Mariner

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Mercenary Privateer Heavy Warjack

The Mariner was designed to endure uncertain footing fighting ship-to-ship, a skill just as formidable on dry land. Giving up some armour to move quickly and proving nearly impossible to knock down, the Mariner carries a liberated ship cannon in one hand and a brutal barnacle-encrusted anchor in the other.

Basic Info[edit]

Mariner
Mariner.jpeg
SPD 5
MAT 6
RAT 5
DEF 12
ARM 17
HP 30
Cost 14
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons[edit]

  • Ship Gun - 15" range, AOE 3, POW 14 ranged weapon
    • Loader - This weapon cannot be used unless a friendly faction warrior is within 1".
  • Anchor - 1" reach, P+S 17 melee weapon
    • Thresher (★ Attack) - Make a simultaneous melee attack against each model within its LOS and within melee range of this weapon.

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Warjack - All warjacks share the same set of special rules. Most notably being big and stompy.
  • Construct - This model is a construct and is not a living model.
  • Amphibious - This model treats shallow water as open terrain while advancing. While completely in shallow water, this model gains concealment and does not block line of sight.
  • Lash - This model, and friendly warrior models B2B with it cannot be knocked down.

Updates[edit]

2017 08 Errata

Loader gained an inch of range. This makes it much easier to maneuver.

Thoughts on Mariner[edit]

Mariner in a nutshell[edit]

The Mariner is a cheap dual-use heavy with excellent range and acceptable melee output against both infantry and jacks/beasts. Boosted POW 14's from 20" away does quite a lot over the course of the game, and it will do okay once it's time to send it in to smash something. The only real downside is the Loader rule, but that requires only a little bit of planning; before the rule was slackened it was really annoying and forced something approaching crab-walking, but a 1" distance has made the Mariner a lot easier to lose.

Older guides (including probably some places still on Battle College) are likely to give the Mariner a worse rating than it deserves; the Mk2 Mariner was a bit of a joke and even the first year of Mk3 had a Mariner that was really annoying to actually use.

Combos & Synergies[edit]

  • Captain Bartolo Montador can give it an extra shot and boosted damage rolls with the cannon
  • It becomes quite the assassination piece with Captain Phinneus Shae threatening 27" on his feat turn with Dougal and Coup de Main.
  • Fiona the Black gives it a lot of benefit from her feat.
  • Master Gunner Dougal MacNaile can give it a better chance to hit (with a re-roll on deviation), and a bit more range. He also can't be hit by any blasts that target the Mariner, and won't be knocked down when his Hit the Deck rule triggers. He's designed to be the loader in case that wasn't immediately apparent.
  • Magnus the Traitor and General Ossrum can cast Snipe to give it a formidable 19" range.
  • You could do worse than to run one on Gastone Crosse.
  • In The Talion Charter theme force it counts towards your free points.

Drawbacks and Downsides[edit]

  • Other than the nuisance of the Loader rule, the only real drawback is that it isn't great at anything. But what do you want for 14 points? It's got a decent gun, a decently hard hitting melee weapon, a 1" thresher to take out infantry. It's certainly a jack of all trades.
  • The anchor does not have Chain Weapon despite being a chain weapon...

Tricks and Tips[edit]

  • The Mariner has one major bonus in that B2B models cannot be knocked down, this has a natural synergy with the Loader rule.
  • If the Mariner is slammed over a friendly warrior model, Lash will prevent that model from being knocked down when impacted, assuming it survives.
  • If your opponent takes control of the Mariner it will not be able to shoot unless your opponent provides one of his own warrior models as a loader.
  • Like almost all ranged jacks it hits harder in melee than at range. You just get a couple of shots in while the armies close (frequently vapourising solos).


Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

  • If you want freebooters on the cheap, the The Undercity boardgame contains two plastic ones. These are officially not tournament legal but when painted are indistinguishable except by weight and bendiness.
  • Released in Forces of Warmachine: Pirates of the Broken Coast (2007)

Who can take this warjack[edit]

To include this mercenary warjack in your army, it must be controlled by one of the following warcasters or marshals. Thus, to include this jack you first need to find a controller that works for your army.

Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Ashlynn - Caine3 - Captain Bart - Captain Damiano - Gastone2 - Captain Shae - Macbain - Constance - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2
BGC Gastone Crosse
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Sam & the Devil Dogs

Theme Forces[edit]

Within mercenaries, this warjack can be used in:

Outside of mercenaries, this warjack can be taken in just about every theme force, because there is nearly always at least one merc jack marshal that'll work for any given theme.

Other Mercenary models[edit]

MercenariesLogo.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Ashlynn - Caine3 - Captain Bart - Captain Damiano - Gastone2 - Captain Shae - Macbain - Constance - Fiona - Magnus1 - Magnus2
BGC Gastone Crosse
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Sam & the Devil Dogs
Mercenary Warjacks (Edit)
Light Buccaneer - Renegade (Magnus only) - Talon - Vanguard
Heavy Freebooter - Mangler - Mariner - Mule - Nomad - Rover
Gallant - Rocinante
Colossal Galleon
Rhulic 'Jack Controllers (Edit)
Warcasters Durgen Madhammer - General Ossrum - Gorten Grundback
Marshals Thor Steinhammer
Rhulic Warjacks (Edit)
Light Blaster- Gunner
Heavy Avalancher - Basher - Driller - Rockram
Colossal Earthbreaker
Cephalyx Warcasters (Edit)
Warcasters Cognifex Cyphon - Exulon Thexus
Cephalyx Monstrosities (Edit)
Heavy Subduer - Warden - Wrecker
  M  
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
 
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Lesser Warlocks Rorsh & Brine (Farrow) - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw (Gatorman)
Units Cephalyx Mind Bender - Cephalyx Mind Slaver - Cephalyx Overlords - High Shields - Artillery Corps - Forge Guard - Idrian Skirmishers - Kayazy Assassins - Kayazy Eliminators - Ogrun Assault Corps - Precursor Knights - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Pirates - Deck Gun - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Heavy Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Special CA: Cephalyx Dominator
Character Units Alexia1 - Sam & The Devil Dogs - Croe's Cutthroats - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea - Commodore Cannon - Devil's Shadow Mutineers
Solos Cephalyx Agitator - Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur - Swamp Gobber River Raider
Character Solos Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia Di Bray - Bloody Bradigan - Bosun Grogspar - Brun & Lug - Colbie - Dahlia & Skarath - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eilish Garrity - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone1 - Gorman - Gudrun - Harlan Versh - Hutchuk - Kell Bailoch - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Major Harrison Gibbs - Dougal - Orin - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Rutger - Savio - Saxon - Sergeant Nick - Stannis - Taryn - Thor - Viktor - Wrong Eye & Snapjaw
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler
 
Theme Forces (Edit)
Hammer Strike - The Irregulars - The Kingmaker's Army - Operating Theater - The Talion Charter - Llaelese Resistance

Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Loader      (Edit)

  • If you get an Assault shot (eg via Raluk), then you need a model within 1" when you finish moving and make the shot (not when you start moving and declare the charge). (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification:  : Thresher and/or Flashing Blade and/or Cyclone     (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

Resolving the attack

Under this heading, the word "Thresher" is used interchangeably for "Flashing Blade" and "Cyclone" too

  • Thresher makes an attack against every model, and as such it targets every model. Thus if a model "may not be targeted by melee attacks", you have to 'skip' it when you resolve the attack. (Infernal Ruling)
  • All attacks made by a Thresher attack are simultaneous.
    • If a model is out of LOS when you start the Thresh, then you may not attack it as part of the Thresh (even if the Thresh kills what is blocking your LOS)
    • This means you need to target everything, then resolve all effects that trigger on "target" before starting any attack rolls. Then complete all attack rolls and do everything that triggers on "hit" before starting any damage rolls, and etc.
    • In practice and to save time though, if neither player has effects that trigger on "being targetted, hit, damaged, etc" then they'll normally do the hit and damage rolls on a model-by-model basis.
    • If a model collects tokens (for instance the Cryx Harrower that collects souls), it cannot collect them until all Thresh attacks are resolved.

Thresher only

  • All attacks made by a Thresher are special melee attacks, and as such won't trigger stuff like Grim Salvation or Rhyas's feat. (Infernal Ruling)
  • No matter how many enemy you kill, Thresher only counts as a single attack for the purposes of triggering Berserk, Quick Work, Black Spot, etc
  • You can do a Thresher on a charge (it's a special melee attack).
    • If you charge & Thresher, only the damage roll against your charge target is automatically boosted - other models caught in the thresh suffer an unboosted damage roll (although you can spend focus/fury to boost it)
  • You can't buy additional Thresher attacks, because they're (★ Attack). You can buy additional normal melee attacks, though.
  • Thresher will hit friendly models.

Flashing Blade only

  • You can cast it after your charge movement but before your charge attack.
    • This will essentially interrupt your charge attack, so no damage roll is boosted while resolving the spell's attacks (unless you pay to boost it).
    • If your charge target survives the spell , then you'll get your boosted charge attack against it.
  • Flashing Blade doesn't hit friendly models

Cyclone only

  • You can cast it after your charge movement but before your charge attack.
    • This will essentially interrupt your charge attack, so no damage roll is boosted while resolving the spell's attacks (unless you pay to boost it).
    • If your charge target survives the spell , then you'll get your boosted charge attack against it.
    • If you used the advance to move out of range of your charge target, it was sitll as successful charge so it won't cause your activation to end. However, you are still limited to making melee attacks only.
  • Cyclone will hit friendly models.


Rules Clarification : Warjack      (Edit)

  • Please refer to the Warjack page for a recap of the warjack rules, and the very few associated Infernal Rulings.

Rules Clarification : Construct - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Amphibious - None yet. (Edit)
Rules Clarification : Lash - None yet. (Edit)