Major Victoria Haley

From Battle College
Jump to: navigation, search

Cygnar Warcaster

fluff blurb

Basic Info[edit]

Haley2
Haley2.jpg
SPD 6
MAT 6
RAT 5
DEF 16
ARM 14
HP 15
Focus 8
WJP +25
See also How to Read the statblock

Weapons and Attacks[edit]

Special Abilities[edit]

  • Warcaster - This model comes with a bunch of special rules, most notably being really awesome at everything.
  • Future Sight - This model can boost attack and damage rolls after rolling.
  • Field Marshal [Future Sight] - Warbeasts/warjacks in this model's battlegroup gain Future Sight.
  • Set Defense - Charge attacks, slam attacks, and impact attacks versus this model suffer a -2 to hit penalty.

Spells[edit]

  • Arcane Bolt - COST 2, RNG 12, POW 11 Offensive spell with zero special effects.
  • Domination - Cost 4, Range 8 offensive spell that allows the caster to take control of an enemy warjack with a non-crippled cortex. Warjacks are allowed to make a full advance, ignoring free strikes, and then make a melee attack. Can only be cast once per activation, and any given warjack can only be affected once per turn.
  • Force Field - COST 2, RNG Self, DUR Upkeep

Inoffensive spell with two effects:
1. The caster does not suffer blast or collateral damage and cannot become knocked down.
2. When an enemy AOE ranged attack deviates from a point within the caster's control range, after the deviation distance is rolled you choose the deviation direction.

Place target model completely within 2" of its current location. If this spell targets an enemy model, it is an offensive spell and requires an attack roll.
Target friendly Faction model gains +2" movement when advancing as part of its Normal Movement and can make one additional ranged or melee attack during it's activation. This spell can only be cast once per activation.
  • Time Bomb - Cost 4, 10" range, 4" AOE, POW 14
A model directly hit by Time Bomb suffers -2 SPD and DEF for one round.

Feat :Temporal Shift[edit]

d3+5 enemy models activating in Haley's control range must forfeit either their Normal Movement or Combat Action during their activations. Temporal Shift lasts for one round.

Thoughts on Major Victoria Haley[edit]

Major Victoria Haley in a nutshell[edit]

Haley is a strong toolbox control caster, but has just her feat nerfed hard from the entire enemy army to half a dozen models. She has many similarities with her evil twin, Deneghra:

  • she is a nimble but fragile caster
  • has a feat which utterly cripples enemies
  • has great spells and likes arc nodes.
  • Has been nerfed (although that was more Deneghra2).

Her feat stops some melee enemies for a turn (although infantry armies will just overload it), Force Field means AOE's are almost useless against her army, and Telekinesis, Temporal Acceleration, and Domination all enable her to win threat range duels. Time Bomb isn't a bad spell either.

Typical Army & Strategy[edit]

Her main win condition is to frustrate the enemy and control their threat ranges so you decide who fights who and win the war piece by piece.

Haley works well with just about anything; she loves having at least one arc node (and her personal arc node, Thorn is superb but the Lancer and the Hurricane both work well). She loves the Squire to keep her safer on feat turn. Her feat gives her a bias towards ranged attacks so the enemy can't hit back. But fundamentally whatever your strategy and the rest of your army is, unless it is specifically tailored to a specialist caster, Major Haley can add a useful toolbox to help you do what you intend to with it. As she has no damage buffs on her own, strongly consider the help of the usual mercenary solos and units; Aiyana, Gorman and Ragman.

Drawbacks & Downsides[edit]

  • She has little in the way of damage buffs (and Mercenaries won't help you in theme forces)
  • Most of your spells are expensive; it is quite easy to over-extend, and burn through all of her superior FOCUS pool
  • Fragile. Boosted damage rolls, electro leaps/trick shots, Continuous Fire, or slammed/thrown models are all legitimate dangers (that latter not so much, since she picked up Force Field).

Tricks & Tips[edit]

  • Remember that Domination can be used to take a warjack right out of the fight for a turn or two - and it's incredibly useful on a Renegade to blow Magnus up with his own Obliterator.
  • If you popped your feat, knock a target down. Apart from warnouns, beasts/jacks and gargossals, they will be sitting ducks, as they're now forced to sacrifice both their actions and movements. Soft version of it is to turn your target around (either by Telekinesis or Domination). They can't draw LOS to you, thus, cannot shoot or charge.
  • Jakes1 allows you to extend threat of a warjack even further thanks to Energizer.
  • Telekinesis has a great potential in terms of evil tricks. Put a warjack /warbeast out of their casters' control area to prevent forcing/Focus allocation. Take a Shield Wall member out of B2B. Simply add 2" of threat range for your beatstick warjack. Make your opponent with Sturdy models to learn the difference between pushing and placing. As placing a model into an area counts as entering into it, do not shy away from moving a key model into covering fire/corrosion/fire template, into the hazard markers of the Stormsmith Grenadiers' Grenades. Those guys can really mess with the enemy, if you combine their Kinetic Grip with Time Bomb and TK.

Other[edit]

Trivia[edit]

Theme Forces[edit]

Cygnar generic themes (Edit)

Other Cygnar models[edit]

CygnarLogo.jpg
(Edit)
Battlegroups
Warcasters Jakes2 - Darius - Kraye - Sloan - Haley1 - Haley2 - Haley3 - Nemo1 - Nemo2 - Nemo3 - Stryker1 - Stryker2 - Stryker3 - Sturgis1 - Constance - Caine1 - Caine2 - Caine3 - Maddox - Siege1 - Siege2
C
Y
G
N
A
R
Warcaster attachments Squire (Cygnar) - Madelyn Corbeau (Merc) - Reinholdt (Merc) - Wyshnalyrr (Merc)
Other Warjack Controllers BGC Journeyman - Jakes1 - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Marshals Runewood - Strangeways - Anson Hitch - Stormblade Captain - T. Master Gunner - Gun Mage CA - Stormblade CA - Sword Knights CA
Light warjacks Charger - Firefly - Grenadier - Hunter - Lancer - Minuteman - Sentinel
Ace - Thorn
Heavy warjacks Avenger - Centurion - Cyclone - Defender - Hammersmith - Ironclad - Reliant - Stormclad
Brickhouse - Dynamo - Gallant - Ol' Rowdy - Thunderhead - Triumph
Colossal Stormwall - Hurricane
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units Gun Mages - Mechaniks - Long Gunners - Precursor Knights - Rangers - Silver Line Stormguard - Storm Lances - Stormblades - Stormguard - Stormsmith Grenadiers - Storm Tower - Sword Knights - Tempest Blazers - T. Cannon Crew - T. Chain Gun Crew - T. Commandos - T. Express Team - T. Long Gunners - T. Infantry - T. Mechaniks
Black 13th Gun Mage Strike Team

Ranking Officer CA : Captain Jonas Murdoch

Solos Arcane Tempest Rifleman - Captain Adept - Journeyman Warcaster - Squire - Stormblade Captain - Stormcallers - T. Buster - T. Master Gunner - T. Patrol Dog - T. Warcaster Lieutenant
Runewood - Strangeways - Maxwell Finn - Anson Hitch - Harlan Versh - Jakes1 - Bastian Falk - Gwen Keller - Laddermore - Harrison Gibbs - Viktor Pendrake
Battle Engines & Structures Storm Strider - Trencher Blockhouse
 
Theme Forces
Storm Division - Heavy Metal - Sons of the Tempest - Gravediggers
Merc cygnar.jpg

(Edit)

Mercenary Battlegroups
Warcasters Ashlynn - Bartolo - Damiano - MacBain - Durgen - Fiona - Ossrum - Gorten
Requires a 2+ caster game
C
Y
G
N
A
R
M
E
R
C
E
N
A
R
I
E
S
Other Controllers Mini-casters Gastone Crosse - Rorsh & Brine - Brun Cragback & Lug
Marshals Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Raluk Moorclaw - Rutger Shaw - Thor Steinhammer
Warjacks & Warbeasts The mercenary battlegroup members you can include in a Cygnar army depends entirely on which mercenary is commanding them. There are too many permutations to list here, please refer to one of the model entries above for full details of what it can take.
     
Units, Solos, & Battle Engines
Units High Shields - Horgenhold Artillery - Forge Guard - Ogrun Assault Corps - Press Gangers - Sea Dog Deck Gun - Sea Dog Pirates - Steelhead Halberdiers - Steelhead Cavalry - Steelhead Riflemen - Tactical Arcanist Corps - Thorn Gun Mages
Alexia1 - Sam & the Devil Dogs - Nyss Hunters - Blythe & Bull - Boomhowlers - Herne & Jonne - Aiyana & Holt - Lynus & Edrea
Solos Gobber Tinker - Ogrun Bokur
Alexia2 - Alten Ashley - Anastasia - Bradigan - Grogspar - Brun Cragback & Lug - Colbie Sterling - Dirty Meg - Doc Killingsworth - Eiryss1 - Eiryss2 - Hawk - Gastone - Gorman - Hutchuk - Lanyssa - Rockbottom - Dougal - Ragman - Raluk - Rhupert - Rorsh & Brine - Savio - Sergeant Nicolas - Stannis - Taryn - Thor
Warcaster attachments Madelyn Corbeau - Reinholdt - Wyshnalyrr
Battle Engines Hammerfall Siege Crawler


Rules Clarifications[edit]

Rules Clarification : Feat - Temporal Shift

  • Haley2's feat applies to warbeast frenzies. Both to regular frenzies and to frenzies caused by Dr Arkadius's feat.


Rules Clarification : Magical Damage      (Edit)

  • The "Damage Type: Magical" is not inherited by "secondary" damage from a weapon. That is, stuff like arcs (Electro Leap) or hazards (Scather). (Infernal Ruling)
  • All spells have "Damage Type: Magical" (refer errata).
    • This is inherited by "immediate" secondary damage (such as Eruption of Spines). (Infernal Ruling)
    • ... but not by "lingering" secondary damage (such as the cloud left by Breath of Corruption). In this case the hazard is damaging the model, not the spell that put the hazard into play.
  • If a weapon/spell includes Magic Damage and another kind of elemental damage it can still damage Incorporeal models. Incorporeal models are not affected by the rule "if an attack does multiple types of damage and a model is immune to at least one it is immune to the entire attack."
    The phrase "immune to non-magical damage" should be interpreted as "immune to damage that doesn't include Damage Type: Magical" (not interpreted as "has immunity to Corrosion and Electricity and Cold and etc.")


Rules Clarification:  : Warcaster      (Edit)
Warning: This is a long one.

 
  • General
    • FOCUS (uppercase) is the stat printed on the warcaster's card. Focus (lowercase) refers to focus points a model currently has.
    • Your CTRL area is double your FOCUS stat, not double your focus points. (Infernal Ruling)
    • Casting spells or using feats is an anytime ability with the added restriction that you can't use them on the same turn you run even before you run.
      • See also the clarifications on Any Time abilities (below).
    • Some warcasters are also Battle Engines and thus follow all the Battle Engine special rules.
      • There is no particular interaction between the Battle Engine rules and the Warcaster rules.
Restrictions on "Any Time" abilities (Edit)
  • "Any Time" abilities can be used at any time during a model/unit's activation, except:
    1. The model with the Any Time ability has had their activation end "prematurely". By this I mean you resolve anything which includes "its activation ends". Examples include:
      • Running, failing a charge, or failing a slam.
      • Abilities that include "then its activation ends" (such as Reposition and Teleport).
    2. You're in the middle of moving. (Note: Impact Attacks count as being in the middle of movement).
    3. You're in the middle of an attack. Note that the attack is not over until you finish step 14 of the attack sequence (Apdx A).
    4. Your opponent interrupted your activation to trigger one of their own abilities, such as Countercharge.
  • In general you can use "Any Time" abilities while you're knocked down or stationary (except Spells and Feats which specify you can't).
  • Units
    • Even if the ability says "any time during the unit's activation", a model in a unit can't use an Any Time ability if they run, fail a charge, or use an ability like Reposition.
    • Because that model's activation has ended (even if the unit's activation is still ongoing) and you can't use abilities on models that are not active.
    • So, for example:
      • You cannot use a minifeat after the Officer runs. (Infernal Ruling)
      • You cannot use a minifeat after anyone in the unit has begun a Reposition move. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Warcaster/Warlock Cavalry ( Edit )
    • Warcasters/Warlocks can't cast spells or use their feat while resolving Impact Attacks. Because Impact Attacks occur during movement - you can use spells or feat before moving, or after moving, but not during movement.
      • Exception: If your Impact target(s) include your charge target, then your movement has ended (refer rulebook, last paragraph of 'Impact Attacks') and thus you're fine to use "any time" abilities before starting the Impact attacks.


Rules Clarification : Warcaster Unit or Warlock Unit     (Edit)
This summary is specific to Warcaster/Warlock units. You may also want to check the Warcasters & Warlocks page for the 'regular' rules clarifications.

  • If you're giving an order, it must be done first, before casting any spells or using your feat.
  • All models in the unit count as part of the battlegroup. So, for instance, Butcher3's argii can be moved via his Energizer spell.
  • Only the warcaster/warlock model can dominate a Steam Roller scenario. They can do that regardless of where the grunts are.
  • The grunt models can contest Steam Roller scenarios, but not control them.
  • Warcaster units can have attachments. They can even attach units (such as the WSC). (Infernal Ruling)
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).

Rules Clarification : Unit of Warcasters or Warlocks     (Edit)

  • Even though they're warcasters, if they're out of formation they suffer the normal penalties (can't make attacks, actions, spells, etc).
  • They can't upkeep each other's spells.
  • They can only dominate one SteamRoller scenario element at a time.
  • Each warlock/warcaster can have different upkeeps on them if those upkeeps are "target SELF" or "target model". If you cast an upkeep that is "target model/unit", that is the only upkeep any of them can have.
  • Units Buying Attacks (Edit)
    • If you make attacks with model [A], then start making attacks with model [B], you cannot 'go back' and buy more attacks with [A]. Because:
    • A model can only buy additional attacks during its Combat Action.
    • A model in a unit must complete its Combat Action before the next model starts theirs (with some exceptions, like CMA).
  • The Legion Twins
    • Rhyas cannot dominate a zone while out of formation.
    • Rhyas can use the feat while out of formation.
  • Haley3
    • Only Haley Prime is an 'actual' warcaster model, and as such she is the only one that can dominate a scenario element.
    • The echoes can Control/Contest scenarios like a normal unit.
    • Haley Prime can dominate an element even if the echoes are out of formation.

Rules Clarification : Future Sight and/or Reliquary     (Edit)

  • With reference to the Apdx A Timing chart; Future Sight moves "Boosting the roll" from Step 5a to straight after Step 5b. (Infernal Ruling)
  • All other effects that add/remove dice are still carried out at Step 5a.
  • If you are under an effect that causes you to lose dice (such as Star Crossed), then you have to choose whether to use Future Sight before removing those dice. (Infernal Ruling)
  • Rerolls
    • If you use Future Sight before deciding to reroll, then you must keep the boost. You don't get to "unspend" the focus/fury.
      So it would go [Roll]-[Future Sight boost]-[Reroll with boost]
    • If you haven't used Future Sight before deciding to reroll, then you still have the option to use it after the reroll. You haven't "lost" Future Sight just because you didn't use it the first time.
      So it would go [Roll]-[Reroll with no boost]-[Future Sight boost]

Rules Clarification : Set Defense - None yet. (Edit)


Rules Clarification : Deflection - None yet. (Edit)

Rules Clarification : Domination      (Edit)

  • Refer to the clarifications on Taking Control. It is too long to repeat here.

Rules Clarification : Telekinesis      (Edit)

  • If an enemy model with 2" melee range was B2B with you before the Telekinesis, it will still be exactly 2" away afterwards and thus will still engage you (unless you move completely out of their front arc).
  • Being placed into an area counts as entering that area. So you'll take damage from acid clouds etc if you're dumb enough to teleport into them.
  • You can change the facing of the model that you place. In fact that's one of the main uses of the spell.

Rules Clarification : Temporal Acceleration      (Edit)

  • When cast on a model with a RoF of D3, the model only gets one additional shot, not D3. (Infernal Ruling)

Rules Clarification : Time Bomb      (Edit)

  • Only the model directly hit suffers the debuff. Other models in the AOE just take blast damage.