| If you have made an edit within the last month or so, please check the new server and see if it was copied by the autobot. |
You may need to copy-paste your work to the new server manually. Sorry.
Cygnar Light Warjack
The Minuteman is a product of numerous advances in mechanikal warfare. Utilizing an exactingly designed series of compression chambers, the warjack can launch itself short distances by venting its heartfire through a special propulsion system. It is well suited to annihilating entire swathes of infantry with its short-range grenade launchers upon landing, clearing its line of sight to an intended target. The Minuteman can then unload its dual slug guns into harder targets.
Weapons and Attacks
- Slug gun (x2) - 4" range, POW 14 guns.
- Open fist (x2) - 0.5" reach, P+S 10 melee weapons.
- Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
- Advance Deployment - Models with advance deployment are placed after normal deployment and may be placed up to 6" further forward.
- Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
- Extended Control Range - When checkin to see if this model is inits controller's control range, double the range.
- Gunfighter - This model can use its ranged weapons even while in melee, but when it does so it can only target models it's in melee with. It can even make ranged attacks after charging.
- Bounding Leap - Once per activation, after making a full advance as its Normal Movement but before performing its Combat Action, this model can spend 1 focus point to be placed completely within 5" of its current location.
- Flak Field - Once per turn, at any time in its activation, this model can blast all nearby models. Anyone B2B takes average POW blast damage and models further away take low POW blast damage.
Thoughts on Minuteman
Minuteman in a nutshell
A mobile, combined arms warjack, the Minuteman is an odd design. It has a light warjack's frame, but wants to be up close to the enemy. If you want to apply high POW shots into the enemy and don't really care about your warjack, the Minuteman is for you. Thanks to Flak Field it can clear out infantry quite easily, especially high DEF, low ARM models who tend to be worried by POW6. This can give it some additional utility if you want to play with lots of Warjacks and very little infantry of your own. Just remember that although its DEF is good, once it does get hit it tends to lose effectiveness very quickly.
Combos & Synergies
- For the ultimate in Warjack mobility, take them with Captain Jeremiah Kraye. Between advancing, bounding leap and reposition, you can have a Minuteman 16" up the table with very little effort. The reposition can also take you into safety, once you delivered your shots.
- Siege1 - Under his feat even high armor infantry squads evaporate from Flak Field, while the slug guns can now seriously damage any heavy in the game. They're also excellent targets for Explosivo, while a Foxhole can put up its DEF to insane levels.
- Warcasters with Blur or Bullet Dodger give them a chance to escape being shot to pieces.
- Nemo1 - additional inches from Locomotion, as well as the STR bonus from Lightning Shroud aren't negligible. The expandable CTRL area helps, if the Minuteman ended up outside your CTRL area with bounding leap.
Drawbacks & Downsides
- If a model is immune to Blast damage, it is unaffected by Flak Field.
- With its thin armour and short range it is usually used for suicide missions. If you manage to get one good round of damage output from it, consider anything else a bonus.
- With its high mobility, it's all too easy to get outside of its Warcaster's control area.
Tricks & Tips
- Make good use of the Bounding Leap. It's great for getting into the back arc of models, getting the back arc bonus.
- Using a two-handed throw sometimes can be worthwhile - though it demands quite a lot of FOCUS to pull off reliably. But if it knocks down a warcaster, why not? Jump behind, grab it, and throw it toward your lines. Pop flak field before, just for some extra cruelty.
Themes for non-character warjacks (Edit)
Other faction models
Rules Clarification : Minuteman
- There is a typo on earlier versions of the Minuteman's card, on the Bounding Leap ability. It contains the sentence "Any effects that prevent charging also prevent this model form using jump" when it shouldn't. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Open Fist (aka, Power Attack Throw) (Edit)
- See the Throw article for a recap of the core Throw rules.
- When you make a Throw Power Attack, no other abilities of the Fist weapon (such as Chain Strike) are applied unless they specifically mention Throws.
- If you do a Power Attack Throw and you choose to throw the target directly away, no deviation is rolled to determine the final position of the model. (Locked thread)
- A model that cannot be targeted by melee attacks (such as Una2's feat) cannot have models thrown at them, either. (Infernal Ruling)
- Unresolved: Since throwing Model [A] at Model [B] involves making a melee attack vs Model [B] which is out of your melee range, it technically breaks a whole bunch of core rules. The Infernals are currently checking it.
Rules Clarification : Warjack (Edit)
- The Cortex/Induction core rule means a warjack cannot have more than 3 focus at any time (maybe 4 if they're really special).
- Many abilities give out focus and don't state an upper limit (such as Convection and Empower). Despite not stating an upper limit, they are always "hard-limited" by the core rule.
- A warjack can have more than 3 focus during a turn, though. For instance, a knocked down warjack can Power Up and be Allocated 2 focus, then spend 1 to shake knockdown, then another model could Empower it back up to 3.
- Warjacks cannot spend focus outside of their activation. For instance, they can't boost free strikes or trigger Powerful Attack on Broadsides. (Infernal Ruling)
Rules Clarification : Advance Deployment - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification: : Gunfighter (Edit)
(Click Expand to read)
- You cannot Aim if you start your activation in melee. (Infernal Confirmation)
- A free strike with a ranged weapon still gets the +2 to hit and boosted damage (I'm pretty sure - I'd like to double check it though).
- 1. Outside of melee
- If the Gunfighter isn't in melee, and didn't charge this turn, then it shoots just the same as a normal model.
- 2. In melee, but didn't charge
- If it didn't charge, it can target anyone it's "in melee" with.
- This can be any model in the Gunfighter's melee range, plus any models that have the Gunfighter in their melee range.
- If a Gunfighter kills all the enemies it is in melee with, and still has the ability to make more ranged attacks, then those attacks just follow the normal Ranged Attack rules. (Infernal Ruling)
- 3. Charged into melee
- If it did charge, its initial attacks can only target models that are in the Gunfighter's melee range.
- If all models in the Gunfighter's melee range are killed before it makes its initial attacks, it loses any unspent initial attacks. (Infernal Ruling)
- However if it can purchase additional attacks (via Reload for instance) and/or get free attacks (via Black Spot for instance), then those non-initial attacks can target anyone it's "in melee" with, as per #2 above.
- 4. Other targeting notes
- Remember, you can never be "in melee" with a friendly model, so a Gunfighter can pretty much never choose to target a friend while it's in melee (although it may hit one accidentally, see "Missing" below).
- If the gunfighter is unengaged, it can still shoot a friendly model, which would just be a normal ranged attack.
- You use the Gunfighter's RAT for the attack roll.
- Gunfighters do not ignore the Cover/Concealment bonus. (Infernal Ruling)
- How the +4 DEF bonus for "being in melee" works with Gunfighters is:
- they always ignore it vs enemies, because the "point of origin of the attack is in melee with the target".
- they never ignore it vs friendlies, because you cannot be in melee with a friendly target.
- Obviously, if the Gunfighter isn't actually in melee with the enemy target, then the Gunfighter rules don't apply. So they do get the +4 DEF bonus as if it were a normal ranged attack (because it is).
Missing the Attack Roll
- If you miss the attack roll then you need to randomly reassign the shot just like you would with a normal ranged attack shooting someone in melee. Because nothing in the Gunfighter rules say you ignore this part of the "Targeting a Model in Melee" (TMM) rules.
- Do not include the Gunfighter model itself in potential 'randomees' (because you can't target yourself, as per the 4th paragraph of TMM) (Locked thread)
- but do include models the Gunfighter is in melee with, and any friendly models that are in melee with them (as per the TMM rules).
- Note that enemy models without magic weapons can't hurt you in melee, but they can engage you.
- Once they do that you're in melee and your target selection is limited to just models in melee (as explained above).
Gunfighter + an AOE weapon
- If you miss then the AOE will deviate as per the normal AOE rules. Not very far, though, considering the max distance you'll be apart is 2".
- If you use an AOE weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the blast template.
Gunfighter + a spray weapon
- Who you can target with the spray is limited as described above, but you get to put the whole spray template down and potentially hit models well outside the melee.
- If you use a spray weapon to make a free strike, you get the +2 to hit and you get boosted damage against everything under the spray template.
Units of Gunfighters
- If a unit of Gunfighters successfully charge, but someone else in their unit kills their charge target before they get a turn to attack, then they may redirect their attack.
- Redirected attack:
- If they're still engaged, their initial attack (s) must be vs someone in their melee range.
- If they're still engaged, but no one is in their own melee range, they don't get any initial attacks.
- If they're unengaged, they are now free to shoot anyone within the gun's normal range.
- Gunfighter vs Point Blank (Edit)
- If a model has both Gunfighter and Point Blank, then you should declare whether you're using it as a ranged attack or melee attack whenever you shoot the gun. Because that can limit what other initial/additional attacks you can make. (Infernal Ruling)
- These two abilities are subtly different, but it's an important difference.
- Gunfighter allows you to make ranged attacks while in melee.
- Point blank allows you to make melee attacks with your ranged weapon.
- Since you can't make both ranged and melee attacks in the same turn, a Gunfighter model has a choice of either initial melee attack(s) or initial ranged attack(s). (unless it has Virtuoso or something).
- Whereas a Point Blank model chooses to make initial melee attacks, and then gets to make attacks with both weapons.
- Furthermore, the types of bonuses, penalties, and special effects you (or your opponent) can trigger will change dramatically:
- Any buffs/triggers on ranged attacks (such as Evasive, Shield Guard, Deadeye, etc) will affect Gunfighter attacks, but not Point Blank attacks.
- Any buffs/triggers on melee attacks (such as Battle Lust, Riposte etc) will affect Point Blank attacks, but not Gunfighter attacks.
- Gunfighter & Cavalry ( Edit )
- A cavalry model that charges then makes a Gunfighter attack will not gain a boosted charge attack roll, because a ranged attack is not a charge attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- You also won't gain a boosted charge damage roll, as per normal for a Gunfighter.
Rules Clarification : Bounding Leap and/or Jump (Edit)
- Jump and Bounding Leap are almost exactly the same, but with one important difference:
- If you're suffering an effect which prevents charging, then you cannot use Jump (but you can use Bounding Leap).
- This includes choosing to forfeit your Combat Action to stand up. (Infernal Ruling)
- This Infernal Ruling has been questioned as being inconsistent, given that forfeiting your Combat Action doesn't prevent charging (it prevents you using your Normal Movement to charge which is not quite the same thing. See the thread for the full argument).
- You cannot use Jump or Bounding Leap if you forfeit your movement. "After making a full advance" is a conditional requirement. (Infernal Ruling)
- You can only use Jump or Bounding Leap after a full advance, which means you can't do it after a Slam, Trample, or Charge.
- You can use "At any time" abilities between completing your move and doing the Jump/Leap. (Infernal Ruling)
- Jumps & Leaps are a "placement". They do not trigger free strikes, and you can even jump over solid buildings of infinite height.
- If you cannot advance more than 0" (for example suffering from Shadow Bind) then you can Jump/Leap. Making an advance of 0" is sufficient to trigger Jump/Leap.
Rules Clarification : Flak Field (Edit)
- The "other models" does not include the model with Flak Field. (Infernal Ruling)
| Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
- "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
- The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
- Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
- Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
- In between declaring your charge target and making your charge movement. (Infernal Ruling)
- In between completing your charge movement and determining whether it was a successful charge. (Infernal Ruling)
- You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
- You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
- Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
- In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
- If you have a gun with a random ROF, you can use an "Any Time" ability inbetween rolling the number of shots and actually making the first attack. (Infernal Ruling)
- Units with "Any Time" abilities
- Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
- Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
- So, for example:
- You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
- You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)