW 10 electrical damage roll.


Thoughts on Modulator[edit]

Modulator in a nutshell[edit]

The modulator is an anti-infantry jack, electrocuting lines of infantry but not hitting as hard as any of the other heavies in melee.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Its guns, plasma nimbus and direct current all benefit from Ionization Servitors launched by a Prime Conflux.
  • Aperture Beams from Iron Mother Directrix's Exponent Servitors also boost the relatively weak attacks of the Modulator. The combined effect of Ionization and Exponent Servitors substantially strengthen the Modulator.
  • Fire Group from Iron Mother means he can get the direct current farther, getting more infantry under the line.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • It's too pillow fisted to really qualify as a heavy jack.
  • Gets shut down by lightning immunity
  • Plasma nimbus won't do anything to protect you from heavies

Tricks & Tips[edit]

Use "Direct Current" from your Emitter Surge to take out high DEF or Stealth models. You do need to score a direct hit on your actual target -- if there is not a good enemy model to target and hit, don't forget you can line things up to target one of your own models and damage enemy models between them.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Originally released in Forces of Warmachine: Convergence of Cyriss (2013)

Theme Forces[edit]

Themes for any-and-all Vectors (Edit)


Other Convergence models[edit]

Convergence Logo.jpg

(Edit)

Battlegroups
Warcasters Aurora, Numen of Aerogenesis - Axis, The Harmonic Enforcer - Father Lucant, Divinity Architect - Forge Master Syntherion - Iron Mother Directrix & Exponent Servitors - Eminent Configurator Orion
C
O
N
V
E
R
G
E
N
C
E
Light Corollary - Diffuser - Galvanizer - Mitigator
Heavy Assimilator - Cipher - Conservator - Inverter - Modulator - Monitor
Colossals Prime Axiom - Prime Conflux
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Clockwork Angels - Eradicators - Obstructors - Optifex Directive - Perforators - Reciprocators - Reductors


Special CA [Any Unit] : Transverse Enumerator

Solos Accretion Servitors - Algorithmic Dispersion Optifex - Attunement Servitors - Elimination Servitors - Enigma Foundry - Reflex Servitors - Steelsoul Protector
Battle Engines Transfinite Emergence Projector & Permutation Servitors
 
Theme Forces Mercenaries
Destruction Initiative - Clockwork Legions Eilish Garrity, the Occultist

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Electricity - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Direct Current      (Edit)

  • The original target will not take two damage rolls. During Mark 2 the Dev's decided to use the dictionary definition for 'intersect': to pierce or divide by passing through or across.
  • It's an all-or-nothing choice. You either trigger it and damage everyone, or don't trigger it.
  • Not considered an attack (Edit)
    • The original attack and damage is definitely an attack, and triggers stuff normally. But the "secondary" damage works quite differently.
    • The secondary damage is not an attack, so doesn't trigger stuff like Vengeance.
    • The secondary damage (normally) doesn't actually hit the model(s) it damages, so doesn't trigger stuff like Shock Field. (A few of them do specify they hit, though, like Warhead.)
    • The secondary damage is not from an attack, but it is damage from the original model. This has two implications:
    1. It's not an attack from a weapon so:
      • it won't gain damage buffs from the weapon (such as Poison).
      • it won't gain any Damage Types from the weapon. (Infernal Ruling)
    2. It is a damage roll from a model so:


Rules Clarification:  : Vector      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

Cortex
  • They don't have one.
  • They're immune to all effects that specify "cortex" - for instance, the spell Domination.
  • They're not immune to disruption. You cannot allocate or induct to a disrupted Vector.

Interface Node and Induction

  • A Vector can induct any number of times, to any number of Vectors, as long as it has focus to spend.
  • You can induct to the same Vector repeatedly, if you want.
  • You cannot go over the normal focus limit as a result of Induction. Refer to the Interface Node rules in the core rulebook.
  • You can induct to a Vector that has already activated. Although the only tactically-wise target is the Corollary.
  • Anything which prevents a model 'gaining' focus will prevent a Vector receiving focus via Induction.
  • When a Vector spends a focus to charge/run/slam/trample, it does so before movement. So you need to resolve Induction from its original position, not its final position.
  • A Vector doesn't need to be in its caster's CTRL range to give/receive focus via Induction.
  • Warcasters can't Induct or be Inducted to.
  • Unlike with normal warjacks, when a Vector has its Interface Node crippled it doesn't lose the focus currently on it.
    • It can't spend the focus or gain any more while the Node's crippled, but if you repair the Node then you can start spending again. And a Corollary with a crippled Node can still use Power Transfer to give focus away.
  • You can't spend focus to buy attacks (and Induct the focus) if no one is in your melee range. (Infernal Ruling)

MAT & RAT

  • Vectors use your warcaster's current RAT/MAT.
  • So, for things which affect RAT/MAT directly (such as Deneghra1's feat):
    • If your warcaster is affected, then all of your Vectors are affected.
    • If your Vector is affected, then it simply doesn't care.
  • And for things which affect your attack roll (such as Positive Charge)
    • There is no interaction between the caster and Vectors for 'attack roll' bonuses.
    • If your warcaster is affected, then your Vectors don't care
    • If a Vector is affected, then that Vector is affected (but not other Vectors)
  • And for things which affect other stats (such as -2 SPD, STR, etc)
    • Vectors work the same as normal models for all other stats. There is no special interaction between caster and Vectors in that regard.

Some MAT/RAT examples

  1. A caster has a MAT 6 and RAT 4.
    All Vectors in its battlegroup are MAT 6 and RAT 4
  2. In that same battlegroup, a Vector is affected by the Coven's feat (affected models suffer -2 RAT & MAT).
    That Vector remains MAT 6 and RAT 4.
  3. In that same battlegroup, the caster is affected by the Coven's feat.
    All Vectors become MAT 4 and RAT 2.

Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
    • Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
    • A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
  • Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Pathfinder      (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Plasma Nimbus      (Edit)

  • If you're hit by a CMA, only the primary attacker takes damage from Plasma Nimbus.
  • For a warbeast with Plasma Nimbus and a crippled body, you roll less one dice for the Plasma Nimbus damage.

Back Story[edit]

At first glance, the technology behind the Modulator bears a striking resemblance to the inherent of Cygnar's storm-based mechanika. Rather than being generated by a system of rune plates and storm chambers, however, the electro-arcane energies of the Modulator are rooted in the voltaic nimbus generator. This ingenious device, invented by Fluxion Baley, is capable of converting stored geomantic energy into a powerful electrostatic field through the use of a series of gears, pulleys, and charging rune plates.

The extreme electrostatic charge created by Bailey's generator coruscates along the Modulator's hull, protecting it from all manner of electricity-based attacks and generating a powerful shock against any foe that strikes the vector without proper insulation. Further, a pair of galvanic arc emitters allows the Modulator to channel this charge into a bolt of pure energy that not only hits a designated target but also electrolutes everything in-between. After preliminary testing, the emitters were modified to allow a warcaster more precise command over this electrical arc; in practice, the adjustment enables the controller to single out an enemy target and avoid collateral damage to clocwork vessels and priests.